We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$348
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$300
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$129
$78
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$169
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$390
$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gion Hatanaka(Kyoto)
$381
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
$570
$360
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
72
23
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
23
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsryokan experiencetraditional japanese breakfasttoilet and sinkmiso soupkaiseki dinnerpickled vegetablesfamily run ryokanonly stayed one nightlovely ryokanbeds were comfortablethe ground floorbathsyukataonsenenglishstationsake
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 104 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners/staff made every effort to make sure my stay (first time at a ryokan) was a pleasant and comfortable one. They were friendly and welcoming. A pot of green tea and a sweet were served as soon as I'd checked in. The young woman was very nice and taught me some Japanese words as she served me a delicious evening meal in my room, and the next morning breakfast. All the food was excellent and beautifully presented. The ensuite had a very deep bath with toiletries and towels provided. The ryokan is just a short walk from the station but can be a little hard to find the first time. It is also close to Nishi Hongan-ji and Higashi Hongan-ji and there are some interesting shops, including a shop with wonderful hand-painted fans, just around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Thank you for your very nice comment.

We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Thank you for the nice comments regarding the staffs, dinner, rooms and baths.
It was very proud to be part of your first ryokan experience in Japan.
We hope you would have a chance to come back and stay with us.

Thank you again for a kind comment.

From all Izuyasu Staffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Ryokan Izuyasu is the second Ryokan I have stayed in and the only I’ve stayed in in Kyoto. The staff was very friendly. The inn is located in central Kyoto and is only a 10 min walk from Kyoto Central Station. The hotel has a great traditional feel but our room was a bit more basic than I expected at the price. Also, our room was huge and had a private toilet but it did look over a parking lot which sort of dulled the mood although I imagine most inns in Kyoto have the same issue. The dinner was good but not amazing and might not have been worth the price. I still can’t decide. Also, the staff didn't explain what we were eating or how to eat it (understandable since most of the staff did not speak English) and we were never sure if the current course was the last or not! So we sat there a bit awkwardly at times, not knowing if we should go back to our room or not… The baths were nice and relaxing. Overall, a good experience and a great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleJerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Hello, and thank you for you comment.

We are glad you had a traditional and relaxing experience with us.

Thank you for pointing out the issue regarding the dinner.
We have now much more experienced and fluent English-speaking staffs to support our guests through the dinner.
We will work harder to improve our service and be more considerate.

Thank you again for a nice comment, and we hope to serve you sometime again in the future.

From all Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at 3 places in Kyoto. Izuyasu was the most expensive & so our expectations were naturally high but we were disappointed. Our corner room facing the back seemed rundown & in need of repairs (the sliding cupboard was not attached & just propped up). The staff were not rude but nor were particularly attentive. The female bathroom was bright and not particularly attractive, again in need of renovations. We ordered the kaiseki meal but wasn't sure where to go as the lady just pointed out our front door. The food was nice but not standout. The garden outside was pretty but this was not a 'special or unique' accommodation, unlike the other places we stayed. For some unknown reason, I stayed awake for quite a while through the night (very unusual for me) so perhaps wasnt fully comfortable. For what we paid, we felt this ryokan did not represent value for money. Perhaps if we didn't stay at other places in Kyoto and so couldn't compare it with other ryokan, it would have been satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfying experience with us.

Since our ryokan and also the building is almost 200 year old, we are trying to keep the traditional atmosphere and therefore it might not look modern and luxurious as other places.
However we made some changes and rebuilding to places such as bathrooms and the guest rooms about an year after your stay.
The rooms would be more strong and comfortable. We also changed our futons for better sleep, too.

Thank you for your remarks, and we will try our best to make our ryokan a more comfortable place for our guests' stay.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in on Christmas Eve and were very happy with our experience. I stayed in a much bigger ryokan on a previous trip to Kyoto so this is was nice change as it was a small family-owned one which made it much more personal. It is close to Kyoto Station and is in a really nice traditional house with lovely gardens.

Our room was on the ground floor which was nicely decorated with a private garden and our own bathroom with a toilet and shower. Being in the middle of winter, we didn't really use our bathroom as it wasn't heated and used the communal bath instead which being a small ryokan, we were the only ones using it at the time. I noticed that one of the reviewers commented about the water in the bath not being warm - there is a panel above the bath which turns the heating on for the bath so make sure to press the button (although it's written in Japanese!).

Dinner and breakfast was very tasty, well presented and was like a feast with many courses. The tempura was amazing and the grilled fish was delicious and the egg served in the morning was soft and smooth. We're still talking about it almost a month after staying there.

Definitely recommend this ryokan if you want to experience traditional Japan whilst in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lazblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

Thank you for a very kind remark.

We are very proud to hear that you had a great Christmas Eve with us.

We are sorry for not being kind by not showing how to warm the bath.
After the renewal which we've had three years ago, we can keep the bath warmer without any particular process.

It is very nice to hear that you liked our dinner and also breakfast.
If you have a chance to come back, we would love to serve them with different dishes for more Japanese food experience.

Thank you.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'm a Japanese person who stayed at Izuyasu with my American friend. I recommended him to stay at a ryokan in order to have true Japanese experience while his visit to Japan, and he chose this ryokan based on the reputation. We were both extremely satisfied. It is a traditional style Japanese accommodation. So, if you want a modern luxury amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are after a true traditional Japanese service spirit, it could not be much better than this. The hostess dresses in kimono every night to serve dinner with a very consistent and pleasant manner which made us feel at home. They served a lot of dishes containing fish and vegetables except the last evening of our stay when they served sukiyaki with more beef than we could comfortably eat. We managed to eat it all, though. One complaint I would mention is that the futon mattress was a little to thin and I felt the hardness of the floor every night. But they would have corrected the problem had I complained to them. I cannot imagine that they would have said, "Sorry, but you have to live with it." I would definitely go back there to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for rooms that have private bath tubs if you are self conscious about using the public one.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junichi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn Serving Kyoto Cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Thank you for your complements.

We are glad that you and your friend has enjoyed the ryokan experience with us.
Also we are pleasured to hear that you were very satisfied with our dinner.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad sleep with the futons.
Now in our ryokan we have much thicker futon, more like a mattress in each room to replace the thin futons.

We hope to see you sometimes in the future.

From All Izuyasu Staffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews