We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for budget travel”
Review of Econo-Inn Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo-Inn Kyoto
Ranked #11 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is really good option for budget travelers. You have your private room with tiny but your own bathroom for the price of hostel! nice common kitchen. convinient location. I stayed alone and my single room was unexpectedly normal (even big for japanese standard), bigger than in some business hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikari-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Econo-Inn Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is located just 15 minutes away from Kyoto Station. 5 minutes if you take a city bus. Extremely close to the main shopping and restaurant area. Staff were friendly, helpful and patient to handle your request. I had a comfortable and nice stay in the hotel. Definitely will recommend this nice, friendly hotel with great price to other who would like to visit Kyoto and consider to stay in the hotel for my next visit to Kyoto.

Room Tip: If you carry with a lot of luggage, better take a bus ride from Kyoto Station to the hotel. The bus...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrotboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The place was clean and has a private bath. We had a nice and comfortable stay. The owners were friendly and always helpful whenever we needed to ask for directions or services. We tried walking to nishiki market and kiyomizudera temple from the hotel but I would recommend taking the bus instead. Its Hassle free and more convinient with a 1 day bus pass.
We bought breakfast from a grocery shop a few blocks away. Lots of reasonablely priced eating places too. They offer free coffee, tea and bread in the mornings. There is also a 24 laundry place nearby. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again if we come back to Kyoto.
It would be great if they can have WiFi on each room instead of just at the lobby.

Thank Correen R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my spring holidays in Japan. I found this place is small but clean and located in the center of Kyoto. I can walk to Gion and train station. The staffs are very helpful and patient to handle the guest. I asked the male staff on reception three times to set up the heater (the remote control is in Japanese while it was very cold the first night I arrived). He came and helped me every time I called and patiently explained to me how to use the remote control. The price is also very economic with good quality of service. The only downside is breakfast, but it is fine you can find some shops around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikacika_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not in the best location but fairly central this is a no-frills place. Wifi in lobby and basic breakfast included. Walkable to the main station, but better to saty closer to there and buy a bus/train pass for getting around as Kyoto's sights are widely scattered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a typical Japanese budget hotel. The clue is in the name.

The room we had was decent in size compared to other budget hotels we have stayed in in Japan. It was clean and tidy although the beds were a bit hard.

Unless you want to spend a lot of time in the room, the facilities here are fine. Also, they do a free basic breakfast downstairs.

The location is reasonable - about 20min walk to Nishiki market, Kiyomizudera and Gion and even less to Kyoto train station.

The staff were very helpful with sorting our luggage transfer onwards to Tokyo. Another service we would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mentaiko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

In short: cheap and worth to be considered for short day trips to kyoto, but not a good option for longer stays.

The hotel is cheap, but this describes the hotel best in just one word. the rooms do have the necessary facilities, but everything on the lower end of the scale.

Our main problem was the room size. We booked a double, but instead of a room with space for two, we got a single room with an extra bed. For the lady the missing of a wardrobe (or such alike) was the main downside, as she now had to live out of her suitcase.

The bath was so small that we could only shower one limb at a time. the other 3/4 were outside of the bath. (to give you the impression how small the bath was)

The staff was very helpful and did their utmost to assist us.

Room Tip: be small of size and do not have much luggage with you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#15 of 374 in Kyoto
347 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 374 in Kyoto
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 374 in Kyoto
2,133 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#102 of 374 in Kyoto
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo-Inn Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo-Inn Kyoto

Address: 67 Hiraicho, Kawaramachi Gojo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8118, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $54 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo-Inn Kyoto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo-Inn Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing