We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It was very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 360 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I will go with a less is more approach here - it was very good.
Bed was LARGE (after some tiny ones, it was most welcome), shower the best I have ever had, and room was large and spacious.
The staff were so welcoming and friendly I thought they must be angling for a tip but that didn't seem to be the case.
The location was great for our two nights in Kyoto and made the connection back to Tokyo very easy.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long, so if you don't want a three minute walk to you room ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LambsySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,509
    1,007
    192
    42
    21
See reviews for
798
1,065
181
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights in April at the start of an organised tour. This Hotel was an excellent choice from the excellent location - we arrived by bus to the warm welcome from the reception staff.
We stayed on the Granvia Lounge floor and whilst the room may have been small we found it to be more than adequate. The BBC was available on the TV and best of all the shower was unbeliveably hot!!!! something I was going to enjoy throughout Japan.
We had lunch and two breakfasts in the main restaurant and all meals were excellent even though they were all buffets - something I normally do not enjoy. However the food was fresh and both Japanese and Western dishes were available.
Should we return to Kyoto we would defintely stay here again. I really could not fault this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. Overall a great experience.

Location is great - attached to the amazing Kyoto Station and a huge shopping mall/restaurants and opposite the Kyoto Tower. Very nice area to browse around, in between temples and ahrines.

Check-in the 'usual' efficient and friendly service you get to expect in Japan.

The rooms themselves are great. Roomy, (Of course) spotlessly clean. The bed is comfortable. We had a large, king size and it was very good, after a long day walking around.

Bathroom is a little small but effective. Shower is in the bath and has two fixed attachments on the wall. Not the most advanced but did the job fine.

TV was modern but, similar to many other Japanese hotels, suffered from a lack of English channels. Basically National geographic, Discovery and BBC World only. Come on hotels: "International" means international!

We tried the coffee shop in the lobby for breakfast. Great for crowd watching, coffee is really good but the croissants are below par, compared to many shops just outside.

Facilities are good, service is outstanding.

Try it. Nice place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a tourist hotel right on top of the train station. It is good if you are coming to or leaving Kyoto on an early/late train. Otherwise, it is not a pleasant or quaint place to stay. The staff is perfectly nice. The rooms are in fairly good (basic) condition. The concierge was ultra helpful and would not accept a tip. Value for the money was fair. In the end, I would have rather stayed in a boutique or other local hotel, but this was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DM9183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has the best location ever right inside the huge and busy Kyoto station. Everything you need is right there: food, shopping, exchange offices and you get to live for a few days inside a train station!!! As all Japanese people, the staff was more than perfect, ready to help you all the times. Rooms are big and very comfortable. You have all means of transportation right there at your door. Easy, fast and perfect!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is THE BEST place to stay in Kyoto for ~140 USD a night. It is situation right inside the Kyoto station. The station has an excellent mall and all the facilities that come along with a huge mall.

Rooms are big and very well furnished. WiFi is free and is available inside the rooms on unlimited devices!! Staff can speak proper English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaSiKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for 5 nights. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable. The service was excellent throughout our stay from the minute we checked in. We got some great advice from the concierge about some side trips and local sightseeting, and after trekking around all day and night, its location above the train station was welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 360 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#4 of 360 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 360 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 360 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing