We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serious disappointment”
Review of Kinoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kinoe
Ranked #148 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was a very expensive but really disappointing ryokan. The location and very helpful staff are the only reasons to stay here. The rooms are large but depressing. Smoking is rampant and the food was mediocre. My traveling companion accurately described this as the 'Motel 6 of ryokans'. Worst of all, it was ridiculously expensive. Probably the worst cost/value of any place I've stayed.

Room Tip: There aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaiguy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in late November for autmun leaf viewing. I was looking for the Ryokan located walking distance to one or two temples and shopping facilities with spacious room since I have elderly parents. Kinoe fulfils this condition.

[Location]
Heart of Gion and Higashi-yama. Very close to Kenninji temple, Kodaiji temple, Gion, Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka shopping streets.

[Room]
Named "Minori" located on 1st floor (No. 101) over looking small zen garden with approx 20 tatami mats space. Enough space for 3-4 adults.
In room safe, bath, toilet, fridge, TV, air condition, hot water pot, hair dryer, yukata, bath socks, towels, tooth brush & paste, hair brush, free wifi access. Public bath is also on the 1st floor, very easy to go.
32500 JPY/night per adult including breakfast and dinner. Considering location, spacious room and very high season, price is avarage. Dinner is very delicious. Breakfast is simple and so so.

[Service]
Avarage. Not very good but not bad.

[Others]
Not so may rooms, it sems 8 or 10. So, front desk is not hectic though late Nov is very crowded high season. Staff remembers guest's face and we could feel relaxed sense of time.
Free internet desk top PC, free mineral water machine, cofee machine (100 JPY) are on lobby floor.

[Day 1]
My parents went to several temples in Arashiyama area by sightseeing taxi cab. They checked in 17:30.
Started dinner from 19:00. We asked chef to serve quickly so as to go Kodaiji temple for night lighting up of garden. After dinner, we walked to Kodaiji temple and Intokuin. Night viewing of illuminated trees and Japanese gardens were awesome!! Autumn leaf's red, bamboo green and moon lights were reflected on black pond like mirror, it was really beautiful. I highly recomend to go night time (put additional socks for keeping your foot hot. Night time, temple floor is very cold.)

[Day 2]
Had break fast in the room 7:30. Left Kinoe at 8:30 by taxi cab to go Tofukuji temple. We arrived around 8:45 but already crowded. Then moved to Eikando, Manshuin, Koumyouin and Shisendo. We got off taxi cab at Nishiki market. We had a lunch at Nishiki market, did shopping and walked back to Kinoe.
After dinner, we went to Shoureiin monzeki for seeing illuminated garden. A little bit far from Kinoe, so we took taxi cab but still within walking distance for person having good knee.

[Day 3]
After breakfast, we went to Kiyomizu temple by taxi cab. Then walked back to Kinoe through Ninenzaka, Sannenzaka doing shopping. There were plenty of shops and restaurants. From Kinoe to Kiyomizu temple is uphill, from Kiyomizu-temple to Kinoe through Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka is down hill, so I recomend to go taxi cab to Kiyomizu then back on foot enjoying shopping. We went back to Kinoe10:30 and checked out around 11:00. We had a lunch at Gion after check out. Front desk kept our baggages during we were out for lunch. Then we took sight seeing taxi cab to go Bishamondo, Shogunduka and Sennyuji temple.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hiroishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We waited till the last minute to book our stay and paid a huge premium for it. Nevertheless, we were very happy with Kinoe and very pleased by the attentiveness of the staff and the proximity to temples which had mesmerizing fall leaf foliage around the grounds. My wife was pleasantly surprised that the staff had cleaned and brushed her Ugg boots. The staff also provided good advice in English! Kinoe is near the tradtional tea houses. We were able to catch a glimpse of the geisha in their full kimono splendor going to work.

The kaiseki dinners were superb particularly on our second night of our stay. We enjoyed the kaiseki dinner which was served in the privacy of our room. Though a bit pricey, this was one of the few splurges we have done in a long while and worth every yen of it.

Kinoe is the place to be for a delightful visit to Kyoto,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamiparis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maaike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaoloRaspelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Maifukan
#54 of 376 in Kyoto
328 reviews
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#89 of 376 in Kyoto
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sakanoue
#166 of 376 in Kyoto
65 reviews
Northern Kyoto
Momijiya Honkan Takao Sanso
Seikoro Inn
#99 of 376 in Kyoto
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinoe

Address: 4-44 Bishamoncho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0812, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $166 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinoe 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing