We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Traditional Style Accommodation with Excellent Cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Ranked #107 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb Traditional Style Accommodation with Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Wholeheartedly agree with the very positive views reported by other recent reviewers of this excellent Kyoto ryokan especially the comment about 'being treated as guests in someone's home' rather than as tourists. Very accessible by foot for the main Kyoto train station and the bus and metro systems with very helpful and friendly staff in this central but very quiet, location which has been owned by the same family for several generations. Meals were consistently excellent with a wide variety of traditional Kyoto cuisine served for breakfast and dinner, all beautifully presented during our stay of one week. Accommodation came with full air conditioning with tv. Plan to return next year for another stay of at least one week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 7, 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at our ryokan.
We are very pleasured to receive all you complements.
If there is a chance, please do come back again to have your stay with us.

From all Izuyasu staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
56
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Izuyasu Ryokan is a great place to stay if you are new to Kyoto and want all modern amenities along with being a short walk from the station. We found it to be an authentic experience of Japanese living with the feeling that we were not treated as tourists but more like guests in someones home.
Everything is clean and functional; we slept on futons and had a superb breakfast both mornings. I would recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet place to return to after a hard days sight-seeing. Very happy with our time at the Izuyasu, can we stay??

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snowflakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 7, 2016
Thank you for your previous stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all you complements.
We are very proud to hear how you felt comfortable at our ryokan.
Please feel free to come back anytime again, and we would be more than pleasured to serving you here.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My first experience of a ryokan. The room was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. The food was amazing! Very close to the station so a good location. The only criticism I have is that the bathroom looked like something from the 70's and some of the furniture may have been there just as long but it did not affect my stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarophion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, July 7, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your first experience in the ryokan.
Also thank you for pointing out the baths.
We have remodeled our ryokan with different bathrooms few years ago.
Now, the bathrooms are new with completely different designs.
If there is a chance, please come back to stay in our newly remodeled ryokan.

From All Izuyasu Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Easy to walk to from the train sation (virtually eight minutes walk)
Friendly staff
Delicious traditional Japanese diner and breakfast served into your own room
A cute little garden right in the middle of the ryokan
Big room for single use, spotless and equipped with usual amenities such as air conditioning, a tv, a yukata and a tanzen, a tea set and a boiler, a comfy futon and a little sitting area.
As usual in a ryokan, bathroom and toilets are shared.
All in all i enjoyed my stay a lot and will return for sure ;)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrifterParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments and complements.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be looking forward to having you with us sometime soon.

Sincerely,
From all staffs from Izuyasu Ryokan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We chose to end our final night's stay in Kyoto at Izuyasu Ryokan, and we weren't disappointed! We've never stayed at a ryokan before but our very useful guidebook on Kyoto (lonely planet) gave us some tips on etiquette and customs when staying at a ryokan, and the website Japanese Guest Houses (www.japaneseguesthouses.com) was very useful as well for location and customs and what to expect when staying at a ryokan. We found the review of this ryokan (we were looking for a traditional one that also caters for a traditional kaiseki meal, and located very near the station) in Tripadvisor, and Izuyasu Ryokan fits the bill perfectly. We booked it through japaneseguesthouses.com and had a great service from them (they're in Japan, so be patient with the time difference when waiting for replies from them). It's a lovely traditional wooden building just 10mins walk from Kyoto station (this is at normal pace while pulling luggage along). It might seem a bit pricey, but the price includes a traditional Kaiseki meal, and it's fresh local produce cooked on the premises. It also pays for a traditional breakfast as well. You'll be paying the same amount just to have dinner in a Kaiseki restaurant in Kyoto. So it's well worth it!

The landlady was lovely, and looked after us very well. If you're looking for a less traditional and more modern, tourist-friendly ryokan, you'll need to find somewhere else. Very little English is spoken here, but if you're not fussy with your needs, and are up for a bit of an adventure, you'll be well-rewarded. It's easy to get by with some basic English which the landlady seems to speak, and of course general body language and gestures and a smile will get you far! The Kaiseki meal was almost too pretty to eat, and tastes amazing. It's about 5 courses, so make sure you plan to stay in for the evening (take it as a relaxing evening in). The food is both fish and vegetables, and a mix of warm and cold dishes, and the first course includes some raw fish. Please note that you need to check in by 5:30pm if not you might miss the dinner and still be charged for it as they prepare it all fresh on the premises. During the meal, the landlady must've gone into our room to make our lovely futon beds and duvets as we didn't hear a sound while eating next door! It's a very quiet wooden house and the floor creaks when you walk and the walls are thin so I wouldn't recommend famlies with young kids and maybe not if you can't stand a place with thin walls. After the meal we put on our yukatas and kimonos (it was still a bit cold as it was a rainy week in Kyoto in early spring, so the kimonos kept us nice and warm), and we went down to the showers and bath. The water was nice and hot in the bath, and the shower facilites were great (please note this is Japanese style, so even though there's a separate male and female shower and bath area, it's communal once you go in, so I (being a guy) potentially could've been in a bath and shower area with two other men with no clothes on. It happens we seemed to be the only guests that night so I had the room all to myself! The sequence is you have a shower first to clean yourself and then enter the bath.

We had no problem sleeping on futons laid on the tatami floor (the pillows had beads or beans in them, but very comfortable). In fact we both had a very good night's sleep, better than our beds in our earlier hotel in Kyoto. There was a sumptuous traditional Japanese breakfast in the morning. Please remember to bring cash as they only accept cash when checking out. Check out time is 10:00am. We read in a review here that it's polite to bring a gift, so we brought some chocolates along, which was very well received by the landlady. But it seems okay even if you didn't or forgot to bring a gift. All in all, an excellent stay with great memories and we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intrepid_brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Thank you for choosing us for your very first experience in a ryokan.
We appreciate your polite and detailed review.
After your stay, we have had a very big remodeling of our ryokan and also there are several changes in our system.
Now, we have lot more English-speaking staffs that can assist our guests, and also translate to the landlady.
Also, thank you for complementing our kaiseki dinner! We are very honored that you enjoyed our dinner.
If our guests inform us in advance, actually we can make changes to our courses according to each guest's allergies, likes and dislikes. For example, we can make our dinner for vegetarians, or without raw fish and meat.
Our dinner time starts at 7:00 PM, so checking in by then is fine with us too.
Along with the remodeling of the building the whole design of the building changed, but keeping the traditional atmosphere inside.
We are also very happy that you are satisfied with our bath.
Now we have family bathrooms, which is a shared bathroom but you can lock while you are inside for privacy. Therefore it is okay for you to go in the bath by yourself, or also with your family members.
We are very glad that you had great sleep in your stay. We hope you had a relaxing time.
Thank you for pointing out about the payment in cash. Now, payment in credit cards is also accepted, as long as you pay after you get to our ryokan.
In addition, thank you very much for your chocolates. It was very polite that you brought us gifts. We have appreciated them very much.
We will be looking forward to serving you again in our renewed ryokan some times.

Sincerely,
All staffs from Izuyasu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

After reading all the reviews for ryokans in Kyoto, we booked a 2 night stay at Izuyasu. We were pleasantly surprised at the proximity to the station, and even more delighted with the kindness, hospitality and warmth that greeted us. True that the family who runs this ryokan has limited English, but this proved to be of little barrier to communicate. They are such lovely people, so welcoming and warm. Happy to answer my questions regarding all the amazing dishes that were served at breakfast and dinner, which was served punctually and with elegance. The room we stayed in did not have a private bath, but the shared bathroom was very clean. The only drawback with not having a private bath was that is was a little cold outside our room, but this absolutely should not deter anyone from staying here. After spending your entire day visiting the breathtaking shrines and temples, it is such a comfort to know that a relaxing, authentic evening back at the ryokan awaits you. Would definately recommend this to anyone wishing to truly experience Kyoto and a ryokan.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DKGAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Thank you very much for your previous stay with us.
We appreciate you kind and heartwarming complements.
We would also like to thank you for your kindness and patience with the communications in limited English. Now, we have lot more staffs that can speak English well, and also translate for owner family.
It is also very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. We are very honored.
Thank you too for complementing our baths. We now have remodeled our ryokan, and our bathrooms actually changed to family bath. There, although it is a shared bathroom, you can lock the door from inside for privacy.
We are very delighted to hear that you had a comforting and relaxing time in our ryokan.
Please visit us again if you have any chance to visit Kyoto again sometimes.

Sincerely,
All staffs from Izuyasu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My Japanese husband and I took an American friend to Kyoto and stayed here. My husband & I had the largest hotel room I'd ever seen in Japan. The bathroom was down the hall, but exceedingly clean. Our friend's room had a private bathroom.Both rooms were on the second floor, facing the street but were very quiet. The communal bath was small but adequate, and both nights my friend and I were the only one in it. Walking along the wooden hallway to the bath we came across a traditional garden tucked into the back of the inn. Our futons were layed out for us by helpful staff, and our 7 course Kyoto-style meal was served in our room--our friend joined us. We brought our own sake and that was OK. Caveat: You must like traditional Japanese food or be willing to try new things--mostly fish. Breakfast is also miso soup, rice, egg and pickles--the standard. Drip coffee packs and hot water are available on request.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Thank you for your stay with us.
We hope you have enjoyed your experience here with your friend and your husband.
Our ryokan had been remodeled three years ago, and we actually have a completely new building, but still with the traditional atmosphere remaining.
The rooms are the same, but each room now has a toilet and a sink.
In addition, although we still have shared bathrooms, now it has been transformed into a family bathroom that you can lock the door from inside to secure privacy.
We still have the gardens, so we are very happy that you have recognized them.
The kind complements for our food is also very appreciated. We have great sake with us too, so if you have a chance to come again, please try them also.

Sincerely,
All staffs from Izuyasu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kikokuso
Kikokuso
#76 of 369 in Kyoto
191 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion Hatanaka
#38 of 369 in Kyoto
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#37 of 369 in Kyoto
219 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#99 of 369 in Kyoto
153 reviews
Motonago
#9 of 369 in Kyoto
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Property: Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Address: 272 Sasayacho Higashinotoin Shimojuzuyamachi Agaru, Shimokyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8156, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japan is a country which has a lot of characteristics. High technology, beautiful nature, sub-culture… Especially Kyoto, which is an ancient historical city which keeps the Japanese traditional culture. For example, seasonal sceneries, tea ceremony, noh play, Gion festival, antiques, and beautiful refined Kyoto cuisine. Kyoto is the place where you can feel the authentic Japan. We invite you to come and experience the true essence of Kyoto. At IZUYASU, traditional ryokan established in 1839, we welcome you with our Japanese style warm hospitality. We hope you’ll enjoy our chef’s Kyoto cuisine, traditional Kyoto house, and the Japanese garden. A track with Kyoto’s history In 1839 during the Edo period IZUYASU was originally established to receive the Buddhist priests and travelers who come to worship at Higashi honganji. For over 170 years we’ve offered the best service which suits the different generations with our warm Japanese hospitality. Today we accept important cultural guests of Japan and also from foreign countries. First renewal since 170 years ago We have reopened IZUYASU in November 2013. You’ll see the simple and cozy interior design and the natural furniture in the salon created by artisans. We’re looking forward to seeing the elegant changes of the woods with time like the old central pillar which has been supporting the house for a longtime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izuyasu Ryokan Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing