We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #44 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Hotel!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Couldn't believe how cheap this hotel was for what it is. Quick hint, the lobby in up a floor from when you walk in. Great, spacious rooms, my dad and I are big, and we had plenty of room to spread our bags out and move about. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Location is a bit of a hike from stations, but hardly an issue. Overall this was the best value hotel I found in my month in Japan. Would go back in a second.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liams511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear liams511


Thank you very much for staying with us.

You were really enjoyed staying with my hotel.
And that time we will be on sale.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    593
    176
    47
    21
See reviews for
298
487
141
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and booked 2 rooms next to each other as we are travelling as a family of 4, kids 11 and 14. We thought the hotel was good value, the location is on Shijo dori. There is no issue for us regarding being far from Kyoto Station, the subway is about 400 metres walk away, however, it is more convenient for everyday commuting to use buses which have stops almost outside the hotel to many tourist attractions. The hotel sells the day passes for 500 Y each (Adult) which is good value as one ride on the bus is 220 Y (Adult). You can walk to the shopping area in about 15 mins towards the Gion District. A good value walking tour is the Gion Night walking tour which is 1000 Y pp. No booking just turn up and it goes for 1 hr 40 mins. Wifi is available in the lobby however, ask them for wifi router to use in your room, this is free and was supplied to us. Lots of eateries close by for convenience, a great 24 hour Fresno supermarket is also next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear dcrv

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We expected that your trip is really enjoyed.

Our location is central kyoto,and nealy downtown,get to coce bus stop.
So guest can stay comfortable.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel based on previous reviews. We were very happy with the overall room, hotel, and staff. This is a hotel chain - we also stayed in their Osaka hotel (which was also brilliant).

Pros: the price (total of $100 AUD for 2 nights in Jan 2014), location (x2 bus stops nearby, near Shijo subway station, approximately a 15 minute walk to Kyoto Station, and a 10 minute walk to Shijo Kawaramachi which is great for shopping and restaurants ), customer service (helpful, English speaking staff), very clean, comfortable bed, humidifier (essential for a winter stay), and shampoo/conditioner/body wash/hair dryer/safe provided.

Cons: the pillows might take a bit of getting used to. We had a mixture of hard (a memory foam type) and soft (down type). They don't offer a free breakfast, but there is a McDonald's within a 5-10 minute walk. We weren't able to use the WIFI in our room which wasn't a huge deal for us, but we were told it could be accessed from the hotel lobby. Rooms are small, but this is normal for Japan.

Room Tip: If you're arriving after 10pm, be sure to contact the hotel to advise them of your arrival time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are glad that you liked our hotel.
I want to say thank you about your many coments.
We hope that your trip was good for you.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely


Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

All around great hotel, the only problem is that it's a long walk from Kyoto train station. You'd better take the subway from Kyoto train station to the nearest stop.

Once you're in Kyoto, it's best to get the bus pass to enjoy Kyoto!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yusiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
DEAR yusiye

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.

My location is far away from JR kyoto station.
It takes 40 min by foot.
Get on subway please.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at a standard twin and Delux twin.Both of them were cozy and had great view from the windows.
Free high speed internet in the room( there is a cable in the room,you can find it easily)
Free coffee and green tea flovered milk on 2nd floor
and a microwave is on 9th floor,lundry is on 1st floor.an
There is a 24h supermarket at next to the hotel and a lot busses lines on that street.

Room Tip: Recommend higher floor,and request the great vew,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are glad that you liked our hotel.
We hope that your trip was good for you.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during the new year of 2014.

the rate was great given the room and location. the location and laundry facility were very convenient, and the staff were helpful. overall it feels like the better 3-star hotels in the US (e.g., marriott courtyard, hilton garden inn) except the room was definitely much smaller. It's Japan so we didn't expect too much but if you have big luggage the room will feel fairly cramped.

there was a fresco supermarket and convenience stores right next to the hotel, which was great for cheap quick breakfast and late-night snacks.

Room Tip: we booked a "superior" queen room but the superior part is not the room size but the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backspin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear backspin18

Thank you very much for staying with us.

You stayed new year in japan, i guess you enjoyed and get experience.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

One word to describe this hotel is "location". It is very well located a few blocks from subway and train stations, in front of bus stops that take you to most parts of the city.
Close to markets, restaurants, convenience stores.
Room was great, they offer you 3 types of pillow but 3 horrible types. Might have been only me and my girlfriend, but none of us got a good night sleep with any of those pillows.
Any of the nights.
Other then that the room was excellent with a beautiful (quite far away) view of the Kiomizu Dera temple...specially at night.

Room Tip: Higher floor and you get a better view of the city! Above 11th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Did you enjoy stay with your girlfriend in Kyoto?

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Nahoko Konishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
City Center
HOTEL UNIZO Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Property: Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing