We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value business hotel, average location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #44 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed January 5, 2011

These were by far the smallest rooms I stayed in across Japan. We had booked a non-smoking room but it was unavailable for first night so we had to relocate the second evening.

The hotel is quite new and everything still looks new albeit basic, a true business hotel, clean and functionable, reception on first floor, no staff to help with bags, toiletries in reception, no security in lifts. Free internet was a plus. There is a coin laundry machine downstairs but it was always in use.

Location was ok – for sightseeing its fine as there is a bus stop right next to the hotel and takes you to Gion and the temples etc. But if that’s all you want it would be better to stay at Kyoto station. For food and shopping it was a far 15 mins from Mystays to Sanjo Dori and even further to Potocho for night dining. We would catch the bus to the end of Shijo Dori near Gion and then walk up 5 mins. There was nothing wrong with the hotel but I would probably not stay here again as a priority for us is to have places of interest in walking distance and would source a hotel closer to Sanjo and Teramachi e.g. the Hearton Hotel or closer - previously stayed at the Hearton Hotel, but we tried Mystays as the Hearton was very dated.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment except for the booking.
We are really sorry that you had to change the room.
But it seems like that you are please with staying with us.

As you told us, walking distance is to Sanjo is kind of far away.
But you can take a bus. The bus stop is nearby so you can take it very easily.
If so, you can enjoy Shijo, Sanjo aroud Kawaramachi area.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is a good hotel. I and a friend stayed there in two single rooms for 4 nights in early December. Things to note:
- No metro/rail stations close by. Closest one is more than 600 meters away.
- There is a bus station nearby. The bus is the way to do Kyoto, anyway. At least on weekdays.
- Clean and cozy rooms
- Local dining options questionable (did not try any).
- The English language skills of the reception staff are a little below average.
- Some rooms may get a bit too cold in the winter.
- The reception is on the first floor, and the lifts can go directly to the room floors without any kind of authentication (with a brief stop on the reception floor)
- The reception staff can be helpful. They helped us figure out the Kyoto bus system and the location of international ATMs.
- Check-in times are honored. Don't arrive early, or accept storing your luggage in their luggage room.
- Free internet connection is available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you noted the a lot of details of our hotel.
I think that this is so helpful for tourists who are travelling for the first time.
Now we are trying to improve our communication skill so
I hope that we will be better when you come back to Kyoto.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

If there are 2 things to describe this hotel, they would be: 1) the smallest room in the world and 2) it's nowhere near any of the major sites in Kyoto. Being a fairly medium sized individual myself, I still got very claustrophobic inside their hotel room. It's way too cramped. The bed already filled three quarters of the room. There's no wifi. There's a LAN for PC laptops, so if you're using Mac, forget it. The TV only shows Japanese programs and the aircon was not working. The location was also inconvenient. Though it was in downtown Kyoto, it is quite a walk from the nearest metro stop, and is far from all the major sites. Next time I am in Kyoto, I will definitely stay near the Kyoto station because it is where you can ride the buses that will take you to the sites that are outside the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dartagnanaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

We apologized that you felt uncomfortable with our hotel.
As you said, there is nowhere any major places.
But one thing I want to tell you is you can take a bus or subway very easily
so you can get famous sites in Kyoto, it takes about 10~15 minutes.

We are very sorry for your staying.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed at the Mystays for 4 nights in early December and needless to say I was thoroughly impressed. Check in was a breeze and the staff had a firm grasp of English which more than made up for my complete lack of Japanese. The room was cozy, exceptionally clean and very quiet which made for a relaxing night after a long day of temple sightseeing.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location. You will need to learn local bus routes otherwise it's a bit of a hike to Gion. The subway line is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allwet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased that you made a compliment.
The thing is that we are sorry for the bus systems.
But we have prepared a local bus schedule book.
I am really sorry that we did not show the book at the time.

When you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, please stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Very pleasant stay in this great find of a hotel.
As already said, free tea and coffee in the second floor reception area and internet too. Lots of shops around for any bits and pieces you might need.
Staff very helpful for all our requests and very handy for the bus stops around the city.
Enjoyed our 4 night stay and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are grateful that you are satisfied with our hotel.
The free coffee is so popular that everyone has got one before check-out.
How was your trip?
I hope that you enjoyed with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This hotel falls in the Japanese business hotel category, which means small but functional rooms and a good price. However within this category this hotel is as good as you'll ever find. It's pretty new, so the rooms and facilities have a fresh feel. The rooms themselves are surprisingly comfortable, and bigger than usual for a business hotel. There's a nice lobby with free coffee/tea, and a computer with internet you can use for free. Also on the first floor there's a good Japanese restaurant you can get a discounted breakfast at. The location isn't perfect, as you'll always have to take a bus/train to see the sights, but almost every Kyoto bus stops right outside the hotel so you can easily hop on there. This must be one of the best values in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
It seems that you are satisfied with our facilities.
It has been for only 4 years since we started so it is quite new.
Our restaurant which is called ''Tempu'' is nice.
You can have a traditional style breakfast
and the thing is you can choose two different types of breakfast.
You can enjoy fresh vegetables, fish and so on.

Please stay with us when you come back here.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights with my husband and 10-year old kid. Very convenient location to bus and train stations. Walking distance to Gion and Nijo. But then again, we like to walk. Very small rooms but that wasn't a problem for small Asians like us :) Lots of cheap eats around- Fresco, Lawsons, Family Mart. No frills, basic hotel for budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you like our hotel.
I agree that walking distance
but you could enjoy the streets, scenery and atmosphere in Kyoto.
There is a map which has got the information about restaurants that we recommend at the front desk so next time, please check it and go somewhere nice.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 379 in Kyoto
575 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#20 of 379 in Kyoto
344 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $55 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing