We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Kyoto”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Most of the reviews about this hotel have talked about its convenient location -- convenient if you are taking trains and if you are arriving via shinkansen from Tokyo or other parts of Japan or if you are taking the Haruka Express from Kansai International airport. It is not as convenient to other major sights and sites but since it's in the Kyoto station, you can take subways and buses and trains to go elsewhere.
It's a huge hotel and very popular with both locals and tourists so it's quite a feat that it is very efficiently run, the service runs like clockwork and the rooms are very well cleaned and maintained. Front desk and concierge are very helpful and always ready to answer questions, give directions, etc. The breakfast buffet is great since there are quite a number of Japanese choices and of high quality too. This is Japan after all so why not enjoy a typical Japanese breakfast? Having said that, the buffet also has western choices such as bacon, waffles, ham, salads and a very good bread basket -- the croissants were some of the best I have had.
I stayed here over Christmas with my family -- we had booked online many many months ahead and the staff were very accommodating and helpful when answering e-mails.
We were given 2 non smoking rooms next to each other and with a front and centre view of Kyoto Tower and the gorgeous mountains that surround the city. It was indeed a view we never got tired off.
I travel to Japan regularly and will make sure that this hotel is part of my future travel plans.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors facing Kyoto Tower are the ones to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,049
    199
    45
    22
See reviews for
818
1,116
191
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Smack bang in the middle of Kyoto's Central Station for local and interstate trains, busses and taxi's en masse, one can not go past this hotel. Travel is obviously dead simple, great restaurants within the hotel, within the adjoining shopping centre both above and below ground and the districts just across the road. Facilities within and with-out the hotel is great, service is exemplary and friendly - we thoroughly enjoyed out time in Kyoto.

Rooms are of a good size - circa 25 sqm - modern facilities, dimming lights, flat screen HD television, free WiFi throughout, bath, multi-shower (rain, handheld and body-shower), nice marble basins. Good views of the snow-covered mountains against the city nearby. With the Kyoto station just below the hotel, obtain snacks and drinks is no problem.

Breakfast was a good experience, a hostess takes your voucher while you queue up (and you voucher also arranged in an efficient queueing manner), while a second show you to your seat. Nice selection of American, Japanese and Continental breakfasts -- but I particular like the tea dispenser.

Shortfall: Coffee costs 250 JPY/cup.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location above the train station, very clean, modern, large rooms, and quiet. The gym is good (extra charge, though) and the pool is one of the nicest I've ever used. I'd definitely stay there again.

Some of the comments on these reviews (long hallways, efficient impersonal service) surprise me. This is a BIG hotel, if you want a B&B type place don't stay here. If you want a nice, clean, modern hotel that's very well located, then this is great place. I thought the service was very good (directions, reservations, etc)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimarn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took the Nozomi train from Tokyo to Kyoto and arrived at around 1 pm. Taking south exit it is only a short walk to the lobby. The transition from the station to the lobby is seamless, it's equally busy. It was quite a culture shock after having stayed at the marvelous Park Hyatt in Tokyo. We had to wait in a queue to check-in and were told that the room was only available after 3 pm, but that our luggage would be in our room when we return. We wanted to reserve tickets for a visit a Shugaku-in Rikyo and enquired with the concierge how to get to the Royal Household Office to make the required reservation. The ladies were extremely helpful and called the Office to find out whether they still have availabilities for additional visitors, and they had. So we went there with our passports and booked for next morning. Upon our return we were given our room keys and instructions how to find the room. The hotel is huge, I think it has about 500 rooms, so bear in mind that guests are a number only.

Our luggage was in the room when we came in. The room was quite large, without frills, but at least quiet. As the hotel still has smoking rooms we booked a non-smoking room directly with them through their website, and we got what we requested (JPY 43,000 per night, incl. breakfast). The bed was kingsize and much too soft, you could feel every movement of your partner and made it very difficult to sleep. The bathroom was tiny with the shower in the bath tub and again nothing special.

There were two places to go for breakfast, one with a buffet (90% Japanese style) and one on the 15th floor where a Western style breakfast was served. We tried both and were not particularly thrilled.

We did not eat at the hotel (we tried the restaurants at the Cube, which were excellent), but went to their sky lounge after returning from dinner. The bar is of a tasteless style and rather seemed to be worn out, It's certainly not a venue for relaxation and enjoyment (after 30 minutes we left).

Check-out was quick and efficient, no questions asked. I felt like withdrawing cash from an ATM.

The location of Granvia is excellent, with buses, subways and taxis a stone's throw away, so it is extremely convenient, but this is it! It is very, very standard, no soul and no atmosphere, but if you are looking for a place to spend the night only, then it's fine but do not expect any individualism as they cater for the mass tourism. Value for money? no! Would we return? No!

Room Tip: Choose a room with two beds, even if you are in love!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I, along with her sister, stayed at the hotel for a total of four nights. It was very comfortable with good sized rooms in comparison to Tokyo. The amenities/facilities checked all the boxes and the price was very reasonable. What exceeded our expectation was the concierge desk, they go out of their way to ensure what you've asked for and that little extra. We've travelled extensively and tried a broad range of hotels from budget to expensive. There's no doubt in our minds that the Granvia Concierge desk surpasses any that we've encountered. Thank You!!! When we next return to Kyoto, we will be staying at the hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Okela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 4 nigths and we loved it. First its located in the spectacular and modern Kyoto train station. All buses start and end in front of the place, so all spots are easy to access. Also if you plan to visit the south you have direct access by JR lines. The rooms are fine, not so fancy but clean and quite big for Japan. In the hotel you find some restaurants and also shopping is direct access. We loved the bar for a drink after a long day exploring Kyoto. The tepanjaki restaurant is good, somehow little expensive. But you get perfect service and very good dishes. The only negative is the rather small breakfast room. On peak time you should be prepared to wait 15 minutes to get seated. Buffet is good with a extensive selection of Japanese and western food. On the other hand, we met great people while waiting and exchanged tips for Kyoto visits.
I would stay again and looking forward to get back to Kyoto soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Took the bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto, stayed here for the night before heading back to Tokyo in the afternoon on the next day. It's located right in the train station. So it's very convenient for the weary traveler. The rooms are clean, the staff very accommodating and helpful. I asked for a larger room and got it without any sort of additional cost. Lots of restaurants and small shops in the train station area. The rooms were even relatively quiet. Hallways are very long though. Stepping off the elevator on the 9th floor, my room was in the 80's (room 985), and the hallway looked like a dream in a movie where it goes on forever. So if you don't like long hallway walks...request a room closer to the elevator. Bed was comfy. Room rate affordable. Around $225/night including all taxes, fees, etc.

Room Tip: very long hallways. longest ones i've seen in awhile. If you don't like to walk hallways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing