We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
327
95
34
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
95
34
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaiseki dinnerpublic bathroom attendantone nightryokan experiencetraditional experiencetea servicetraditional breakfasttraditional bathtraditional ryokanmulti coursesukiyakirooms are largefuton bedjapanese cuisinewestern style hotellocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 482 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Everything about this place was perfect to me. Proximity to temples & the old shopping street that basically runs all the way from Kiyomizu to the ryokan...the traditional bath in the basement...the bath & shower in the room...the automated toilet...the staff...the in-room served breakfast...solid WiFi...everything! Absolutely recommended if you want a ryokan & can afford this one. Also, Yonemura...a chef's course restaurant meters from it...again, if you can afford it, a must!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Apart from the friendly Japanese staff that made it a point to greet you ( even down to the owner's daughter who personally greeted each room to ensure that you are having a good time), if you had been hopping around ryokans, then you would think the food served is probably .. average in terms of taste, but presentation wins overall ..
we stayed there for 3 days
http://ahballing.net/2014/02/06/kyoto-1-2-gion-hakata/

stay tuned on the blog for the next following days

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahballing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My family spent a night in Kyoto and we decided to try a Ryokan to feel the traditional japanese hotel style. Gion Hatanaka was a fantastic choice. The place is gorgeous, well decorated and well located in the Gion neighbourhood. The staff is very courteous and everything worked as planed. If possible, try the public bath. Very interesting place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcioG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was only in Kyoto for two days and one night and chose to stay at Gion Hatanaka. I had no regrets . it was most charming and the baths were beautiful . Service was outstanding and rooms were tastefully appointed. It is however, expensive .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Surreal. If words failed me and I had to sum up our experience at this breathtaking Ryokan in Kyoto with only one, that would be it.

We took a trip to Japan as a 30th birthday celebration and decided to spend one night at a traditional Ryokan in Kyoto. One night wasn't enough! The service and quality of everything we experienced there was out of this world. We decided on having the full Kaiseki dinner and a traditional Japanese breakfast (pictures included) as part of our stay. We also got to see Maiko who came in to perform a show (we didn't see the show, just got pictures with her as she left).

The entire experience at Gion Hatanaka felt like stepping into another world. The culture was so beautifully expressed in every aspect of the Inn...from the tatami mats to the kimonos and the smart toilets. It's truly a place everyone should experience!

*Please note that we actually traveled there in June of 2012, but I just got my Trip Advisor account and they don't have those months available for the post anymore so I put June 2013*

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews