We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$67
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Expedia.com
$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Trip.com
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Hotels.com$72
CheapTickets$72
getaroom.com$207
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
467
496
130
33
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
467
496
130
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferris wheel cruise ship great view free shuttle nice hotel harbour side stayed here for one night corner room night view takes about minutes convenience store buffet dinner top floor hotel is located lots of restaurants balcony japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2019

After getting off the train at Sannomiya station, get to the ground level to the M-int building. Kobe Meriden Park Hotel provides a free shuttle to the hotel from here. Arriving at the hotel, we were too early but the greeters at the door welcome us warmly and offered to keep our luggage while we go for a walk. On our return some 3 hours later, the reception upgraded our room and we had one that faced the bay with a nice balcony. That night, on the 14th floor, not only did we get a great view of the Bay Area, Merken Park, the Mosiac but was treated to a great light show over the water on the carousel while sitting at the balcony. Buffet lunch at the hotel was also good and the bonus would be a discount if you are a senior. Our stay at Hotel Kobe Meriden Oriental was sensational and at a very decent price. If anyone should be in Kobe, do consider them but do ask for a room that overlook the bay as it is a has a great view if you do not wish to have a long walk to catch all these sights.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ryjc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Thank you very much for staying at the KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL.

We are delighted to have you with us, and hope you were pleased with our facilities and services.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
It is our earnest desire to make your stay at the hotel totally comfortable and worthwhile.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We thank you once again for your coming and hope you will long remember with happy memories your visit to our hotel.

We are all greatly looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

The hotel located at waterfront with many commercial piers around. Noise may become an issue.
Hotel has a great outside look, but showing aging in many places inside. Hotel services are great in general. U may see line up for taxi during peak hours.

Date of stay: June 2019
3  Thank Rollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL.

We apologize for your disappointment about the room and restaurant etc.
We will share your valuable review with our team and discuss the renovation for near future.
We hope you have a lovely day and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

I recently stayed here for a business meeting. The hotel is lacking major amenities for a hotel of its size. They could not offer me an iron, or an ironing board. There was no business center and when I asked to print something they charged me. The gym does not open until 10 AM and the gym was very bad. Additionally, they charge you a $1600 yen fee. The restaurant food was terrible. The food was overpriced. The staff was unwilling to make any accommodations to improve the experience. The room is very small.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Poyntman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at our hotel.

We are disappointed to hear we failed to meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for these inconveniences that disrupted your overall experience.

We had a more than 170 guests for the business meeting and most of them needed the iron and iron board at the same time.
We deliver them as much as possible upon requests however we run out the stock at a couple of times.
We apologize for your inconvenience to those who could not get an iron set when they needed it. We will discuss to increase our stock for the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback as this only improves our operations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so that we may restore your faith in our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night prior to a cruise.
Flew into KIX then took the high speed ferry over to Kobe airport and taxi from airport to hotel (taxi was over $30).
Hotel extremely welcoming with bell boys to take your luggage at the entrance.
Check-in smooth, polite and friendly (as expected).
Bell boy took us up to our room and showed us how to get onto wi-fi etc.
Room was HUGE by Japanese standards with very large balcony and views out over the harbor.
Nice bathroom with separate tub and shower ... PLUS the wonderful toilets that are standard in Japan.
Other than Starbucks there’s really no dining actually close by. Walked about 15 minutes to dining/shopping district) We actually ate in China Town( go figure - we were in Japan and ate chinese)
Breakfast at the Meriken Starbucks which is just a few steps away from the hotel ... so cannot comment in the hotel buffet breakfast.
Wish the hotel was a little closer to dining options other than that, I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at this hotel
Pictures are of from and of our large balcony

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank AmandaR193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2019

Thank you very much for staying at the KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL.

We are delighted to have you with us, and hope you were pleased with our facilities and services.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
It is our earnest desire to make your stay at the hotel totally comfortable and worthwhile.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.

You can enjoy Japanese, Western and Chinese food for breakfast in a buffet style in the restaurant “Santa Monica no Kaze”, looking over Kobe Harbor through the windows. We also recommend that you should try the open terrace seats (only open the in summer), as you can feel the sea breeze. Please try it in the future.

We thank you once again for your coming and hope you will long remember with happy memories your visit to our hotel.

We are all greatly looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

This is a good sized room for Japan. We had a balcony with a view of the water, 2 double beds and a desk and the room was not cramped at all. Because of the balcony and the hotel’s position fronting the water, guests can hear some of the noise of the ships in the morning, but I didn’t mind it.

As with most Japanese hotels, there are not that many TV channels. The room came with bottled water, Dolce Gusto coffee pods, nice bath toiletries (face foam soap, bath wash, shampoo and conditioner). The pillows were a bit hard.

We stayed here a night before heading to Arima Onsen. The KIX airport bus drops off guests near Mint Bldg at Sannomiya Station, Which is a 5 min walk to where the hotel shuttle stop is (Bay 6). There is a free shuttle between Sannomiya and the hotel that goes 2x an hour.

The 7-Eleven is a 15 min walk away, while the mall complex with Uniqlo, H&M, etc is a nice 20 min walk. A bridgeway connects the hotel to Meriken Park.

Overall, a good stay here.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank NoreenL768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Thank you for staying at KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay.
I am very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them.
This feedback is very valuable to us, as we all strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and to ensure that we create lifetime memories for our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews