We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of Gion Hatanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Gion Hatanaka
Ranked #38 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The quality of this establishment is excellent! Nice with your own servant preparing breakfast and dinner at your chosen time. Good bath in the basement to rewind and cleanse. No wifi in room which underlines this to be a place where you calm down. Wifi in reception although. Very personal and calm with sitting area and view over the temple park. Short stroll to downtown Kyoto.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorDet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    62
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
99
122
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
440 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here with our 20 year old granddaughter, for whom this was the first trip to Japan, and this was a delightful way for her to experience the best of this gracious reminder of old Kyoto and its hospitality. Our room, all tatami, was spacious and beautifully appointed, and the ofuro (separate for men and women on the lowest level of the inn) was great! We had our traditional Japanese breakfast in the room on our second and last morning, served with great grace by our lovely attendant, but we dined out at night --- at places that were less expensive but excellent in their own right. For an old Kyoto experience in the traditional Gion area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Gion Hatanaka for 2 nights on the recommendation of a US-based friend who had stayed there a few years prior when he travelled to Kyoto.

When we made the reservation, we were taken aback by how expensive the ryokan was, but we were assured by our friend that the vast expense would be justified by the experience and the meal service. Overall, I'd agree that it was a reasonable value for the expense, but it's more than I would typically want to spend for accommodation so it's just more of a splurge, as even the cost of the room without room service was significantly greater than local 4-star hotels. The cost of the meal service was comparable to local high end restaurants.

When we arrived at Kyoto station, we showed the taxi driver the address of the ryokan and he shook his head as if he didn't know where to go, but when we said Gion Hatanaka, he nodded vigorously. Apparently this ryokan is extremely well known and everyone in the city knows about it.

We arrived about 20 minutes before checkin, but they were able to accommodate us early. I'm not sure they would have let us in if we had been even an hour early, though, as no other Japanese hotels allowed early check-in so we think it was quite an accomodation they made for us in this case.

I was surprised at how modern the facility was, given that it was billed as a "traditional ryokan", but I'm not complaining.

Pros: The ground floor room we stayed in was beautiful, large, and well-stocked with minibar, bathroom amenities, and traditional attire. We had a sunroom with a small table, 2 chairs, and minibar area which also doubled as our bathroom sink area. The closet had our bathhouse essentials, as well as our lounge wear for when we ate dinner in our room. The living room had a table and a couple chairs in the corner and our bed mats were in the middle of the floor. The mats get cleaned up during the day so that we can eat in our room.
Our room had A/C and the best way to maximize its efficiency is to keep all the various room doors closed to stop the air from escaping.
The bathroom was actually two separate rooms - in one small room was the toilet and a sink, in the other room was a private wooden bathtub and a shower station. The water pressure on the shower was fantastic. Toiletries were provided.
The public bathhouse was in the basement floor of the ryokan and was extremely beautiful. I spent only half an hour down there, but it was an awesome spa-like experience, complete with a giant picture window facing a garden area (not accessible to prying eyes, of course).
We signed up to have breakfast and dinner on one of our two nights at the ryokan. We knew we were signing up for an "authentic" Japanese meal experience and were prepared for some unusual dishes. What we received exceeded our expectations. The food was beautifully presented, deliciously prepared, and extremely diverse and authentic. We didn't walk away from the table hungry...or disappointed!
We were very conveniently located next to the Yasuka Shrine and within close walking distance of bus stops to other parts of town. The Gion district has lots of great shops to walk around and peruse.

Cons: The Wi-fi was available only in the lobby...and even then, it was limited. Of the two evenings we spent there, we couldn't get internet access from the lobby on one of those nights.
The floor beds were not as comfortable as regular beds of course, but after the first night, I didn't have any trouble sleeping on them. My husband did not sleep well either night, though. We did find the single pillow each of us got to be insufficient as well.

We enjoyed our stay at Gion Hatanaka and would recommend it to friends as a special short-stay experience but would not suggest they stay there long term in lieu of a regular hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tvnewseditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bidart, france
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Kyoto recently and were only able to spend 2 nights at Gion Hatanaka. We spent the first night at a different ryokan that billed itself as "high-end" and so we were able to benchmark the two. Hatanaka also came highly recommended from a friend from Tokyo and it didn't dissapoint. The food was spectacular as was the service. We were a famly of 4 and found the room spacious and very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sveytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our easter holiday in Osaka and Kyoto is one memorable trip! The place is so clean compare to other cities in Asia we have been to. The Japanese are very courteous, helpful (in spite of they cant speak English fluently, they will get out of their way to help especially in directions). Kyoto is a wonderful place to go, traces of olden japan is still there unlike Osaka, for those who would like to see world heritage sites, Kyoto is one place to go.

My only comment with Japan, is that its not a tourist friendly place! Why? The directions are in Nippongo and hardly any English translation. Their maps are neither friendly too. In spite of this, we will still make other trips to Japan!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seat 1C, Delta Airlines
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Was a bit skeptical because of relatively low rating. Had to choose this because little availability near Easter weekend and had a last-minute vacation in Japan. Was very glad this worked out.

Location is superb. Taxis knew how to get there. Can walk to Yasaka shrine, Kiyomizudera, Gion, Pontocho, and Shinjodorimachi (shopping center areas). Could also walk to Sanjusengendo if so inclined.

Room was very large, comfortable. Was in what I surmised to be the Gai-jin building (the main one with the elevator) as the Japanese guests were guided back towards other buildings. Not sure whether we missed anything from that, but my guess is the better English speaking attendants are in this building. Asumi-san was wonderful and had a good grasp of English in explaining food, procedure, timing. Room was spacious, well appointed, and the private bath was fairly modern which may not be a bad thing, unless you are looking for the 300-year old bathroom experience.

Arrive by 4; enjoy the afternoon service, the bath, and dinner. Unless you are superhuman or have been around more than a week, the jet lag will get to you by after dinner, but if you want, the park is alive at night (forget the name, next to yasaka shrine) and can stroll the gion area. I did not get to use the community bath and did not do the geisha show, so can not comment on that.

The food for both dinner and breakfast was superb, and the quantities were almost too much - very filling and very tasty. Unique, seasonal tastes, but nothing so obscure that you would feel uncomfortable.

Area is at the edge of the shop area on approach to Kiyomizudera, so you can enjoy that, but turn the corner and find some of the modern support you need. Lawsons, 7-11 etc. There is a post office one block over with an international ATM that the hotel was not aware of. It does close at 1730, but it is very convenient.

Some other reviews have found fault; I found these to be minor...yes it is a bit modern, and at times some of the furnishings looked worn. My only complaint - and it was minor - was the lack of support getting luggage into the building, as the approach to the hotel is a number of stairs upward.

Yes, it was expensive. But if you take into consideration the costs of having a kaiseki dinner, as well as a kaiseki style breakfast (or equivalent buffet breakfast scam in the major hotels), the net costs of lodging here is excellent and quite an experience. Would not be able to do it every day, but man what a thrill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kingofsp8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were recommended to this property by a friend from Japan who is very familiar with Kyoto and it did not disappoint. Our room had three sections to it,that could all be separately closed off, plus a very comfortable yet small bathroom. The larger of the rooms was set up as a living room and then converted in the evening for sleeping. The perfect minimalist decor and tatami were exactly what we wanted and our view from the 4th floor of a quiet stream was great. I loved the open bath and the experience of bathing in the traditional Japanese manner was incredibly relaxing. The bath house has a Zen garden and is spotlessly clean. all amenities are provided for shaving etc. as well as the proper clothing attire. There are even tradional robes provided for relaxation. The breakfast was excellent but only if you like Japanese fare which we do. The location is perfect and in close proximity to traditional Shrines and Temples as well as really good restaurants. For a truly traditional experience I highly reccomend this property. The individual service by women in traditional dress, who also spoke English in our case, was incredible. Thank You to the team at Gion Hatanaka

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor which was great as it gives some excellent views. Room 404 was our room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
548 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 369 in Kyoto
294 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#87 of 369 in Kyoto
156 reviews
Motonago
#9 of 369 in Kyoto
347 reviews
Maifukan
#36 of 369 in Kyoto
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gion Hatanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gion Hatanaka

Property: Gion Hatanaka
Address: Yasaka Jinjya Minamimon Mae Higashiyama ku, Kyoto 605-0074, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gion Hatanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gion Hatanaka is located in the hart of Gion, which is the anchent district of Maiko and Geiko (Geisha) flower town. It is one the the most well known district for its history and culture. 15 mins walking distance from world heratage Kiyomizu Temple and many others in just a brath of walk away.Hotel features traditional Japanese accommodations and a spacious public bath overlooking a zen garden. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious rooms at Gion Hatanaka feature large windows and a balcony. Room includes a flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a private bathroom with a wooden bathtub.The hotel has in-room meals (Breakfast/Dinner) with seasonal local dishes. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in their room, and with an advance reservation, the hotel arranges Japanese Geisha dance performances and Kyoto tours.We follow the very traditional methods, ingredients, and philosophy of Kyoto Kaiseki cusine. No compremize can be made with our preparation therefore, special menu with food restrcitions are not accepted. Shabu-Shabu, Sukiyaki, or hotpot dish can be prepared with a prior notice. Kyoto Station is a 15-minute drive away. Kawaramachi Train Station is a 10-minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Ikyu Corporation, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gion Hatanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gion Hatanaka Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing