We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touching”

Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$142.43*
and up
Kobe Walking Tour Including Sake Tasting at Hakutsuru Sake Brewery Museum from...
Ranked #23 of 383 things to do in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“touching”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

well the memorial park is really well done, because it makes you think to the horrible event. The monument itself is just like any memorial, but there is some untouched ruins just close,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyage74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    67
    32
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Epilogue to a disaster...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Honestly speaking, I was glad that I paid a visit to this place while in Kobe.
Memorial Park dedicated to all victims of 1995 Great Hanshin Earthquake symbolically reminded me of how frail our lives could be at times.
Port of Kobe and vast majority of residential areas destroyed in seconds, despite the great suffering, were fortunately rebuilt within a short period of time - this part of original pier was saved in it's natural state so people visiting it are able to realize of what it was like and how terrible this tragedy actually was.
For those interested in the aftermath, there're some short TV clips and written info available in English within the complex allowing you to find out in details all numbers and statistics of the disaster.
Further on you can continue walking towards Naka Terminal / Pier, Kobe Tower and Maritime Museum situated nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bougainville30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Moving memorial”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a must see if you are in Kobe. I did not understand the magnitude of the disaster until I saw the memorial and heard our taxi guide's story. This memorial moved me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kanikani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a really good place to stroll.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After the disaster of earthquake, Japanese guys rebuilt their city and now you won't be able to see this place once sufferinged it. And you can sit here enjoying the sunset or bum around the port then adventure to find some interesting stuffs there. There are many stores there. It took me almost four hours there including window shopping hahah

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
189 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A sobering reminder”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Walking along the port of Kobe and admiring the views, you would never have guessed that the area is prone to seismic activity and had encountered a major natural disaster in the form of the great Hanshin earthquake in 1995.

The memorial at Meriken park is an old section of the port which was ruined by the earthquake and it has been kept in that state ever since. It serves as a sobering reminder to everyone just how destructive earthquakes can be.

Additionally, it also portrays the resilience of the Japanese people. The rebuilt waterfront now extends further into the sea and the area is a great place for a stroll.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AccidentalTourist69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park also viewed

Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Port of Kobe Earthquake Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing