We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #44 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo whilst in Japan. When looking for the best hotels we had three requirements 1. Must be in a central / safe location 2. Good Value $$ and Clean 3. Comfortable beds & pillows. If all of these boxes are ticked it didn't phase us if the rooms were tiny etc.

Hotel MyStays ticked all of these boxes and they even had awesome memory foam pillows! The room was surprisingly bigger than the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Japan and the air-conditioning worked extremely well. The hotel is also in close proximity to the train station and a 'Fresco' is only a few blocks away towards the station - here you will find fresh Japanese delights like, takyaki, tempura prawn, ready made Japanese meals as well as fresh fruit and other general items you'd find in a small supermarket.

We found a fantastic little dining spot along the same street as this hotel called, 'Yayoiken'. It was our first experience ordering and paying for our meals via a vending style machine. The waiter was extremely helpful and must have seen us having trouble ordering. He ushered us into a booth and gave us English menus and even took my Husband across and showed him how to operate the vending machine. The atmosphere at this little spot was great and the food was delicious.

I wouldn't recommend dining in the restaurant located on the ground floor of MyStays, we purchased a breakfast voucher from the hotel and discovered there were only two choices available, and there are nicer places if you are looking to have a traditional Japanese breakfast.

If you're looking for somewhere comfortable and clean to crash after a massive day of exploring the city sights then this is it.

Must Sees:

- Arashiyama Monkey Park and Bamboo Forest - It's extremely fun to hire a bicycle for approximately ¥1000 per day and ride everywhere!
- Spend a day and head to Hiroshima to view the Memorial and then to Miyajima Island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBahBahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We appreciate that you are satisfied with the room here.
As you mentioned, we are centre-located in Kyoto.
There are great bus systems and it is easy to get some famous places.
It does not take so long to get to Kiyomizu temple, Kinkaku temple or Ginkaku temple.
There are lot of restaurants which you could feel traditional atomsphere of Kyoto.
You can enjoy nice meal and drinks around here, we also have a map of the restaurants.
so We are sure that you enjoy Kyoto.

Thank you so much about your comment.
We appreciate that you liked us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotel Mystays Kyoto-Shijo Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay. Great location: near bus stop, Kyoto subway and 阪急大宮駅. The room is clean, well quipped, and quite spacious compared to the hotel rooms in Osaka. The staff is professional, welcoming and really try to find answers to all our questions regarding the tourist sites and routes. We especially love the little treat they offer--free coffee and tea during the day. Although the price is a little bit over our budget, but it's worth every penny and we will definitely stay here the next time we visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 224cw359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for the great comment.
We are really grad that you were satisfied with us.
One more thing we would like to mention is that our hotel is also close to Hankyu Karasuma station. This is exactly between Karasuma and Omiya station.
If you are aroud Kyoto station, you can also take bus which is No, 26 and get off Shijo Nishinotoin, if so, the hotel is very close. you do not have to walk from the station.

Thank you very much for staying with us.
Next time when you have a chance to come back here, we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Mystays in Kyoto for 4 nights and we enjoyed our stay. It is not the cheapest hotel you can find in Kyoto but it was worth it for a nice, comfy, clean and quiet room in the middle of the city. We stayed in a double room which was small, just enough room for two, with 2 small baggage, so try to be practical when travelling to Japan as there is no room anywhere for big luggages. Although the room was small, we were comfy, it was very quiet, the service was good and the staff were always helpful and nice.

We found the location very convenient, close to the subway and train station, buses and very easy access from anywhere; there are a lot of mini supermarkets and restaurants of all prices so you won't go hungry. Actually, we ate in a cheap but nice place named MAIDO OKINI KANKU-SHOKUDO which is like 3 min walking from the hotel (in the same side of the road, and walking towards the train station) they have lots of tasty japanese options for a very reasonable price :) we liked it!
Also it is very close from Gion where you can spend your nights in any of the many restaurants and bars, and walking distance from Karasuma dori, a huge shopping area.

So overall, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Kyoto.

The hotel is on Shijo Doi, so from Kyoto station take the subway Karasuma line to Shijo station, once there take the Exit No. 2 and you will exit to Shijo Dori. The hotel is 5 min walking from there, keep walking till you see this big hotel The Oaks, MYSTAYS is just opposite to it.

Last thing: there is a free coffee machine in the second floor!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
It seems that you enjoy staying at our hotel.
We are very sorry that you felt the room was small
but we have several types of the room so if you have a chance to come back here
We hope that you would try one of them.

Thank you very much for the information about around us.
This is so helpful for the tourists.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again so
please come back to Kyoto sometime.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

if u go there from osaka, take the hankyu line from umeda toward kawaramachi & get off at karasuma , no need to go to kyoto station ! don't miss the free lavazza coffee on the 1st floor ! location is good since it's in the heart of the city, walking distance for shopping area and some historic attractions , all kind of restaurant around the corner! hotel staff are friendly & willing to help(c0mpare to the oaska one)!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you are satisfied with us.
The free coffee that you liked is very popular for everyone
After check in or out you can grab a cup of one and enjoy it.

Anyway we appreciate you stayed here.
We hope that you come back and stay here again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very well located, easy to arrive from train station, near metro and five minutes away walking from the shopping area. There are two minimarts at the corner. It is very clean and modern, very confortable. Beds are very good. And all is new. But do not have wifi. The room is ok, normal size taking into account that You are in japan. The staff is friendly but not all of them are English speakers. They do not have baby cot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are grareful that you are satisfied with our hotel.
We have been just only for 5 years since started.
We are sorry for Wi-Fi but we are having it from next month.
so you can use the free internet at the lobby.

Next time when you come back to Japan, we hope that you stay here again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shiojo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just stayed at this motel for 3 nights during a 2 week holiday to Japan and would highly recommend this eastablishment. Good clean rooms and and good value for money breakfast. Staff were every helpful. I have been travelling to Japan for over ten years and would happily stay here again on my next trip.
The only down side was the dinners were no where near the value for money of the breakfasts so I would recommend eating elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genkijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
It seems that you are satisfied with us.
How was your trip?

We hope that you come back here one day staying with us again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's a pity they don't have wifi because it's a modern hotel in all senses, reception was kind and helpful and the room very comfortable and big enough. Well-located near the market, shops, restaurants, buses and Shijo underground station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are very sorry for Wi-Fi.
Now, we are trying to get Wi-Fi for the lobby which is located on the 2nd floor.
So then the customer can use free internet here.
but it seems that you are satisfied with us.
Thank you very much for a good comment.

if you have any chance to come back here , we would like you to stay here again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 379 in Kyoto
574 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#26 of 379 in Kyoto
344 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $54 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing