We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant place to stay close to Kyoto station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Ranked #94 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay close to Kyoto station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners/staff made every effort to make sure my stay (first time at a ryokan) was a pleasant and comfortable one. They were friendly and welcoming. A pot of green tea and a sweet were served as soon as I'd checked in. The young woman was very nice and taught me some Japanese words as she served me a delicious evening meal in my room, and the next morning breakfast. All the food was excellent and beautifully presented. The ensuite had a very deep bath with toiletries and towels provided. The ryokan is just a short walk from the station but can be a little hard to find the first time. It is also close to Nishi Hongan-ji and Higashi Hongan-ji and there are some interesting shops, including a shop with wonderful hand-painted fans, just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your very nice comment.

We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Thank you for the nice comments regarding the staffs, dinner, rooms and baths.
It was very proud to be part of your first ryokan experience in Japan.
We hope you would have a chance to come back and stay with us.

Thank you again for a kind comment.

From all Izuyasu Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
51
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Ryokan Izuyasu is the second Ryokan I have stayed in and the only I’ve stayed in in Kyoto. The staff was very friendly. The inn is located in central Kyoto and is only a 10 min walk from Kyoto Central Station. The hotel has a great traditional feel but our room was a bit more basic than I expected at the price. Also, our room was huge and had a private toilet but it did look over a parking lot which sort of dulled the mood although I imagine most inns in Kyoto have the same issue. The dinner was good but not amazing and might not have been worth the price. I still can’t decide. Also, the staff didn't explain what we were eating or how to eat it (understandable since most of the staff did not speak English) and we were never sure if the current course was the last or not! So we sat there a bit awkwardly at times, not knowing if we should go back to our room or not… The baths were nice and relaxing. Overall, a good experience and a great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleJerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello, and thank you for you comment.

We are glad you had a traditional and relaxing experience with us.

Thank you for pointing out the issue regarding the dinner.
We have now much more experienced and fluent English-speaking staffs to support our guests through the dinner.
We will work harder to improve our service and be more considerate.

Thank you again for a nice comment, and we hope to serve you sometime again in the future.

From all Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at 3 places in Kyoto. Izuyasu was the most expensive & so our expectations were naturally high but we were disappointed. Our corner room facing the back seemed rundown & in need of repairs (the sliding cupboard was not attached & just propped up). The staff were not rude but nor were particularly attentive. The female bathroom was bright and not particularly attractive, again in need of renovations. We ordered the kaiseki meal but wasn't sure where to go as the lady just pointed out our front door. The food was nice but not standout. The garden outside was pretty but this was not a 'special or unique' accommodation, unlike the other places we stayed. For some unknown reason, I stayed awake for quite a while through the night (very unusual for me) so perhaps wasnt fully comfortable. For what we paid, we felt this ryokan did not represent value for money. Perhaps if we didn't stay at other places in Kyoto and so couldn't compare it with other ryokan, it would have been satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfying experience with us.

Since our ryokan and also the building is almost 200 year old, we are trying to keep the traditional atmosphere and therefore it might not look modern and luxurious as other places.
However we made some changes and rebuilding to places such as bathrooms and the guest rooms about an year after your stay.
The rooms would be more strong and comfortable. We also changed our futons for better sleep, too.

Thank you for your remarks, and we will try our best to make our ryokan a more comfortable place for our guests' stay.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in on Christmas Eve and were very happy with our experience. I stayed in a much bigger ryokan on a previous trip to Kyoto so this is was nice change as it was a small family-owned one which made it much more personal. It is close to Kyoto Station and is in a really nice traditional house with lovely gardens.

Our room was on the ground floor which was nicely decorated with a private garden and our own bathroom with a toilet and shower. Being in the middle of winter, we didn't really use our bathroom as it wasn't heated and used the communal bath instead which being a small ryokan, we were the only ones using it at the time. I noticed that one of the reviewers commented about the water in the bath not being warm - there is a panel above the bath which turns the heating on for the bath so make sure to press the button (although it's written in Japanese!).

Dinner and breakfast was very tasty, well presented and was like a feast with many courses. The tempura was amazing and the grilled fish was delicious and the egg served in the morning was soft and smooth. We're still talking about it almost a month after staying there.

Definitely recommend this ryokan if you want to experience traditional Japan whilst in Kyoto.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lazblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for a very kind remark.

We are very proud to hear that you had a great Christmas Eve with us.

We are sorry for not being kind by not showing how to warm the bath.
After the renewal which we've had three years ago, we can keep the bath warmer without any particular process.

It is very nice to hear that you liked our dinner and also breakfast.
If you have a chance to come back, we would love to serve them with different dishes for more Japanese food experience.

Thank you.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'm a Japanese person who stayed at Izuyasu with my American friend. I recommended him to stay at a ryokan in order to have true Japanese experience while his visit to Japan, and he chose this ryokan based on the reputation. We were both extremely satisfied. It is a traditional style Japanese accommodation. So, if you want a modern luxury amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are after a true traditional Japanese service spirit, it could not be much better than this. The hostess dresses in kimono every night to serve dinner with a very consistent and pleasant manner which made us feel at home. They served a lot of dishes containing fish and vegetables except the last evening of our stay when they served sukiyaki with more beef than we could comfortably eat. We managed to eat it all, though. One complaint I would mention is that the futon mattress was a little to thin and I felt the hardness of the floor every night. But they would have corrected the problem had I complained to them. I cannot imagine that they would have said, "Sorry, but you have to live with it." I would definitely go back there to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for rooms that have private bath tubs if you are self conscious about using the publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junichi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Thank you for your complements.

We are glad that you and your friend has enjoyed the ryokan experience with us.
Also we are pleasured to hear that you were very satisfied with our dinner.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad sleep with the futons.
Now in our ryokan we have much thicker futon, more like a mattress in each room to replace the thin futons.

We hope to see you sometimes in the future.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this ryokan and 2 Kaiseki meals. A very short walk to Kyoto station, about 10 minutes or so and easy to find. Service was excellent and lady owner and her famly were very helpful and friendly, however, they speak little English, sometime needing the daughter-in-law to help with communications. We did not realize that the local laundries were actually what we call self serve coin operated laundromats. We had not allowed time nor did we feel comfortable with the language barrier to attempt that task. The landlady's daughter-in-law volunteered to do our laundry for us and would not accept payment. We bought her a surprise gift, but the genuine warm and caring really impressed us. Not what you would find most places in America. We would highly recommend Izuyasu. We wanted to have the ryokan experience for our first ime. I did enjoy the hot baths, my wife not so much. For us it would have been better to only spend 2 nights because of the hardwood floors and futons for sleeping and because of the expense.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwanda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 17, 2016
Thank you for your comments and complements.

We are sorry that you had an inconvenient time with the languages.
Now we have much more English speaking staffs, that can assist you in the next stay.

Also for the futons, we have now high-leveled, mattress like futons for each room.
We hope you will be able to spend more comfortable time in the future.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This ryokan is not hard to find, it is located just 100 meter from Higashi-honganji Temple. The room is a traditional japanese style (or everything looks like in 80s) one... with a picture hanging against a wall and a flower in a vase, tatami floor, wooden structure, paper curtain sliding door, a balcony with an ornamental garden, a low wooden table, an attached bathroom with a small tub, futon are well hidden at door entrance wardrobe. the small tv reminds me the 80's time but it is with a remote control.

The young male staff leads me to my room at the ground floor, and there is another lady staff who is excellent in providing the service, such as welcome drink - green tea, preparation of dinner, serving a 5-course dinner, laying futon after the dinner. She is effective and everything was served within minute.

Before the dinner, I tried to wear my yukata for the first time. but as Anthony Bourdain's remarks in his book, it is quite embarassing as trying a sitting posture not to show off my crotch in front of the staff....fortunately this does not take long time.

The ryori dinner was a fantastic one with variety of exquisite petit stuff such as tofu, pickle wild vege, mushroom, steam fish with grated white radish, maguro sushi, and tempura, white rice...

The breakfast come with rice, miso soup, and some vege...

There is one public bath outside the room, but I did not give it a try. The view of the garden from the balcony is relaxing.

Around the ryokan, there are a lot of shops selling buddha related stuff. I did not visit any one of them, instead, I am more interested in walking towards the Kyoto station, where the isetan occupy for 11 floors.

Room Tip: The hot water available after 4pm. and curfew time is 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chendol_beng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 17, 2016
Thank you for your remarks and complements.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

Our ryokan has been partially rebuilt three years ago, and we now have completely different rooms and other facilities.
The baths has become family bathrooms, where you can lock the door from inside when you take them.
We appreciate how you tried the Japanese traditional yukata, too.

Also thank you for all the comments regarding the dinner.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed them all.

If you have a chance, please feel free to revisit our ryokan anytime.

From all Izuyasu staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion Hatanaka
#38 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#62 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motonago
#11 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#101 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#82 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Property: Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Address: 272 Sasaya-cho, Higashino Toin, Shimo-juzuyamachi agaru, Shimokyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8156, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the true essence of Kyoto.At IZUYASU, traditional ryokan established in 1839,we welcome you with our Japanese style warm hospitality. In 1839 during the Edo period IZUYASU was originally established to receive the Buddhist priests and travelers who come to worship at Higashi honganji.For over 170 years we’ve offered the best service which suits the different generations with our warm Japanese hospitality.Today we accept important cultural guests of Japan and also from foreign countries.Our seventh generation’s chef offers you beautiful seasonal dishes with fresh regional ingredients.We also have selected wine and sake. Please enjoy superb harmony with your Kyoto cuisine.*We also accept guests only for meals.8 characteristic rooms with unique flavor and different plansGuest rooms are situated on the 1st and 2nd floor throughout the garden.8 rooms are all different. Old Japanese style room, spacious room with a dining, renovated room…you can choose a room by your taste and needs.*we’ve selected the futon carefully for the quality of sleep. Our guests are satisfied with this new comfortable bed.Tranquil time like at homeWe try to offer you pleasant service in a modest way.You’ll have a very comfortable stay without TV, telephone,clock….and noise of the city to enjoy a relaxed time.You can take a bath privately only with your family, friends and your partners.In the gallery and the lobby you can have a seat anytime just to relax with sake while admiring the garden and talking with other guests.Ideal location,nearby Kyoto station andHigashi honganjiThe access from Kyoto station is only 7 minutes. The famous temple Higashi honganji is also a few minutes’ walk. In this district which remains the old and charming atmosphere, you will find shops for Buddhist materials and kimono.Izuyasu is a relaxing environment.You will realize that is shrouded in tradition of Kyoto.It does not betray the expectations.Please come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izuyasu Ryokan Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing