We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't expect hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is very expensive but provides roomy accommodation. Besides a very few amenities, it is just another very nice Western hotel. If you come to Kyoto expecting those delightful surprises that Japan is famous for, don't choose this hotel. No welcome tea, no little cakes waiting in the room, no artful box of Japanese-style bathroom clothes. And after paying a ransom (our room was over $300 per night for something I would expect to encounter in Chicago) everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is extra-billed. There's over 10$ to use the pool, 3$ for the brew-it-yourself coffee and tea in the room, and no complimentary breakfast. I am sorry to have to whine about this but I hate gouging. In a country that is famed for its hospitality and where most urban hotels take pleasure in surprising guests with little favours or a charming onsen or lovely traditional breakfast, all as part of the price, this place falls well beneath the bar for value. If you want a very nice U.S. hotel room, this is the place for you, but if you are after Japan when you've come all this way, stay somewhere that enjoys treating you as a special guest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 3,148 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want somewhere central in Kyoto and are prepared to pay a bit extra then this is a great choice. The overall service is above average and very slick. Only compaint is that the main bar does not cater for non smokers - they ask you when you go in and then seat you in a very smokey bar - about time Japan got into line with all modern cities and barred smoking in Bars & restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer elevators otherwise you could have a very long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WerdnerR302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great hotel, very modern, comfortable beds if a little short.loved the heated bathroom seat. Choice of resturants is great the tempura was superb. Good selection at breakfast everything from fish to pancakes. Bar prices a bit expensive but good choice. Easy to get to anywhere in Kyoto from the hotel. Had a great stay.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here at the end of January. Overall the hotel was good. Good sized, clean and quiet rooms, plus convenient location above Kyoto Station which is very handy for exploring the city.

My only complaint was the concierge service. We asked advice on a restaurant for our last night in Kyoto and were sent to one of the worst restaurants I've been to for a long time. No atmosphere, strip lighting and overlooked food. Not a great end to our holiday! I'll do my own research next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESUK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

the location of the Granvia Kyoto is great if one has to commute by train. There is lots of good restaurants nearby and everything in Kyoto can is in short distance to do some sightseeing. Staff is typically japanese nice. The only downturn is that every time and that means by now almost ten times, my credit cards do not seem to work - but only in this hotel - again and again and again.

Room Tip: don't take a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepp-Perlmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way home here. It was a dream heading up the escalator with our bags straight from the JR station. Nice rooms, great service, the only place to stay in Kyoto. This is a great base to visit Kyoto from(last trip), there are heaps of places to eat underground nearby. And the views from the club floor and lounge were great. A nice place to relax while you are away from home.

Room Tip: Stay on the Granvia floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysonHolidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Literally above the train station. We were on the 12th floor so trains did not worry us. We overlooked the trains and loved watching the Bullet trains come and go. The room was very large. We stayed for 4 nights and walked to many places as well as caught trains, did a one day tour through Sunrise Tours:Pick up in a hotel across the street, excellent. The bus station is also at the front of the Hotel so we caught buses too. The bathroom was lovely and the shower excellent. The bed very comfortable. Very quiet. Very clean. We bought food from the conveniencce stores near by and ate at the food court under the bus station. We actually spent a couple of hours just walking around the station area before catching our train to Hiroshima. The architecture is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 406 in Kyoto
935 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#34 of 406 in Kyoto
934 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 406 in Kyoto
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 406 in Kyoto
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $145 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing