We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel and convenient”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just above the kyoto station, easy to go anywhere. Friendly staffs and spacious, clean room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soodye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,065
    200
    45
    23
See reviews for
842
1,133
193
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Granvia is on top of the train station, so it is super convenient and an awesome structure. It is very expensive and they don't even offer free tea bags in the room. Staff was terrific! Great English speakers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is located in the Kyoto train station and is very convenient. Guest service is excellent and the rooms are well equipped! If I'm ever back in Kyoto, this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANAITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed for four nights. When we arrived our room wasn’t ready so we went for something to eat in the station. The station has numerous places to eat and the restaurants were very good. When we got to our room there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke so we asked to move. We were told this was not possible and they would come and spray our room with air freshener. We declined as that usually makes matters worse. We decided to go down to reception to explain the situation face to face. We expressed our concerns and although we were originally told the hotel was full they managed to find another room for us. The room was fine, a little old fashioned but clean. I was a little disappointed to see that we had to pay for the coffee that was in the room. We were also surprised to be told there was a fee for Hotel guests to use the gym and pool. This Hotel is expensive and would not expect to pay for the tea and coffee facilities in the room and to use the gym or pool. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but chose different places in the station which sold good coffee and a decent croissant. Good location and would probably use again if in Kyoto.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here for a week during our recent visit to Kyoto, this Hotel though extremely busy is classy, clean, the rooms are large and a really nice place despite its location just on top of the station.There is so much that can be done here, the restaurants are really nice and the attached shopping centre has different things for different folks. The staff are nice and extremely respectful all willing to assist. Breakfast buffet very good. Rooms very clean and surprisingly big. Well located just above the subway and station and well seviced by plenty of taxis even offer brollies when it is raining. Despite the fact that the Hotel is locate at the station, it is totally sound proof. This hotel is a bit pricey but worth every cent. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The much higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femishow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

There are various ways to enter the Hotel Granvia, which is basically part of Kyoto Station itself, and once we became accustomed to our surroundings we realized it is the most conveniently located hotel in this city. The hotel room is super plush with a lovely view of the city. If you purchase a hotel/breakfast package they have an extensive and tasty buffet. The Kyoto Station is dramatic, with an open air grid design above, incorporating many shops and restaurants below.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Granvia Kyoto for 2 nights during Golden Week 2012. I had selected this hotel based on positive reviews on TripAdvisor and because of its convenient location, directly connected to Kyoto Station. Anytime you are ready to go somewhere, plenty taxis are lined up right outside the hotel.

Our rate included breakfast and the buffet at Le Temps was right up there with the best breakfast I have had in Japan. (I have lived here for 8 months and good American-style breakfast food is hard to come by.) The breakfast buffet has a huge variety of choices both American and Japanese style. Another nice thing about breakfast was that the tickets we were given to redeem for breakfast could be used for lunch if you didn't make it downstairs for breakfast.

The room was very comfortable and had lots of nice touches I hadn't expected. All the lights in the bedroom and bathroom can be dimmed. There is an alarm clock built into the wall beside the bed that is not so bright that it interferes with your ability to go to sleep. The thermostat allows you to adjust the temperature by half degree increments. The hotel room had a doorbell. In the closet was a pants pressing machine.

We are planning another trip to Kyoto next month and I am looking forward to another stay at the Granvia Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugmama-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 369 in Kyoto
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
547 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 369 in Kyoto
817 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 369 in Kyoto
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Property: Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing