We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #14 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Location is excellent, part of a huge complex and situated above the railway station which makes travelling so easy. Stayed in a beautiful suite opposite Kyoto Tower and views over the city.
Staff were helpful and professional.The location is a destination in itself with department stores,restaurants on the 11th floor. And the amazing staircase which lights up at night.
Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about staying here when I heard that it's basically connected to the Kyoto train station, but that turned out to be such an asset since we were coming and going a lot during our visit.

There was nothing memorable about our room, but it was very comfortable and had all that we needed (including super comfy sleep shirts!) We enjoyed the upstairs bar as well--it has a nice view of the city. And we loved being able to walk out of our hotel and get to the gazillion restaurant and shop options that are in the station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic location, a big modern hotel, loads of bars restaurants and cafe's. The hotel is attached to the recently built station and is a bit of a modern design treasure. Whilst you are here looking at the historical sites make sure that you find time to look around the station building to, it is stunning. The roof garden, the staircase illuminated with a thousand lights and the incredible roof design. The station complex is packed with some great shops and restaurants and there is direct access from the hotel as is the subway. enjoyed my stay here. On the downside watch out for rooms with even numbers - They look out onto the station roof and have no view whatsoever, and the roof does not look so good from the outside!

Room Tip: some rooms do not have any view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were so happy in Granvia. The trip started awkwardly; we decided rather late to visit Kyoto for the weekend so when we booked the room the only left were smoking rooms. GHASTLY! But we wanted a get-a-way and the hotel staff repeatedly assured us the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and we would not smell the vile cancer clouds smokers left. We were very happy that the reception was right. Our room smelled fresh.

Living in Japan is a blessing and we have had many interesting ryokan experiences. But some times a person just wants a soft bed and a big buffet breakfast. That time was this weekend. We were very happy. The bed's softness was like a lover's embrace. We slept well.

Breakfast buffet was expansive and tasty with impeccable service.

The hotel overall had outstanding service and as noted in multiple reviews is located in Kyoto main station so access everywhere is easy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Granvia Kyoto is part of the fantastic Kyoto Railway Station structure, so convenience is a given. The staff at all the Japanese hotels where we stayed were exceptional but the Granvia staff were the pick of the bunch. They were ready to assist at a moments notice - you only needed to stand in the lobby looking a little uncertain and they would be over to offer assistance in a flash!
Check-in and out was a breeze - staff and systems seemed to work really well.
Rooms were good but not great. They were spotlessly clean and well cleaned daily but perhaps due for a bit of a refresh. Free wi-fi was a feature but rooms did not have their own safes. Inter-room and corridor noise was about average but there was no street/train noise at all.
We would be happy to stay at the Granvia again based on this experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking floor in Japan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a great location. There were numerous shops and restaurants in the same complex. The hotel decor was updated and the service was great. We were always greeted when walking to the elevators or upon entering one of the many restaurants. The rooms were spacious and in room amenities were very nice, from the pajamas and slippers, to the fog free bathroom mirror, to the toothbrush, hairbrush and razor kits. While they offered shampoo, conditioner and body wash, there was no body lotion in the room so I was glad I brought my own. If you are sensitive to noise, I suggest requesting a room away from the train tracks. Overall a great stay. Colleagues of mine stayed at the Rihga but the Granvia blew it away.

Thank wilsonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a tourist wanting to visit everything in Kyoto, I can not imagine a more convenient hotel. Located in the train station it was easy to find when we arrived from Tokyo. At the bus and subway hub, each day we could start out immediately to the part of the city we were to explore and ended each night back in the central business district for a great choice of dining and shopping. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful on many fronts, the breakfast was one of the best we ever had and the in house Tempura Restaurant was incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 395 in Kyoto
921 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 395 in Kyoto
1,296 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 395 in Kyoto
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 395 in Kyoto
2,493 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#49 of 395 in Kyoto
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $126 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing