We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly excellent but a few small issues”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the b kobe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b kobe
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent but a few small issues”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As stated by others, location is excellent, value is excellent (for Japan) and rooms are large by Japanese hotel standards. Book a twin room for extra space. The beds are more like two double size so you can sleep in one and use the other for luggage if needed. Note there is no closet, just three coat hangers on the wall. I would stay here again. However, I agree with comments about bizarre Italian / Japanese breakfast in the downstairs restaurant which is not very appetising. We had daily commitments so didn't have time to go out and find alternatives but B Kobe is located near hundreds of small eating places so suggest you go out for breakfast. Other issue is the reception desk is up an escalator from street level, no elevator that we could find. So if you have lots of luggage prepare to struggle on the narrow escalator up and down. The reception lobby is quite small so if a tour group or just a group of friends is gathering there, it seems crowded. I must mention the toilet in the bathroom. It was a very high tech unit which raised and lowered the lid automatically (gentlemen push a button to raise the seat) and flushed when you moved two steps away from the toilet and the seat is constantly heated. Wonderful! There is the usual for Japan inbuilt bidet and 'rear wash' function but the fifteen or more buttons are all labelled in Japanese! If you are adventurous, press buttons at random and see what you get! Seriously though the hotel could provide an English translation stuck to the wall above the controls.

Room Tip: The Twin rooms are largest and each bed is close to double size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesMumandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear JacquesMunand

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.
We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    194
    71
    14
    6
See reviews for
74
91
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel was about 100m walk from Sannomiya subway west exit, quite easy to find. When we got there, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay an extra night at the end, and the staff arranged this without any issue. The staff went out of their way to help us find what we needed to.

The room had two double beds, and the bathroom was a very good size. The toilet was pretty cool as well, never seen anything like it. Was quite entertaining to say the least. Each time we walked into the bathroom, the toilet lid opened automatically, so we didn't have to touch the seat.

The hotel was very clean as well, I would recommend this place to anyone who is staying in Kobe. If I was to go back to Kobe, I would stay here again. Also, the Thai restaurant downstairs was very yummy. But skip breakfast at the Italian place, we ate there the first morning, and we didn't return. Was a bit of a shame, but all in all, this hotel was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room at the back if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley_maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear hayley_maree,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location, the service you received from our staff and our facilities. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to take the ropeway which takes you to a beautiful mountaintop garden and a wonderful view of Kobe.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed october 2013, very nice hotel, very clean and close to city centre, restaurants and shopping area. Tea, coffee in room, refrigerator, free wifi. Comfy beds and pillows.
Large, hi-tech bathrooms. Plenty of free, high quality toletries. Free coffe in lobby, english speaking staff.
breakfast was "italian buffet", a disaster, skip it unless included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyage74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear voyage74,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and facilities in your room. Indeed we are located right in the middle of the action in Kobe and close to great shopping and many interesting temples.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrimine Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a deluxe twin room, quite spacious, beds are 2 double size beds! Bathroom quite large! Aircon very good. We are on non-smoking floor so no smoking smell. Staff have been very helpful. Location is excellent, close to subways and station . We caught the city loop bus, without any worries,

Room Tip: Ask for twin deluxe rooms non smoking floor, 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe. We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff.

As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yomitan-son, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here. Very clean rooms, not too small and a great location. The staff is great and will work very easily with a non-Japanese speaker. This thing is making me write 200 characters so ill just waste the characters like this. I have no idea why my review has to be 200 characters, maybe I just want to give a brief review. This place is really good, good location and a clean, nicely sized room. I would say that's long enough for a review.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wyatt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Wyatt L,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to go down to the port and enjoy a short cruise to see the city from the sea.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed here in August 2013 and it is an Ok budget hotel. It is fairly close to the subway, about a five minute walk. The room was a reasonable size, but we always book twin so that we have extra space. Large television. I did like the adjustable night light. Tea and coffee available in room. there was free coffee available in their small lounge area, but we never got to try as it was always busy.
Plenty of cheap restaurants at the door, plus Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: We always book a twin room when traveling in Japan. I do not like having beds against the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunder2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Downunder2207,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and facilities in your room. Indeed we are located right in the middle of the action in Kobe and close to great shopping and many interesting temples.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After reading reviews that this is a business hotel, I booked myself for 1 month stay. Just for your info, this is not my 1st tip to Japan. When I entered the building, I could smell a kind of old building or rather lack of ventilation. Anyway, I got myself the largest room that they had, however, to my disappointment, this was more like a budget hotel than a business hotel. The breakfast tasted terrible and I chose McDonald's instead. Most of all the mattress was terribly hard so anyone who hates hard bed should skipped this hotel.

The complimentary freshly brewed coffee at the lobby was great! Service staff from the counter were friendly and helpful. They did speak quite good English. Bathroom was bigger compared to other budget hotels. Location is convenient, however, once sunset, you could see female & male hookers on the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chocolatepot,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our location and found value in the price you paid and the service you received from our staff. As you noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Monterey Kobe
#24 of 118 in Kobe
399 reviews
Motomachi Station
Kobe Motomachi Tokyu REI Hotel
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 118 in Kobe
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Sannomiya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kobe Sannomiya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b kobe

Property: the b kobe
Address: 2-11-5 Shimoyamatedori, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0011, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b kobe 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Kobe Hotel Kobe
The b Hotel Kobe
b Hotel Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing