We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to reflect”

Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.15*
and up
Kobe Walking Tour Including Sake Tasting at Hakutsuru Sake Brewery Museum from...
Ranked #22 of 385 things to do in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Time to reflect”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This area is pleasantly and tastefully arranged with interesting facts and things to do.I always find myself reflecting on that day in1995 and feeling for all those affected. Yet it is not a disturbing reflection and my own feelings and interpretation are mine and I feel you have to be there to feel it in whatever way it affects you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    72
    34
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth a trip to Kobe just to see this”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I included Kobe in my Japanese itinerary as I was expecting quite an elaborate memorial park describing the events of the 1995 earthquake, what happened to the city/district and how Kobe recovered. However this small memorial only describes how the port was affected and has a small area (approx. 50 metres x 10 metres) of original destruction to show how the port frontage dropped as a result of the earthquake. I combined the Kobe trip with visits to the top of Kobe Port Tower, looking thru the Motomachidori mall which had lots interesting shops, browsing through Kobe Chinatown (lots of small Chinese food, handicraft and souvenir vendors and shops as well as looking at the Mosaic Centre which offered great harbour views and harbourside dining - quite reminiscent of the San Francisco wharf area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXAggieLady
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“True Historical Monument”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Like the Hiroshima Museum, this memorial park is a great place to quietly reflect on the Kobe earthquake. I feel that a lot of Americans cannot understand the devastation until you see the pictures and then see the reconstruction afterwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“touching”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

well the memorial park is really well done, because it makes you think to the horrible event. The monument itself is just like any memorial, but there is some untouched ruins just close,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyage74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Epilogue to a disaster...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Honestly speaking, I was glad that I paid a visit to this place while in Kobe.
Memorial Park dedicated to all victims of 1995 Great Hanshin Earthquake symbolically reminded me of how frail our lives could be at times.
Port of Kobe and vast majority of residential areas destroyed in seconds, despite the great suffering, were fortunately rebuilt within a short period of time - this part of original pier was saved in it's natural state so people visiting it are able to realize of what it was like and how terrible this tragedy actually was.
For those interested in the aftermath, there're some short TV clips and written info available in English within the complex allowing you to find out in details all numbers and statistics of the disaster.
Further on you can continue walking towards Naka Terminal / Pier, Kobe Tower and Maritime Museum situated nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bougainville30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park also viewed

Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 
Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing