We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Kobe Beef Steak Ishida Kitanozaka
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Very expensive meal but was actually worth it. Go for lunch as the prices are better then. A5 Beef is the specialty and it is unlike any other beef that there is. It has a tender buttery taste with subtle beef flavors - this is not your traditional Angus T-Bone. Cooked Teppanyaki style with great care and preparation. Be sure to splurge the extra 500¥ (around US$5) for the fried rice. They use the scrap pieces from the main cut of beef in the rice and it was as memorable as the steak itself. Our cook was relatively fluent in English and very helpful in suggesting how to eat the meat along with the various salt, garlic chips, etc.
Very close to one of the main JR train stations.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

My whole family loved the meal, its truly A5 kobe beef that melts when it meets the mouth. The pace of the meal is regulated by the private chefs and veggies are served between beefs. Finishes with amazing yuzu sorbet and tea. 10star highly recommanded.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 607rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

The meal itself was delicious but service was the worst I've ever had in my life which is the reason for 1/5. McDonald's has better service than this. When I was seated at 12:20 pm I was NOT told that I had a time limit until 1 pm. By the time my lunch was done cooking it was 12:40 pm and after eating for ten minutes my dessert which was ice cream was served and I was told I had to leave within 10 minutes. Coffee was not offered to go. For a $130 Canadian lunch being ushered out and told to hurry up numerous times within 40 minutes is completely unacceptable. NO apologies were made and waitress with very poor English attempted to explain that she had told me this. I will not be returning and I will make sure none of my friends or family will ever visit this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
9  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

This restaurant has ruined beef for me. I can no longer eat steak that isn't A5 quality with superb marbling without feeling like a peasant. Each bite of beef post-Ishida Kitanozaka has felt empty and soulless and makes me realize that I am the hollow shell of the man I once was prior to eating at Ishida. This is how good Ishida is.

On a more serious note, the food and service were excellent. We ordered the set meal that came with foie gras and A5 BMS8~9 beef. We also paid an extra ¥500 for Kobe beef fried rice, which was worth it.

Our meal was cooked in front of us. Our chef was a total pro and was mesmerizing to watch. He was in the zone, but quite friendly interacting with us. He even had us hold up the platter of beef and took a picture of us.

The non-beef food was insanely good, yet the steak itself was so phenomenal it made the rest of the food taste like dirt in comparison. The steak was served with various dips, including rock salt and mustard.

It was so good that we decided to order more beef a la carte. This time around, we got the highest quality cut, which was A5 BMS10~12. I thought the first cut was amazing, but there was a noticeable increase in quality between the two. I've never experienced that before, and may never will again.

Ishida cleared out my cash reserves, but I would gladly go in debt for this food. It is also very conveniently located near Kobe station and staff speak decent English. We were able to swing by for dinner on our way back to Osaka from an afternoon in Himeji. I highly recommend Ishida for your Kobe beef experience!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Steak to die for! Not a lot more that you can say about this place other than, if you want to try how every steak should taste, be here at one point of your life! Best steak I have ever had.
The price can be expensive, however, you will never eat a steak like this again. 100% worth it. I would love to work here!!!! Please leave a comment if you visit as this may convince my wife to go back!!!

Date of visit: May 2016
4  Thank grahamb526
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Beef Steak Ishida Kitanozaka also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.