We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #14 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Located directly atop the train station and dead centre of town, this massive complex will knock your socks off! The inside/outside prelobby area is amazing, checkin is simple and quite fast, rooms are reasonably large by Japanese standards...but the bed, epic! Huge...double king! Food court standard hotel fare, but just beyond the hotel is a shopping centre with more choice ps than you have time for.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor so we could enjoy the view. We got the second top floor. Amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 3,099 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just came back from five nights here for a combination of conference and tourism. Overall a good hotel and probably the number one pick for Kyoto. Would stay again. Hotels in Kyoto not as impressive as Tokyo though.

Pluses:
1. Fantastically convenient location makes it easy to get to your room straight from the station and also very close for the restaurants around the station, not to mention very convenient for Kyoto Bicycle Tours and Bic Camera. Two stops to downtown proper and 20min from the conference centre (don't stay there - too far from town)
2. Great staff - friendly, polite and helpful (this in common with virtually everywhere worth its salt in Japan though)
3. Great food. Buffet breakfast great, but strongly recommend the separate Japanese breakfast room for the experience.
4. Amazing artwork around the hotel.
5. Daily 1L bottle of complimentary water in the room was appreciated

Minuses:
1. Free wifi as advertised, but such limited bandwidth as to be useless. At busier times (anytime after 5pm) couldn't Skype and took minutes for pages to load.
2. The worse room I've been in for some time for lingering cigarette smell. My colleagues room no better, and suspect this might be the norm for this hotel, given the similar aroma in corridor communal areas.
3. No free coffee/tea in room

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W13to2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were concerned about leaving user friendly Tokyo and going to Kyoto for the first time. Our concerns could not have been more misplaced. The Hotel Granvia and its staff served us very well for the four nights we stayed in Kyoto, including a side trip to Nara. Everyone we spoke with was conversant in English. The hotel is conveniently located above Kyoto Station and across the hallway from the Isetan Department store. We enjoyed coffee and desserts in the hotel lobby, dined at a few of the hotel restaurants, and even ate at the department store (check out that basement! or the three restaurant floors) all the while spending our days visiting the incredible sacred sites of Kyoto. After being on our feet all day in the hot August sun, the Granvia was our oasis. We look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank razar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Granvia for four nights and loved it. The breakfasts are superior - a buffet that offers both Western and Japanese fare, always fresh, well stocked, enough variety to satisfy nearly anyone. They also have a fun Italian restaurant (the breakfast there was good, and interesting, but we still loved the buffet most). And an excellent Japanese restaurant that had a very good "set" menu - representative of the Kyoto area. '
The hallways have simple, elegant decor - ceramics, prints, small "set pieces" that make it feel Japanese and chic without any clutter.
It is within the train station and right beside the city bus station - couldn't have been more convenient. You can walk to quite a bit, and get a day bus pass that takes you everywhere. We found the buses very easy to manage - and loved exploring the station, the architecture of the hotel and the station both. It's a community center, in many ways - school groups performed on Saturday, Sunday -- and it seemed like a gathering point at one or another of the restaurants or the cafes sprinkled around the outer area. Just a very chic, nice place to stay. We loved the feel of it.
The hotel staff was super attentive - responded to all requests quickly and competently. We got restaurant reservations through them, advice about how to navigate the public transportation, where to find bike rentals - etc. They couldn't have been more helpful, without being intrusive.'
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We liked being on a high floor -- 12th -- for the view, the quiet, and the sense of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights while in Kyoto. Hotel was very nice and the location at the train station and main bus terminal cant be beat. The large mall and generous dining options were great when it was pouring rain outside. Only suggestion would be to upgrade the pool / spa to the same level as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is a 5-star property with a location that can not be beat. It's right at the train station! The service was friendly and fast. The English was excellent. I would not stay anyplace else in this city. Right outside is the Kyoto Tower and the Aqua Experience. We got a rate of about $170 and felt it was a bargain.

Room Tip: ask for city view... our view was boring, of the train station and they wanted us to pay for a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorimendenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The most attractive feature of this hotel is its central location in Kyoto. It is part of the ultra modern Kyoto Station Building. Being part of the complex, you have access to all the food courts and the group of restaurants on the 10/11th floor.
You have easy connectivity to all the attractions in Kyoto - via subway, trains, local buses. Most conducted tours also have pick up points close by.
Do not expect any grand views..except that of the Kyoto tower and the Shinkansens passing by the station.
We had a Superior Double Room with an extra bed for a family of 4 - two adults and two kids and it was very convenient. The bath room was also well sized...like standard american hotel ( like a Courtyard or Doubletree).
The staff was very courteous..like in most places in Japan.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vipul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 379 in Kyoto
1,284 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 379 in Kyoto
2,466 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 379 in Kyoto
910 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#51 of 379 in Kyoto
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $134 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing