We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An execellent start to our Japanese tour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights in April at the start of an organised tour. This Hotel was an excellent choice from the excellent location - we arrived by bus to the warm welcome from the reception staff.
We stayed on the Granvia Lounge floor and whilst the room may have been small we found it to be more than adequate. The BBC was available on the TV and best of all the shower was unbeliveably hot!!!! something I was going to enjoy throughout Japan.
We had lunch and two breakfasts in the main restaurant and all meals were excellent even though they were all buffets - something I normally do not enjoy. However the food was fresh and both Japanese and Western dishes were available.
Should we return to Kyoto we would defintely stay here again. I really could not fault this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,039)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Granvia Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 3,039 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. Overall a great experience.

Location is great - attached to the amazing Kyoto Station and a huge shopping mall/restaurants and opposite the Kyoto Tower. Very nice area to browse around, in between temples and ahrines.

Check-in the 'usual' efficient and friendly service you get to expect in Japan.

The rooms themselves are great. Roomy, (Of course) spotlessly clean. The bed is comfortable. We had a large, king size and it was very good, after a long day walking around.

Bathroom is a little small but effective. Shower is in the bath and has two fixed attachments on the wall. Not the most advanced but did the job fine.

TV was modern but, similar to many other Japanese hotels, suffered from a lack of English channels. Basically National geographic, Discovery and BBC World only. Come on hotels: "International" means international!

We tried the coffee shop in the lobby for breakfast. Great for crowd watching, coffee is really good but the croissants are below par, compared to many shops just outside.

Facilities are good, service is outstanding.

Try it. Nice place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a tourist hotel right on top of the train station. It is good if you are coming to or leaving Kyoto on an early/late train. Otherwise, it is not a pleasant or quaint place to stay. The staff is perfectly nice. The rooms are in fairly good (basic) condition. The concierge was ultra helpful and would not accept a tip. Value for the money was fair. In the end, I would have rather stayed in a boutique or other local hotel, but this was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM9183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has the best location ever right inside the huge and busy Kyoto station. Everything you need is right there: food, shopping, exchange offices and you get to live for a few days inside a train station!!! As all Japanese people, the staff was more than perfect, ready to help you all the times. Rooms are big and very comfortable. You have all means of transportation right there at your door. Easy, fast and perfect!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is THE BEST place to stay in Kyoto for ~140 USD a night. It is situation right inside the Kyoto station. The station has an excellent mall and all the facilities that come along with a huge mall.

Rooms are big and very well furnished. WiFi is free and is available inside the rooms on unlimited devices!! Staff can speak proper English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaSiKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for 5 nights. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable. The service was excellent throughout our stay from the minute we checked in. We got some great advice from the concierge about some side trips and local sightseeting, and after trekking around all day and night, its location above the train station was welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Americans aren't used to staying in a hotel at a train station but we had a great experience doing just that in Kyoto. The location is easy, of course, for arriving and departing by train. You also can catch the bus (buses are the way to go in Kyoto) to all tourist destinations. The only downside of the location is the outlying neighborhood isn't exciting, but there are a ton of eating choices in the train station or Gion is just a bus ride away. (The hotel has a number of restaurants, but they are pricey.)

But what we really loved at the Granvia was the service. Everyone in the hotel was attentive. In addition we were lucky enough to be have a room on the concierge floor where we were about the use the services of the concierge in the Granvia Lounge. To a man and woman they were wonderful. They gave us such great information and when we wanted to get tickets to see a baseball game in Hiroshima they bent over backward to help us find tickets in a nearly sold-out game. They were so helpful and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 374 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#14 of 374 in Kyoto
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 374 in Kyoto
2,134 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $162 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Rakuten, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing