We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gladly MY STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #41 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is hands down the much more superior of the 2 hotels that we stayed, 2 nights each, in Kyoto. It is nicely situated on the relatively quiet side of Shijo-dori, with just about 10 minutes walk from Shijo-Kerasuma, that means turning left as you come out of the Shijo (Metro) Station via exit 2. The Fresco Store and Family Mart round the corner provide added convenience.
The cozy family-lounge-like lobby is on the second floor, manned by some very cheerful and helpful staff. Here WIFI is easily accessible and free Illy coffee and green tea latte are provided out of the vending machine at the corner by the lobby and various hygiene toiletries are conveniently available just beside the lift.
The room, though understandably not too spacious, is spotlessly clean and the beds absolutely comfortable. The air-conditioner and various equipments are in immaculate working condition, making it a real joy to even spend extra few minutes in the toilet!
We are glad to have made this choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithinThe4Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you liked staying with us.
We are centre-located in Kyoto city and quite good and easy to get to the subway and bus.
That means it is easy to hang around Kyoto city.

How was your trip?
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

On the face of it, MyStays Kyoto looks good. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet -- if small, in typical Japanese style. But I was irked by lack of wifi in the rooms. I had to venture to the lobby where the speed was dismal. Also, lack of coffee-making facilities in the room was incredibly annoying. I learned, upon checkout, that free coffee is dispensed in a hard-to-find alcove around the corner from the lobby. I was also vexed by the elevator, which automaticaly stopped at the lobby on the second floor even if no one was there to get on. The stay was relatively pricey. I would recommend shopping around. Would not return. Location not the greatest. Actually, Kyoto is a bit over-rated. I preferred nearby Nara.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are very sorry for unconfortable staying here.
but this is really well-located to go aroud the city and Nara or Osaka as well.

We hope that you are coming back and staying here at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

excellent hotel, what you see in the pictures is what you get; and the service is just fantastic people at the front desk is ready to help you in everything. The location is a plus near to everything, if you are not the walking type you have a bus stop and the subway station near. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you liked staying with us.
How was your trip going?
We hope that you had a lot of fun staying here.

If you have a chance to come back here, please come back to Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

For how cheap this hotel sells its rooms and its close location to the heart of Kyoto I would definitely stay here again. Room size I would consider large for Japanese standards and had all the basics that a 4 star hotel would carry with a 3 star price. if your coming from the subway station Shijo I would recommend taking a left after you leave the gate and take the last exit to the surface which should get you very close to the hotel.

This hotel is so new that even the veteran taxi drivers were surprised that is was there even after seeing the address. I would have to also add that being a hotel with beer vending machine is a plus as you don't see them as much in japan unless your in a back alley of the red light district. Didn't get to have any interaction with the staff except when I left my water bottle at check in the girl was nice enough to run to me and give it to me.

Ohh loved the memory foam pillows!

Room Tip: Be sure to turn on the heater next to the window or adjusting the thermostat makes no difference!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ckamc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We apprecaite that you were satisfied with the room and especially pillows.
Actually the pillows you liked is that you could buy at the reception.
We would like you to buy one and use it in your country.

We hope that everything here was alright and you had a great trip here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Kyoto.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mystays was just perfect for our needs when we stayed in Kyoto. If you arrive via train from Shijo Station simply leave via exit 2, turn left and walk down Shijo-Dori for 10 minutes or so. It is on the opposite side of the road to the station, you can't miss it!

Rooms were small but comfortable, bathroom had everything you could need. There is free Internet and FREE COFFEE in the lobby! There is also a bus stop about 100m away, walking back in the direction of the station, this gives you pretty good access to the rest of Kyoto. The famous Gion district isn't far, about 5 - 10 minutes on the bus and one night we decided to walk back, it was only half an hour or so and a very pleasant walk :)

I think the bet part about Mystays was the value for money. It was under 100 AUD per night - remarkable for such a clean, convenient and comfortable hotel. We would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brigitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
It seems that you were satisfied with the hotel.
Thank you very much for the direction that you mentioned.
It is just perfect!!
We have free coffee and Wi-Fi on the 2nd floor.
So you could enjoy the internet with the drink.

We do hope that you come back again.
We are looking forward to seeing here.

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in Kyoto while on honeymoon. We had previously stayed at another Mystays in Tokyo (Asakusabashi), and after that great experience, we knew that we'd have to stay in another when visiting Kyoto.

I want to say that this is a great hotel considering the low price, but it is actually a great hotel either way. It's incredibly clean, the staff is helpful, the location is a short walk to transit, and the feel of the hotel is very professional. The rooms are small, but perfect for the two of us. They provide you with everything you'd need in the room. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment and staying at Asakusabashi as well.
We appreciate that you were satisfied with us.
Was everything alright when you were staying here at MyStays Kyoto-Shijo?

I hope that you come back here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a smoking room (non-smoking rooms were all booked) for a great price booked through the hotel website. Check in was easy and although English is not spoken a great deal, there is always someone at the front desk with a good command of it.

The room was one of the larger ones we had and as there is air freshener in the room, we sprayed it all over and opened windows to air out the smell (doesn't really fade that much). The room is nicely decorated and bathrooms are quite large with a mirror that does not fog up (genius!) Amenities are on the tub but you can get extra items in the lobby along with DHC deep cleansing oil samples. There is free Lavazza espresso (!!!) and matcha latte (not at all my taste) but only free wifi in the lobby which is one of the downfalls of this hotel.

The location is quite good and about a 10 min walk to Shijo and about 20 mins to the more entertaining areas of Kyoto. There are bus stops close by that will take you to the main sites of Kyoto and if you're doing a day of sightseeing, you should get a day pass. There is a great supermarket 2 doors down that sell fresh fruit, vegetables and sashimi, as well as a family mart across the road.

I'm not sure if I would stay here again as it's a little far for walking from the centre and there is no wifi in the rooms but it was good value and the free coffee saved us money too. I wouldn't mind staying here if I wanted to take buses more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We appreciate that you liked the room.
But we are very sorry that we did not have SMOKING room for you.
Normally if we have enough room for changing, we can change your room to NON-SMOKING.
but we could not do it.
We have to apologize.

If you have a chance to come back here, we are happy to see you again at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo

Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 374 in Kyoto
544 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#25 of 374 in Kyoto
334 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $53 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing