We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Priceline
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Tripadvisor$91
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
41
52
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
52
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyoto station small tv bus lines hot water would definitely stay here again minute walk curfew accommodation futon japan yukata
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 105 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Positive:
+ The location is perfect, really close from Kyoto Station;
+ Very polite and helpfull staff. The woman helped a lot explaining how to get to the main attractions;
+ The room is clean and
Negative:
- Curfew: you must hit the ryokan until 11PM;
- The bathroom is too small.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Affordable, spanking new, well maintained and right by kyoto station
need i say more
the place was new - well maintained
The rooms - good size and well decorated
Location - cant beat.. right in the middle - plenty of food and convenient bus stop right outside the ryokan
It is in a side street, so quiet at night :)

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A fake "ryokan" by every sense of the word. I chose to stay here when visiting with my wife instead of one of the magnificent guesthouses (e.g. Hana right next door, or especially K's which I LOVED) in order to have a Japanese style ryokan experience at budget price. What could be better right? As with anything in Japan, you'll soon discover that you get what you pay for... And if you want quality, expect to pay for quality. This place is not a ryokan in any sense of the word. They give you the opportunity to experience sleeping in a Japanese style hotel - small rooms with Japanese decor, tatami mats, tiny bathrooms, and even a cheap kimono to wear for the 10min that you'll actually spend around the facilities here, but at 2x the cost. So basically all the parts of a japanese hotel that most westerners actually hate, at elevated prices. A true ryokan is like a japanese spa... Hot springs, massages, top class meals delivered right to your room... Basically a place to go as a vacation in and of itself. Here are plenty of real ryokans in Kyoto, but all are well outside of the city limits. Many others similar to Kyoraku within the city will claim to offer this Japanese tradition, by essentially are catering to tourists who don't know any better and think this is what a real ryokan is like. We paid ¥11,000 per night not including breakfast, which was 2-3x what a guesthouse would have been (granted, a real ryokan would have been ¥30,000 range). If visiting Kyoto, don't bother with any place with the name "ryokan" in its title - you're not here to stay indoors all the time... There is so much to see and do that there's no point in wasting money to stay home (let alone one without ryokan treatment). Worst part of Kyoraku was the 11pm curfew... Meaning you cannot even go out to experience the extensive nightlife around Sanjo area! For this reason alone, a guesthouse/hostel would have been far preferable. As negative as I've been, this is not to say that all is bad here... The owner this sweet little old lady is incredibly nice and great, and does prepare a great breakfast (¥1000 per person extra) from local Kyoto goods. And the location is hard to beat (5min walk from Kyoto station). But for the price there are far better places you can stay with privacy (most guesthouses/hostels do have individual rooms you can book, many with private bathrooms as well).. And those where you could expect to sleep just as well given the paper thin walls at Kyoraku which allow you to hear every and anything. In summary - don't fall in the fake "ryokan" trap - save your money elsewhere and have an even better Kyoto experience. I'd say this place would be great for one purpose only - if you have a Japanese girlfriend whose family you are visiting (as was the case with 1 guest we met) - can't stay in a hostel if you're trying to impress them, need to front some cash, more "Japanese" authentic, etc.

I actually feel bad writing this review since the owner was such a nice lady...

Room tip: If you really want a ryokan experience, I'm afraid you'll have to pay for one... there's no such thing as a "budget ryokan". Either go splurge (which I don't know why you would do in Kyoto with so much to see/do), or save your money and stay elsewhere far cheaper.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Ryokan Kyoraku is a good value hotel, handy to the Kyoto Station. The lady who runs the establishment runs a tight ship and everything is spotlessly clean. You have to vacate your room throughout the day (from 9am to 3pm, I think) to allow the cleaning. The rooms are quite basic but we found the free wifi and coin operated washing machine and dryer very useful. There is a computer offering free internet access in a common area for those who require it.

Room tip: The rooms on the third floor have private bathrooms whereas those on the second floor have communal bathrooms.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Have been very pleasantly surprised with my stay at this Ryokan. The staff are very curtious going out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay. The Ryokan appears very new and is spotlessly clean. It is also very easily accessable from Kyoto station which in turn also provides easy access to the bus networks to access all parts of the Kyoto area. Being in this area also provides great access to all types of eateries. Would totally recommend this to others

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews