We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect stay”
Review of Shiraume

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shiraume
Ranked #1 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Staying at this ryokan made even the most luxurious hotels pale in comparison. Tomoko-san and her team delivers such incredibly friendly, warm, professional service which I find hard pressed to think of anywhere else that does it as well.

The kaiseki dinner was spectacularly presented. Tomoko-san even offered explanations of each dish and some historical background. The effort that was put into each dish was obvious, almost too pretty to eat.

The room was very comfortable and pleasantly decorated, overlooking a peaceful stream. The futons were even more comfortable than any of the hotels we stayed on the trip, and the heated tatami mats kept the room cozy.

If we find ourselves in Kyoto again, we might just stay here for the entire duration!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelvinTKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I loved this place. The people are what make this place so special. Tomoko is so incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. Her staff are all professional and courteous. Our room was fantastic. We overlooked the stream out front and watched the heron come by each day. Shiraume is in a great location with plenty of restaurants and shopping near by. Easy access to transportation as well. We also had an impeccably prepared dinner at Shiraume and our daily breakfast was excellent. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xian_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My boyfriend and Istayed 2 nights in this ryokan back in August 2013 and we loved every second of it. Although pricey, it is 100% worth and I would recommend to book early. From booking to when we left, the service provided by Tomoko and her team was impeccable.

Tomoko helped us to book bikes for one of the days and told us so much about Kyoto. She provided us with a map and drew routes for us to take. The rooms themselves were super comfortable and we slept so well. We decided to have dinner both nights here and we have no regrets - the food and service were faultless. Tomoko really knows how to treat the guests and we were amazed at how knowledgeable she is and she has mastered the art of conversation. We chose kaiseiki dinner and kobe beef dinner and both were served in our rooms. It was truly a fantastic experience. Each dinner is about 8-12 courses. And for our second night dinner, we even had a surprise of the biggest oysters I have ever seen - I literally had to hold it with two hands. Tomoko told us that their fisherman had a lucky catch that morning!

All the rooms are marvellous and any room you book, you cannot go wrong. If you are looking for a ryokan in Kyoto, do not hesitate to book this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter and I "splurged" to stay at this amazing Royokan. The service was amazing, the owner a delight and the food incredible! And the setting was perfect. We learned so much about Kyoto. The highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank row8on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Shiraume for one night in October 2013 and had an AMAZING experience. What impressed us the most was the level of warmth and hospitality that we received from Tomoko and Satoko.
To echo what has been said about the service, it truly begins even before you arrive. Tomoko is very good about responding to emails right away and answering any questions.
When we arrived Satoko greeted us (she is such a sweet heart!) and showed us to our gorgeous room and gave us a tour of all the features so that we could make ourselves at home. We felt so welcomed right from the start. The room itself was amazing and had a view of the stream and plum and willow trees.
Tomoko and her staff are really class acts. Tomoko presented our dinner and breakfast and included a detailed explanation of everything she served us plus told us some interesting stories and facts about Kyoto's customs, history, etc.in relation to the food. Each meal was delicious, beautiful, and was a really an experience! Also, watching Tomoko and Satoko move around so elegantly in their kimono was so neat to watch, too :-)
I could really go on and on about this place and the staff, but I will wrap up by saying that we plan on returning some day to experience this amazing gem of a ryokan again, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a truly memorable stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalgallivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Even before our stay has commenced, Ms Tomoko san have been greatly helpful and patient with arranging our stay, dietary requirements as well as assisting in making a reservation for us at a two michelin star restaurant on a day where we are staying at a different hotel. Looking forward to the upcoming accomodation, food, and excellent service.in one week's time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days the end of August and it was phenomenal. Everyone should experience such service at least once. Tomoko and her staff pay attention to every detail and you are well cared for. Breakfast every morning was such a treat, they have the bread baked that morning, every day. Tomoko is very knowledgeable and helpful with any questions you may have. We would defintely stay here again and recommend others to do so, its a life experience you will not regret.

Room Tip: we had an end unit room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiraume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiraume

Address: Shirakawa-hotori, Shinbashi-dori, Gionmachi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Shiraume Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing