We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'll start with my least favorite things regarding this hotel ... music/announcements from the train platform can be heard in the room even on the 12th floor. However actual train noise wasn't much of an issue. The bathroom door slides open on rollers... while it's a nice feature and fits the decor... it's loud and the clicking can wake others up at night. You can even hear adjacent bathroom doors clicking open/closed. Walls are thin which you can hear the shower as well. There is no coffee maker, just instant which you have to pay for.....

OK now the positive stuff .... spacious room with great views even if it faced opposite Kyoto tower. The shower and body jets was a nice touch to wake up to. The location was perfect with restaurants and trains/buses all nearby. You have many cafes/bakeries to try each morning for breakfast. The bed was really comfortable, we had 2 twins and alot of space for table and 2 chairs to sit and look out the window (plus eat breakfast) The staff was amazing! The staff, location, overall cleanliness of the property is what make this hotel a hit.

We tried the dinner buffet once, it was pretty good. Guests get a nice discount which took 1000 yen off the price which I thought was nice. The gym was around 1050 yen a day. It was avg, not big but served it's purpose. Never used the wifi in the room, just used my own rental wifi device.

I would def stay here again. Just can't beat the location.... all the buses come to the station and when you get off the train... your at your hotel, no more transferring.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    1,069
    200
    45
    23
See reviews for
845
1,137
193
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We decided to stay at the Granvia again for our return visit to Kyoto after having stayed there for a few nights a couple of years ago. This was a two-week stay and we were very pleased with it.

The location of the hotel at Kyoto station is ideal both for accessing the city area / sights on the outskirts and for day trips out of Kyoto. Being there during winter, we were very glad of being able to get off the train / bus after a day out and have our hotel room so close by. The station building is impressive and there are a multitude of shops and cafes around the building, in the subway sections and within a few minutes walking distance north and south of the station building, all of which we explored more thoroughly this time around. There is a tourist information service near the Isetian department store, which has very good city / bus maps and you can buy train / bus passes there.

The hotel lobby area is still very elegant, and our king-bed room was more than adequate in size for us as well being very clean and nicely fitted out. This stay we had a room in a quiet location at the end of a hallway, we also had the bonus of a view overlooking the city and mountains, and were lucky enough to see snow on the foothills on the last morning of our stay. As before, the staff were efficient, polite and helpful. We made use of the concierge a few times and found them invaluable for directions / opening times of venues, etc. We also used the laundry service a few times and found it to be very good, and for smaller clothing items, there is a clothesline across the bath tub. The toiletries provided were quite good and housekeeping were very efficient for any requests for any extra items we needed.

For meals we utilised the room service a-la-carte menu for breakfast, which we found to be reasonably priced. We were going to eat in the main / French restaurant but when we stopped by there a few times, we couldn't find an English menu and it also tended to be booked out. There are restaurants elsewhere in the hotel and the Japanese ones on the second floor had English menus which appealed to me (looking for vegetarian / fish-based meals) but not to so much to my partner, so we didn't try those during this stay. We knew that finding suitable food options would be a bit of a challenge for us, so we spent our first day checking out what was around, and ended up eating most of our meals in the subway cafes (that had restrictions on smoking times). Additionally, there were excellent meals available in the department store food hall, which was good for my partner who likes to try new foods but also good for vegetarian food options.

I would have no hesitation in staying at the Granvia (or any of the train-company owned hotels) again and, even though there are less expensive options around, the convenience of the location is a big plus for us both for ease of accessing the sights and for late / early check-in times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
859 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our second stay here and as good as the last time. Great comfort and good breakfast. Helpful staff and the perfect position in Kyoto for sightseeing. Got the best deal direct from the hotel website. Kyoto station is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was on my own and this was a fantastic hotel to stay in that was centrally located. All the subways, trains, shopping malls, restaurants were below the hotel and it was a buzz of excitement. The rooms were outstanding and immaculately clean, the staff were so friendly and warm. A great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVancouverr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Difficult to write this review, because on the same trip I stayed in Tokyo, at the Mandarin Oriental, I had to go for one day to Kyoto, and stayed at the Granvia.......My benchmark is to high.

The best part of the hotel is the location, which is direcly on top of the train station, what makes arrival an departure to/from it, quite easy and straight forward. However, I felt I was staying in an upgraded Ibis. The room, was good, but just good. Not spacious and somehow not spotless clean. I was travelling alone, and they gave me a room with two single beds, meaning that I did not have enough space for my big bag. The internet connection is free/complimentary, but a bit slow, and there was no coffee machine in the room (just a water boiler, and coffee not complimentary). The remote control of my TV was not working, and therefore was able to watch on the TV just Japanese channels, meaning that after some minutes turned off the TV and tried to sleep.....and even no the 8th floor, I was able to hear shouts from young people walking in the square in front of the hotel. Noise isolation was not perfect, an aspect which should be key for a train-station located hotel.

In spite of the above, next time in Kyoto, if must stay at the station, will try the Granvia again, but if have more time, and my schedule is more flexible, definitely will try other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alvaro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Located on top of Kyoto station, about 3 minutes from the central Shinkansen exit, this hotel is the perfect choice for those arriving by train. The rooms are large and spacious with excellent facilities, albeit somewhat dated. Laundry service was quick and efficient and of an average price for a hotel of this standard. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, make sure to use the concierge as they are very knowledgeable. Breakfast was a range of western and Japanese cuisines, all freshly cooked and of excellent quality.

The hotel is within minutes of all trains leaving Kyoto station including the Kintetsu line for Nara, the beauty of this hotel is its location. There is ample choice of restaurants and shops within the station itself.

Rooms on the tower side of the hotel have a great view both day and night, be sure to request this at reservation.

Room Tip: Book a room with a city view on a high floor (facing Kyoto tower and the mountain range)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Kyoto Granvia is pretty granvia. The hotel is beautiful from the outside, and upon entrance, the Lobby is large and very nice. The front desk staff is extremely professional and they have super-human bell hops. The bell desk is all female that I saw, and the lady who helped us was about 4'10" 85lbs and was carrying our luggage around like it was no big deal. Everyone we encountered spoke good english, also.

From what I understand some of their rooms are renovated, and I think we were in a non-renovated room, however it was still really nice with a good bed. The location is spectacular, right at Kyoto Station. It makes things easy. What also helps make things easy is the concierge, who was extremely helpful and made some reservations for us as well as explaining buses/trains/maps/routes/etc.

The gym is nice and has a phenomenal indoor lap pool, so bring your suit and goggles. The only downside is that it costs 1000yen to use the gym. Not an exorbitant amount but a little annoying. If you like to run, then maybe just run outside. There are many good routes and, in general, the city seems very active with many people running or biking everywhere you go.

Room Tip: THere are specific no-smoking rooms so be sure to get one of those if that matters to you. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,026 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 369 in Kyoto
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing