We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic location, a big modern hotel, loads of bars restaurants and cafe's. The hotel is attached to the recently built station and is a bit of a modern design treasure. Whilst you are here looking at the historical sites make sure that you find time to look around the station building to, it is stunning. The roof garden, the staircase illuminated with a thousand lights and the incredible roof design. The station complex is packed with some great shops and restaurants and there is direct access from the hotel as is the subway. enjoyed my stay here. On the downside watch out for rooms with even numbers - They look out onto the station roof and have no view whatsoever, and the roof does not look so good from the outside!

Room Tip: some rooms do not have any view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,035)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Granvia Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 3,035 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were so happy in Granvia. The trip started awkwardly; we decided rather late to visit Kyoto for the weekend so when we booked the room the only left were smoking rooms. GHASTLY! But we wanted a get-a-way and the hotel staff repeatedly assured us the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and we would not smell the vile cancer clouds smokers left. We were very happy that the reception was right. Our room smelled fresh.

Living in Japan is a blessing and we have had many interesting ryokan experiences. But some times a person just wants a soft bed and a big buffet breakfast. That time was this weekend. We were very happy. The bed's softness was like a lover's embrace. We slept well.

Breakfast buffet was expansive and tasty with impeccable service.

The hotel overall had outstanding service and as noted in multiple reviews is located in Kyoto main station so access everywhere is easy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Granvia Kyoto is part of the fantastic Kyoto Railway Station structure, so convenience is a given. The staff at all the Japanese hotels where we stayed were exceptional but the Granvia staff were the pick of the bunch. They were ready to assist at a moments notice - you only needed to stand in the lobby looking a little uncertain and they would be over to offer assistance in a flash!
Check-in and out was a breeze - staff and systems seemed to work really well.
Rooms were good but not great. They were spotlessly clean and well cleaned daily but perhaps due for a bit of a refresh. Free wi-fi was a feature but rooms did not have their own safes. Inter-room and corridor noise was about average but there was no street/train noise at all.
We would be happy to stay at the Granvia again based on this experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking floor in Japan.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a great location. There were numerous shops and restaurants in the same complex. The hotel decor was updated and the service was great. We were always greeted when walking to the elevators or upon entering one of the many restaurants. The rooms were spacious and in room amenities were very nice, from the pajamas and slippers, to the fog free bathroom mirror, to the toothbrush, hairbrush and razor kits. While they offered shampoo, conditioner and body wash, there was no body lotion in the room so I was glad I brought my own. If you are sensitive to noise, I suggest requesting a room away from the train tracks. Overall a great stay. Colleagues of mine stayed at the Rihga but the Granvia blew it away.

Thank wilsonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a tourist wanting to visit everything in Kyoto, I can not imagine a more convenient hotel. Located in the train station it was easy to find when we arrived from Tokyo. At the bus and subway hub, each day we could start out immediately to the part of the city we were to explore and ended each night back in the central business district for a great choice of dining and shopping. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful on many fronts, the breakfast was one of the best we ever had and the in house Tempura Restaurant was incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I wasn't expecting this to be a luxury hotel so I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, part of the Kyoto station. The rooms facing the Kyoto Tower are very quiet. My room faced the tower and was away from the elevator and that was just fine because I didn't want the noise from the elevator disturbing me. The service at the hotel is spotty. The concierge is ok depending on who's attending the desk. I got more assistance from the reception desk.

The rooms are standard size and clean. The view from my room was of the Kyoto Tower and the city. It was great. The bathroom is a bit small but very clean. The hotel entertainment is lacking. For you CNN lovers, the hotel channel only shows BBC. In fact there are only about 3 or so English channels, except the pay per view movies.

There are many restaurants in the hotel, but they are expensive and the food is, hotel food. I had a delicious steak dinner at the Itsetan department store steak restaurant for a third of what the steakhouse in the hotel cost. Itsetan is in the train station, opposite the hotel.

If you want information about tourism, go to the information kiosk in the train station. The staff speak very good English and will give you detailed information.

The hotel is within walking distance of a few temples that are very crowded with tourist so one can enjoy quiet. The most of the city buses pass through the station so getting around is easy.

If you need a base with easy access to most transportation, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Kyoto Tower away from the train station, they are very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a mid market hotel attached to Kyoto JR Station.

Location:

Superb location adjacent to the station and Kyoto Tower, making it very simple to find if you get lost. Kyoto is easy to find your way around and the hotel has many bars, restaurants and shops nearby. I think you would struggle to find a hotel in a better place in Kyoto.

Service:

The service was excellent by European standards but about average by Japanese standards. We didn't have too many dealings with the staff but whenever we did they were helpful enough and most spoke English fairly well.

Room:

We had a top floor room which commanded excellent city views. The room not huge and was adequate without being luxurious. The air-con worked well. Shower and bathroom was ok. Housekeeping standard seemed good and everything was clean.

Bars / Restaurants:

We had a drink in the Sky Lounge one evening. It was a bit smokey (hardly the hotel's fault - blame the smoking laws of Japan!) but it had a nice view. Prices were fairly reasonable and the service and ambience were quite nice. There were quite a few other dining and bar options but we didn't bother with them since they were plenty of more interesting local options nearby.

Overall:

A pleasant hotel in a good location. Good value for money, clean with pleasant service. Hardly the last word in luxury but good and a hotel I'd be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endofcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 373 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#13 of 373 in Kyoto
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 373 in Kyoto
2,128 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $159 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing