We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything with hotel is spot on:
Wonderful polite and kind service from every member of staff who always knew or found the answer;
Great location, sitting on top of the station and in the heart of the city;
Lovely spacious room - though I may have been upgraded - not sure - I was on 10F;
Wonderful food, including the most enormous choice at a delicious breakfast on 2F, with other restaurants on 15F and 3F also serving fabulous food of various cuisines at lunch;
Even though it is in the city centre and next to the station, unbelievable quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,039)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Granvia Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 3,039 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Kyoto Station is right below the hotel with easy access to Osaka, Tokyo, etc. The Deer Park in Nara is a short train trip away. For those who enjoy shopping and food, therein the underground mall and restaurants nearby. The room is of reasonable size and well-equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. I have stayed here twice within a year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is a brilliant location!

Firstly for the access to the bus station - which is the best way to get around kyoto
Secondly for its proximity to shopping malls with floors of restraunts - great variety of reasonably priced food
Thirdly for its proximity to tourist information (in the station)
Fourthly for the location in the station - which is likely to be how you get to and/or leave kyoto!

The room was spacious with great views, breakfast a bit average but fine, quiet despite the location on the station.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Very near to Shinkansen station. And next to a really huge Isetan departmental store. We paid a little more to get a room on the top floor with lounge access. Had a really nice view of Kyoto tower with mountains in the far background.
Economical as well. Not very expensive for the convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely hotel to stay at which was well located (right on top of the station) in Kyoto. Helpful staff and good access points (door direct to station, main Kyoto and bus area) meant that we were able to go everywhere we wanted to go easily. Huge variety of restaurants located within a two minute walk meant that we were well fed. The room was large with a great picture window overlooking the whole of Kyoto. The beds were the most comfortable we had our whole Japan trip and the staff were polite and helpful. Although we stayed there during a major electrical test, we were well informed about the event and it did not disrupt our stay. The bathroom had the best shower I have ever experienced (rainfall showerhead with three jets for your back) and the toilet opened right up whenever you were nearby. The one gripe I have is that no coffee was available within the room unless you paid for it - most hotels now offer free tea and coffee as standard, particularly at the price we were paying, although green tea was plentiful. Spacious and with quality wifi and breakfast, I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to do so!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandragfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had an eventful stay in Kyoto due to the fact that I fractured my ankle at the Fushimi -Inari Shrine. On arriving back at the hotel the Concierge staff arranged transfer to a local hospital and a wonderful staff member to translate and assist us. The next day a staff member waited at the hospital to get me an appointment. She then again escorted me to the hospital and translated and assisted us. The Concierge staff have gone beyond their call of duty. Their kindness and attention have been truly amazing.
Before my accident I was going to write a review to recommend the position of the hotel right at Kyoto Station an escalator ride away. Makes it so easy to access all the attractions Kyoto has to offer. There also many restaurants and shops in easy walking distance.The rooms are also well appointed and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.
Bravo Granvia Hotel!!,

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank 61pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here on a spontaneous 5 day trip to Japan. I had never been to Japan before this trip and I wanted to get as many sights in as possible during the Kyoto portion. Given that this hotel is on top of the train station, it was very easy to go to Arashiyama in the morning, come back for a 2 hour nap and charge my camera, go to the Inari torii shrine in the early afternoon, come back for a quick nap again, and then head out to Ippodo tea house in the early evening. Yes, I was exhausted, but being able to have easy access to transportation and quick sightseeing was worth every penny to stay here.

The room itself was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful, especially since I don't know any Japanese. I am planning a trip with my husband to Kyoto this November and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJ_Sellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 374 in Kyoto
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 374 in Kyoto
2,134 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $162 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing