We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Location, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First two nights of our Japan trip were at this hotel and in terms of location you couldn't beat it. We were upgraded to a larger room, which was nice. Really nothing I could fault about it, its a good quality, standard western style hotel. Aside from being over the train station, its right next to the bus station as well, which in Kyoto is a great transport option. Very easy to use and you can get to all the major tourist spots from here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    969
    181
    40
    20
See reviews for
762
1,024
173
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder,Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotel Grandvia in the Kyoto Station is a very beautiful modern hotel. You never leave the station. it is so easy to come and go, to get buses, cabs and the subway.
The 15TH floor is a nice place to be as you have your own concierge to help with your stay in Kyoto. We booked an English speaking taxi driver for five hours to tour the some of the many shrines. The whole thing was taken care by the great ladies at the concierge desk on the 15TH floor. You can relax in the guest lounge with nice views while enjoying some coffee or tea drinks with some little treats.
The hotel has some of the best body wash, makeup removers etc... That I've ever used in a hotel.
We had breakfast included , it was quite the international buffet, something for everyone.
They had fresh carrot juice from the biggest carrots that I have ever seen, really!
If you want to tour Kyoto and be in total comfort, this is the hotel for you. The rooms were large like western hotels not like the typical smallish Japanese ones.. Beds were very nice with quality linens and a great sleep, our view was of the city, quite! You might get a discount with your JR rail pass, check it out.

Room Tip: 15th floor would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OK2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one night at the Granvia hotel and enjoyed our stay. I had booked a regular room room, but during the check in process, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was HUGE and tastefully done!!!! Our room consisted of a living room, bedroom with two queen-sized beds, a powder room, and a big bathroom.

The check in process was efficient and we were accompanied to our room by the check in staff.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you are going to make multiple day trips with Kyoto as your.

Would def. recommend as good value but keep in mind... The decor and ambiance is that of a nice business hotel, so it lacks the charm of being in Japan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here whilst travelling around Japan last summer. We absolutely loved the hotel. Our room was excellent, we had a really interesting view of the station and the bullet trains but no noise at all. Breakfast was first class, giving a fantastic choice of both western and more traditional Japanese style food. The hotel is really well situated and a great base from which to explore the city. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby if you want to venture out - the hotel restaurants and the tea shop looked amazing but were a little pricey for us. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The luggage forwarding service was easy to use and made travelling on the bullet train a lot easier. There is really nothing at all that I can criticise about this hotel - we loved it and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I love the hotel very much. Fantastic location and extremely helpful staffs. I stayed that for 4 nights, and I really like this hotel. The Hotel location is great and very convenient to anywhere. It is so near the JR Express, subway, rairway and bus. Kyoto station itself is a wonderful place to visit, with great circulation lines, creative architecture, and good views. There are cinema, department store, underground shopping streets, sky garden, and sky walk way. I strongly recommend Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the subways. Rooms on the north side face Kyoto station Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Taking advantage of the commemoration of our 25th years anniversary trip, as well as our honeymoon, following our wedding thanks to the new French law about marriage for all, we decided to inform all the hotels we had booked of the purpose of this trip and our civil situation.
We immediately received a fantastic congratulation message from Shiho, the Overseas Manager, offering to assist us for the preparation of our stay in Kyoto and recommending a wonderful guide for our stay in Tokyo. She went to meet us at the doors of our Shinkansen car and drove us until the hotel and our spacious Deluxe room, where a nice and delicious cake was expecting for us. The hotel is ideally located inside the Kyoto train station, perfect to visit all the historic points of the city, by bus or metro. Kyoto is very rich, with a lot of beautiful temples and 4 days are not enough to see everything. In particular if you plan to visit Nara, the first Japanese capital, only 40mn by train.
Breakfast buffet was very complete, room service with simple but high quality food, and everybody was extremely sympathetic and nice.
Shiho was again present for our check-out to give us a final demonstration of her excellence in hospitality business.
We couldn’t have a better stay in this fabulously charming city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for approximately a week in the middle of June. The most impressive thing for us was the concierge service who helped us recover a lost camera; this was truly amazing as we could not remember exactly where we had left it and were ruefully wishing we had backed up all of our photos at some stage this year. We are extremely grateful to both the concierge staff and taxi driver for the systematically tracked it down and went out of their way to return it to us.

Aside from this, the location was fantastic: it was easy to find even when sleep deprived and unable to speak any Japanese; close to a plethora of good restaurants and on top of the public transport hub. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qubitasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#18 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#28 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing