We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Granvia Kyoto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture (Shimogyo-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #16 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Granvia Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What could be better than staying in the train station when you travel?
The location can't be beat...

We stayed here for ten days, using Kyoto as a base while we travelled middle Japan.
The services, staff and accommodations couldn't be beat for use.
The room was quite large as was the bathroom for a hotel in Japan.
We had a room overlooking the station, but did not find it noisy at all.

After checking out the in house restaurants and having a few meals, we found the prices varied quite a bit, though the food at the house restaurants was choice, we decided to eat what and where the locals do as it was cheaper...

All in all a highly recommend hotel all around...

Room Tip: Higher levels are desired for view, but some rooms can be quite a distance from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitsuni-n-Tanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    930
    177
    38
    20
See reviews for
721
985
171
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a first class hotel sited above busy Kyoto station. The complex including station and hotel is part of a huge prize winning architectural design. The rooms are well appointed, there are plenty of sockets and free WiFi is offered.
The hotel is high up and there is double glazing to ensure that the rooms are quiet. This is an ideal location from which to tour the town sites with good local shops and the buses that go direct to the centre of town, about a ten minute ride away, are plentiful.
Whilst you are in Kyoto do see the kabuki theatre. Quite amazing tour de force. Buy the programme. It gives the story in English in outline.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Definitively one of the best choices in Kyoto, otherwise you decide to stay in a Ryokan which I recommend once in Japan, in order to have the flavor of the country.
The hotel is located in a very interesting architectural winning design train station, but that won't to noticed until you get out of the hotel. There are plenty of good choices in terms of restaurants, Japanese or Western Style or if you prefer something cheaper the train station is full of other choices.
I recommend taking a 500yens daily bus pass in the station where you can jump from on place to another without bothering with tickets.
The only thing you will have to remember is that Japanese Hotels in general will never give the room before Check In time so don't waste your time arriving early from one city to another or you will be kicking you luggage for a couple of hours.
The services are definitively over the American or European Standards so this is a plus.
The staff is very friendly but the language is still an issue for Japanese people in general.
Apart from this, my experience since my last 2004 trip is that there has been an evolution in the new generations in terms of communication.

Room Tip: The South Tower is a little bit quieter than the North Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recommend this hotel without qualification. I have never stayed in a train station hotel before, but the building itself is an architectural winning design with skywalk, every conceivable type store, and restaurants galore. Go outside the building an your can take a taxi or bus to any point in the city. Cabs are inexpensive and buses are a bargain There is a bus information center located out side the station and the personnel speak English and are extremely helpful. The buses go everywhere and cost about $2.20 per ride.
We paid an extra $20 for a room with view of the city and it was well worth it since the other view is of the rail tracks. The sunsets in Kyoto were outstanding and our room gave us a great view of the Kyoto tower and he entire skyline of Kyoto,
The staff at the hotel were incredible--they have a concierge staff able to provide maps and detail information on whatever you need.
When we checked out, I mentioned that we were going to take the bullet rain to Tokyo, but were concerned about finding the tracks for our train. The bell captain had one of the bellmen take our 2 pieces of hand carry luggage (about 25 lbs. each) and walk us the 10 minutes thru the station right to the exact track for our train.
I have never found a hotel anywhere that offers this level of service. This hotel is a definite must for Kyoto,

Room Tip: Pay the extra $20 and get the room on a higher floor with a view of the entire city of Kyoto,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My first impressions when I arrived were not good. They told me they had lost my booking and were not sure if they had a room for me. They eventually found a double room and told me to come back 3 hours later to check in.
When I came back to check in they had changed my room to a lower standard one.
I complained as I was sick and tired of them not knowing what they were doing and they upgraded me.
From then on the service was good but it tainted my impression.

The location is fabulous - vey convenient with the adjacent railway station.
I would highly recommend the buffet breakfast - really great! The room was quite spacious too and it was quiet even given the location by a train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for six nights in this luxurious hotel. Our room was the most spacious of the seven hotels in which we stayed during 21 days in April 2013 and was very welcoming each time we made the rather long walk from the lifts. The hotel is right above the railway station and beside a major bus terminal so that all the sights on our schedule were achieved easily by foot, bus or train, either the JR lines or the subway. After arriving from Okayama mid-morning, the staff were extremely helpful and made us welcome although the room could not be accessed till the afternoon, a common procedure we discovered during this trip. As there are plenty of sights, shopping centres and restaurants near the hotel, this was not a problem. The Kyoto railway station itself is an architectural wonder which could be overlooked if you have too busy an itinerary. Wifi was complimentary. We did not eat in the hotel which however provided a vast array of Japanese and international restaurant choices if guests did not wish to go out from the hotel in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Granvia for 10 nights during our recent visit to Kyoto. Among the five Kyoto hotels we had stayed over the years, this is the best in terms of spaciousness of room and location. The hotel is actually inside the Kyoto Station, with guest rooms located from the 7th to 15th floor. Our room at the 7th floor faced the railway tracks. However, the soundproofing of the room was so good that we practically did not hear any noise generated by trains. The room was rather spacious, with a big closet to put our suitcases. The room and the bathroom/toilet were clean. Newspapers (alternating among Japan News, International Herald Tribune and Wall Street Journal) and free internet were provided. The location of the hotel makes it very convenient to take buses, trains and subways to various spots. Underneath the station, there are several interconnected underground shopping malls with many small shops and restaurants. We had all our meals in those restaurants which offered good and inexpensive food. We enjoyed out stay at Granvia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#40 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,670 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#17 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#33 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing