We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't beat the location of this hotel, it's right inside the complex of the Kyoto Station which makes it a super convenient base camp. It's a top notch hotel and they work hard to prove it. One staff woman was in a huge rush one day, running down the hall. As we were passing her she stopped immediately and gave us a patient, slow, respectful bow. After we exchanged greetings and a few pauses later, she took off running down the hall again. lol

Room was spacious, service and courtesy in general day after day made for such a nice and refreshing experience. A great breakfast buffet was included (make sure to double check).

If I had any criticism, it'd probably be that you have to pay an additional fee for access to the pool and gym. But even that is becoming more and more standard in the U.S., in Las Vegas certainly, etc. so I suppose it's not really a criticism. It'd sure be nice to have it included, but I understand it from a business perspective.

Other hotels in Japan strive for great customer service, but I definitely felt a difference in comparison. While others felt forced, with Hotel Granvia Kyoto it just felt like it came very natural for them. Experience was excellent, and would stay here again in heartbeat. No need for me to try another hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be a little far from the elevators, so try to get one a little closer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    1,069
    200
    45
    23
See reviews for
845
1,137
193
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I and my husband stayed at the Granvia in Kyoto for 7 nights. The room was big (we did not expect to be that spacious). The location was really good as it is in the station. We jumped on the JR, subway and buses easily.The buffet breakfast was good with the selections of both western and Japanese items. We also tried the Japanese breakfast one morning and it was great. It was a good experience of the Japanese culture. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We also tried out a couple of restaurants (Chinese and Italian) in the hotel and we loved the food. We had a great time in Kyoto and a great stay in the Granvia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Though I was apprehensive in staying at a hotel that shared the same location as a train station, I was pleasantly surprised to see this Star Rated hotel within the Rail Station. Superb location with an excellent staff. Always helpful and courteous. Rooms are excellent, though I chose the wrong view from my room. I could see all the roof of the station from my window. But this is my address in kyoto, when ever I pass through, for sure

Room Tip: ask for a room that face the Kyoto Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our city-view king-size room on the 8th floor was surprisingly large. The staff were very friendly and even allowed us to check in early on arrival. The hotel is connected to Kyoto Station which is quite a sight and has lots of shopping and dining options. We had no problems with wi-fi in our room, everything was very clean, and we also had no smell of smoke on our floor. The A/C worked wonderfully (so important in Kyoto in the summer if you're like me). From the station you can catch a bus to anywhere in the city (a day pass is only 500yen), or you can rent a bicycle from Kyoto Cycling Tour Project nearby and explore the city that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room for a better night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bozleesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As we travelled by bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto this hotel was perfect for us. The concierge here was extremely helpful and suggested things to do to make our stay memorable. The hotel itself is luxurious and nothing was a problem for the staff. There are a variety of restaurants in the complex, though the 2 we tried were nothing out of the box.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We paid more for a non-smoking room as we have 2 young kids. I think however, that the hotel should not impose the premium.

Other than that, the location (which is within Kyoto Station) is one of the best for the convenience, especially during our stay when it was raining quite abit, we enjoyed being able to go to the malls, or take the trains without getting wet.

The hotel also provided a cot and diaper bin in our room, but other than that, we didn't have any baby amenities. Perhaps this can be an area of improvement, as the amenities for adults are quite impressive - makeup remover, hair brush (not comb), lush bedroom slippers etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li_Hui_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Even with the size of this hotel, the staff managed to make us feel like they were trying to meet our needs. Room size is average for Japanese standards. When we had a bit of difficulty getting on to the wifi network, they gave us a mini router to boost the signal I think. From then on we had no difficulty with the wifi. The hotel's great location gave us lots of dining options because of the Isetan department store which had 2 floors of food emporium in the basement and 2 restaurant floors on the top levels. The hotel breakfast buffet was very good and certainly a must try for at least 1 morning. Concierge was very helpful and the room amenities are well chosen and all quite useful.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that's not too far from the elevators otherwise, it's quite a long wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 369 in Kyoto
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
549 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,026 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 369 in Kyoto
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing