We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gion Hatanaka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Sakanoue(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ryokan 
    Motonago(Kyoto)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Ryokan 
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Ryokan 
    Ryugin(Kyoto)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
      Reviews (406)
      Filter reviews
      406 results
      Traveler rating
      273
      83
      31
      14
      5
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      273
      83
      31
      14
      5
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewspublic bathkaiseki dinnerroom assistanttraditional experienceryokan experiencetraditional breakfasttraditional ryokantraditional bathtea servicemulti coursefuton mattressesspent one nightjapanese innexcellent ryokansukiyakiroom was largejapanese cuisine
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      226 - 231 of 406 reviews
      Reviewed January 20, 2014

      I was only in Kyoto for two days and one night and chose to stay at Gion Hatanaka. I had no regrets . it was most charming and the baths were beautiful . Service was outstanding and rooms were tastefully appointed. It is however, expensive .

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank IsabelBV
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed December 28, 2013

      Surreal. If words failed me and I had to sum up our experience at this breathtaking Ryokan in Kyoto with only one, that would be it.

      We took a trip to Japan as a 30th birthday celebration and decided to spend one night at a traditional Ryokan in Kyoto. One night wasn't enough! The service and quality of everything we experienced there was out of this world. We decided on having the full Kaiseki dinner and a traditional Japanese breakfast (pictures included) as part of our stay. We also got to see Maiko who came in to perform a show (we didn't see the show, just got pictures with her as she left).

      The entire experience at Gion Hatanaka felt like stepping into another world. The culture was so beautifully expressed in every aspect of the Inn...from the tatami mats to the kimonos and the smart toilets. It's truly a place everyone should experience!

      *Please note that we actually traveled there in June of 2012, but I just got my Trip Advisor account and they don't have those months available for the post anymore so I put June 2013*

      • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Melissa O
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed December 25, 2013

      We stayed at Gion Hatanaka last week for 4 days with my family.
      The service by the staff there was superb.
      We have morning breakfast included and Shimo-o san who attended to us was wonderful.
      Each morning she brought in tea for us to wake us up and 20 min later (afraid that we will not wake up), she will remind us again that the breakfast will be served in 10 min.
      the staff there is cheerful and ever ready to help.
      another incident was that we bought some cakes to be eaten as supper in the room.
      We requested for a knife to cut the cake.
      Not only did they provide us the knife but also plates and forks.
      Such thoughtfulness is rare these days.

      • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Semun H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

      Just 3mins walk from main building of hanakata to Gyugin in 石屏小路!Very histotical experience!Close to 八阪神社!Great Location!Its a hotel so luxury,delicate yet subtle!has the best restaurant in kyoto with exquisite fine dining experience!Chef will only use local best seasonal ingredients to cook for limited customers,very artistic yet VIP dining atmosphere!Great Jacuzzi and spacious toilet!comparable to any 5star hotel suites yet only 2/3 of the price!Remarkable!

      Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
      1  Thank Christine-228-W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed November 14, 2013

      The Ryokan is beautiful, the rooms were comfortable and the public bath was really good. Service was also really good. The Kaiseki meal and breakfast we had at the Ryokan were both excellent as well. The location is also, in my opinion, one of the best in Kyoto. Right in the middle of Gion, next to plenty of temples and shrines; good food, shopping and sightseeing all in one. Please note however that this Ryokan is quite expensive and its something that should be factored in if you're deciding on whether to stay here.

      • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank 555_Travel
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews