We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ideal base for Kyoto”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Granvia Kyoto, Japan

Excellent location above railway station with Shinkansen (high speed trains) and local rail lines plus local buses and tourist info offices close by. Underneath and alongside the railway station is a large shopping mall with shops, supermarkets and excellent food outlets.
Large room with comfortable large beds, quiet. Tasteful and efficient functional fittings with ample electric plugs and lights switches in logical places. We were travelling with our eleven year old son and a third bed fitted easily into the space.
Good bath and fantastic shower with additional side nozzles. Best EVER. Heated panels above bathroom mirrors to stop misting. Twin bathroom basins. Toilets fantastic. Electrically operated, auto flushing, auto seat lifting on approach and lowering when not in use. Warmed toilet seat. Variety of sprays from beneath with variable pressures, intensity and direction.
Even a padded seat in the elevator for tired passengers. Excellent free continuous internet facilities in room.
Excellent service. I dropped my spectacle case in the elevator and hotel staff matched the details on it although room booking was not in my name, and returned item to room.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,049
    199
    45
    22
See reviews for
818
1,116
191
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

i arrived at hotel around midnight because flight delayed for some hours but still welcomed by attentive staffs at lobby, ready to help with luggage. I reserved deluxe room and was not disappointed, my room was really big with modern facilities accompanying with big window, so i could see the whole city whole day & whole night. They offered some free fruits as well. I stayed here only 2 nights but everything were perfect, i did like to get up the Bar to get some seasonal drink and some Japanese wine. Hotel owned some nice restaurant that i did not have to get out to look for others but if you would like to find something special restaurant, ask for staffs, they would like to give some ways to get these.

Room Tip: they have suite seasonal room bigger than my deluxe room but both of these room were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohamed u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife & I recently stayed for 5 nights in a room on the 12th floor with views over the railway lines on the southern side of the building.

Pros:
• the room is spacious
• comfortable king-sized bed & pillows
• convenient location for travel around Kyoto & beyond
• convenient access to cafes, restaurants & shopping both in the Kyoto Station & the nearby underground PORTA mall
• staff friendly & very efficient
• good range of toiletries, toothbrushes, combs, disposable razors etc.

Cons:
• room furnishings, especially carpet, looking a bit tired
• almost continual chimes (indicating arriving trains) from the station platforms can be intrusive
• buffet breakfast relatively expensive at approx. $AUD30 per head, and the hot Western food was only lukewarm the one time we ate in the hotel
• only 3 or 4 English-language TV channels available & reception is not very good
• shower over the bath, while common in Japanese hotels, is not the best bathroom option for older guests such as us
• tea, coffee & milk only provided on first day

Despite the Cons, we would happily stay at the Granvia Hotel again simply for the degree of comfort it offers & the convenience of its location.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Kyoto Tower so as to avoid the incessant chimes from the Kyoto Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agfox46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived by Airport Limo from Itami/Osaka Airport and were greeted immidiately by the Staff. We were shown to our room overlooking the train station on the 7th floor. We did not hear any noise from the trains below which surprised me. The room was large, clean and comfortable with any type of ammenity you could need or want. Suffering from jet lag one night we decided to get a drink in the Skybar with some snacks. What a great place this is including the lovely piano player. 2 very important points to bring up that made my stay extremely memorable. Every staff member we passed in the hall would bow deeply and say "Irashaii Mase" or "welcome". The second was the service we received from Ms. Shiho Ikeuchi who was in the Concierge area. She showed us how to navigate the city properly and how to hit all the major attractions. She was a tremendous help. As for the location, there is clearly no other area to stay in Kyoto, Japan. Directly below there is a mall with many dining options and shopping. If and when I return to Kyoto, this will be my number one choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel becuase it was located next to Kyoto Station. Even though it was at the top of our price range we decided to book. I am so glad we did because this is such a lovely hotel with lots of luxuries, fabulous bar over looking the city, lovely restaurants and great service. The hotel was so easy to find when we arrived at the station. The porter took our bags, nothing was too much trouble and our room was large compaired with some hotels in Japan we have stayed at. A great hotel to stay at - I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room where you dont have to walk a mile to get to. We were upgraded becuase o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived from Tokyo on the Bullet Train and found the hotel without any problems as it is part of Kyoto station. There are even signs in the station for the hotel.

Stayed for 4 nights in Kyoto in a king size room on the 9th floor, facing the Kyoto tower hotel.

The room was plenty big enough and had a large TV and 2 single chairs. The bathroom had a bath and over the bath shower. The towels were changed each day, as was the shower curtain. Not something we have encountered before, but nice touch.

The king size bed was very comfy. The hotel was quiet, which contributed to 4 good nights sleep.

The air conditioning was very welcome and kept the room at a nice temperature. Bottled drinking water was replenished each day.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but we managed to find it from nearby SB and DF, directly next to the Kyoto Tower.

We didn’t use the restaurants in the hotel and found cheaper alternatives at restaurants close by in the department store and opposite the Kyoto Tower.

I somehow managed to be bitten numerous times by mosquitoes and had to make a visit to the lobby in the middle of the night for some cream for the bites. The hotel very kindly and promptly found some cream that I used, until I managed to find a chemist the next day.

All in all Hotel Granvia was a good hotel and would definitely stay there again if staying in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurant and breakfast choices nearby the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I reviewed this hotel four years ago, but it is worth re-stating its virtues. The hotel is located right over Kyoto Station, very convenient if you are travelling by train as there are Shinkansen connections both toward Tokyo and to Osaka and beyond westward. From the station one can also get buses to Osaka Itami and Kansai airports. It is also the terminus for many city and regional buses, and a stop on the city subway system. In the spectacular station building, there are an abundance of restaurants and shops, including the Isetan department store. On foot one can visit Nishi Hongan-ji and Higashi Hongan-ji temples, and the Umekogi Steam Locomotive museum, a world-class collection with some operating locomotives.

The entrance to the hotel is by escalator, or one small elevator, to the second floor lobby. The lobby is always crowded and often difficult to find a seat. There are a number of check-in desks and service is efficient and pleasant, and most of the staff speak English. The lobby bar, le Grand Jour, is expensive, but the service is good, and it’s a good meeting place. The elevator music is cool modern jazz.

There is parking under the hotel.

Our room this time was a twin, facing south so that we had a great view over the train platforms and could see both the Shinkansen and regular trains arrive and depart throughout the day or night The soundproofing was very good, for one couldn’t hear the trains at all - nor people in the next rooms. Our room was handsomely fitted out with dark wood furniture, although now it is beginning to show age and wear. The twin beds were not too firm, but were comfortable. There was a refrigerator filled with hotel drinks, but with room for one’s own things. There were two robes, two nightshirts, and complimentary slippers. The air conditioning was responsive and efficient. The bathroom had was well laid out, with a Japanese type shower and bath combination, so that one showers before getting in the tub. There was a good selection of toiletries available, and enough - but no extra - thick towels. There were even facecloths, a rarity in Japanese hotels. The lights in the bathroom were only mediocre for shaving. There was a pants press. Free WiFi access was fast and reliable.

Breakfast at Granvia continues to be a delight. Coupons, which one can buy as part of the room price, allow you to go either to the buffet, or a served American-style breakfast, in Le Temps. One can also go to Ukihashi for a served, elegant Kyoto-style breakfast. Here there are two choices, one vegetarian and one with fish (broiled salmon) and Japanese omelette. The buffet has Japanese dishes, American breakfast and some Chinese dishes. At both restaurants there are very fine dishes, and a great variety at the buffet.

As one reviewer noted, the Granvia may be expensive, but it’s worth it. We would not tire of staying here for a number of days.

Room Tip: Choose a South-side room and watch the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing