We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Other than the usual desk bound staff, the hotel has at least 2 chirpy and helpful staff members at the reception lobby on the ground to assist customers.
My family booked 2 rooms but because of reasons beyond control, the rooms were far apart. The service was impeccable and the room's amenities sufficient.
I would book Granvia again because the location is simply unbeatable. The train station, bus station, shopping and restaurants are literally at the doorstep. Department stores are accessible via underground connection.
My family stayed at Granvia Osaka & Granvia Kyoto and did not regret it. Exploring Kyoto while based at Granvia Osaka has the cost advantage as the hotel rates were generally cheaper in Osaka. However, the benefit of staying in Kyoto was apparent after a long day exploring Kyoto. We can start the day early taking the bus from Kyoto station without encountering the morning rush commuting from Osaka.
Overall, it is an excellent hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    1,065
    200
    45
    23
See reviews for
842
1,134
193
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the same building as the train station itself so you don't even have to leave the station to get into the hotel, this made it very easy to get to and also made it very easy waking up the morning on the way back home with a hangover and still making the train on time! If you don't like smokey rooms then make sure you request a non-smoking room, but the rooms themselves are all comfortable enough and perfectly adequate for one or two nights. The buffet breakfast is pretty good, and they have a bar upstairs with a nice view of Kyoto. However, if I were going with my wife or with other friends and not visiting for a company Christmas party as we were I would choose the Hyatt over this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a no smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've made the reservation for this hotel noting that my parents are celebrating their 50th anniversary and first time to Japan! I've also called ahead informing them that we need some help with our luggage once we get off the Shinkansen from Tokyo. When we got off the train, heading towards the turns tall, I immediately spot 2 staff members waiting for us to take our bags! We stuck out like a sore thumb I'm sure! They took us to the reception to check in. They informed us that they like to take a picture of my parents, have it framed, and they'll give it to my parents when we check out. That was a nice and unexpected gesture. We stopped by my parents room first. There we saw they left another surprise for my parents. A note from the GM with 2 pairs of chopsticks wrapped in traditional Japanese floral design pouch. Well this certainly made our visit better! The rooms are fairly large by Japanese standards. We couldn't get rooms facing the Kyoto tower but that was ok. We could hear faint announcement from the train station in the 11th floor(15 in all) but didn't bother us. The hotel is attached to the Kyoto train. Station where you can connect to JR rail, subway, and the city buses. It's such a convenient location. The rooms are very clean. Other reviewers were saying that its a bit older but it is well maintained. There is a walking gallery as you walk through the hallway from the train station into the hotel. These paintings I was told were done by art students. I paused to enjoy the beautiful art pieces. It is a bit more pricey but we received great service and you can't beat the location! Upon checking out, my parents got their portrait and are very happy for their golden year anniversary. You can't put a price tag on happiness:)! Will only stay at Granvia from now on whenever I visit Kyoto.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if you cannot get the north side facing Kyoto Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrdabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's a great hotel, perfect for a business man. The location is perfect for travelers, it's inside the Kyoto station. The room was big, clean, nicely decorated, the bed was big and comfortable, the staff is ok. The breakfast is amazing! If you do not want to eat in the hotel, you will find many restaurants in the train station. You should try one of them.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent five nights here as a family of five. The view from the rooms was OK. The location of this hotel is incredibly convenient if you are visiting Kyoto by rail and/or planning to make day trips by train from Kyoto. We made full use of this. The whole family really enjoyed our stay and all agreed the hotel was excellent. Convenience store not too far away. Food court in the station was well utilised too. The hotel is a little expensive but I don't think we would not look at staying anywhere else if we returned to Kyoto. Hopefully we will. It is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Granvia offers fantastic convenience as it is located inside Kyoto station (which is a futuristic building and a tourist attraction in its own right). We got off the bullet train from Tokyo and after a brief walk within the station found ourselves at the hotel. There is bus terminus just outside the station so it's very easy to get into downtown area ( we tried walking once and that took about 25 minutes). Flat rate of ¥220 bus fare within the city ( make sure you have the correct change and pay only when you exit at the front of the bus ) or ¥500 for a day pass. It rained on the second morning so spent our time browsing at Isetan department store which occupies several floors of Kyoto station opposite the hotel.
Hotel room was very comfortable and although there was some morning noise from one of the train platforms ( not the trains themselves but more like chimes and announcements) it was fairly subdued and not an issue. Didn't have meals in the hotel because there were so many choices available in the station's underground malls and Isetan has a basement food market as well as a number of restaurants on its upper floors. We may not stay at Granvia the next time we visit Kyoto , only because we're now more familiar with the city but Granvia was the best ( albeit somewhat pricey ) choice for our first visit to Kyoto.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Kyoto. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny. For one, its right in Kyoto Station which makes it easy to jump on and off of trains. You would think that being inside a train station it would be noisy but it is not. Not one bit. The beds are very comfortable, its very clean, and absolutely my all time favorite hotel in Kyoto. We have been to Kyoto three times and we always stay here. You won't be disappointed. The breakfast which was included with our stay is fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Areyes279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
548 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 369 in Kyoto
817 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing