We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Econo-Inn Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo-Inn Kyoto
Ranked #10 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in a twin room at Econo-Inn Kyoto for 4 nights in late October 2012. I would highly recommend this place to budget conscientious travellers. We booked early so the price was so very reasonable that we were able to spend more on savoring the local cuisine and desserts. The room is small, or dorm-like, but clean and comfortable, though the bathroom is stamp-sized. Location wise, it is not the most desirable location if one insists on staying close to the major traffic hubs, but it is close enough to a bus stop which connects to major sightseeing places. Free coffee, tea, and wi-fi downstairs in the lobby.

This place is operated by a family so different family members take shift staffing the front desk. They are genuinely willing to help and accommodating, even though sometimes their English is not fluent. Our Air Canada flight was delayed for 3 hours so it would be well passed 11PM for us to check in so I contacted them by email before leaving Canada. (Not to mention we had to cancelled the domestic flight from Narita to Itami Airport) They were willing to accommodate our late arrival and advised us of some recommended traffic alternatives. We made it to the inn before 11PM and obviously they were waiting for us.

The inn is located in a quiet neighbourhood where a supermarket and a convenience store are both in walking distance. Kiyomizu Temple is just 25 minutes by foot. If you plan to go to Fushimi, a train station to Fushimi and Uji is just 5 minutes away. I would definitely stay here next time when I visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Econo-Inn Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 205 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Easy Bus ride to the hotel from the Kyoto train station. There are not too many restaurants or stores close by but we went everywhere using the bus with the daily bus pass. We did most of the Kyoto tourist sights with our bus pass and others with train and subway.

We had a room on high floor with balcony and can see the sun rise in the morning over the mountain in the distance. Room size is not bad but the bathroom is tiny. Tea and coffee available at the lobby. Wifi and PC also at the lobby.

Staff were friendly. We bought some cakes for the receptionist and she gave us Japanese sweet and post cards.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are clean and conveniently located between the town centre and the train station. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size (except the bathroom).
However, the staff speak next to no English so expect to make your own way round! The 4, 17 and 205 buses are the best way to get around.
The bathrooms are TINY and they rely on a extractor fan as there are no outside windows. We did on a couple of occasions get a terrible sewage smell and we had to use the bathroom downstairs to brush our teeth, etc. We complained about this and were given a can of air freshener!
A good budget hotel, but definitely a few sanitary issues!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZilzWilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for a week. Location central and walking distance to Gion distant. Room is not so small and clean with private toilet. The cost is very good.

Room Tip: Non-smokong rooms are so full. Book it early if you are non-smoker and confirm the date you go.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here after moving from a more expensive hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little plain. A very affordable hotel we enjoyed, possibly because it was smaller than most we have used. The hotel is near to the bus lines and Kyoto railway station. After absorbing the inspiring temples in Kyoto it was nice to come back here and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The location is great - walking distance to Kiyomizu Temple and Gion, two of the most famous attractions in Kyoto. It's also walking distance from Kyoto Station (15 minutes) and you can easily reach the "shopping center" in a 15/20 minutes walk. The room was clean and bigger than Tokyo`s ones, the staff friendly and helpful!!!! Free internet and tea and coffee facilities near the reception at any time. A special thanks to "mama-san", such a lovely person! Valentina and Mauro from Torino, Italy

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this little gem of a hotel in 2009 for a week. We are revisiting Kyoto in December this year 2010 and have re-booked Econo-Inn.
The room was very clean, the staff friendly and the free internet was a bonus. Having a refrigerator and tea and coffee facilities near the reception added to the experience. Met some great folk over coffee.
Close to most attractions either in walking distance or catch the bus at the door. A supermarket across the road was handy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#15 of 373 in Kyoto
347 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 373 in Kyoto
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 373 in Kyoto
2,133 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#94 of 373 in Kyoto
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo-Inn Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo-Inn Kyoto

Address: 67 Hiraicho, Kawaramachi Gojo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8118, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo-Inn Kyoto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo-Inn Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing