We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel overall”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at Kobe in November 2012 to attend a conference. Good hotel nice rooms. Good location. Grt view. Only problem was availability of veg food as such in Kobe. Beautiful city and good market at sannomiya station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rchchandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    395
    97
    22
    8
See reviews for
276
287
63
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's in a fantastic position and has a great view over the harbour. The view is a bit industrial looking but gorgeous at night. The shape of the hotel is unique as it's supposed to resemble a ship and it does give the feel of being on the water as it is surrounded on 3 sides by water. The breakfast buffet is the best I've had anywhere. Fresh, delicious and heaps of choices. The bars and restaurants up the top are pricey but the food is excellent. Being Japanese, everything works like clockwork and they try to fix any problems quickly. We had wifi problems which apparently are caused by the shape of the hotel and they fixed it as soon as we complained. They have a free shuttle bus to downtown Kobe that runs exactly on time and that proved very useful. Tip: At busy times for the shuttle bus, give yourself plenty of time to line up or you won't get on and you'll have to wait for the next bus. The heating was on and it wasn't needed to be as high. However it had to heat the open areas too. We couldn't regulate our own heat in the room so had have the door open to cool the room, which was annoying. Too hot to sleep with the door closed, too noisy with it open. The aircon in summer is controlled in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Situated out on the bay, with free bus shuttle downtown (Shopping!) has great view of waterfront. Dinner and breakfast Buffett are very good, but pricey if you can't get a voucher. Trouble with air conditioning, was not resolved, but friendly staff provided fan. To be fair, it was a heat wave. Quite frankly, the interior and services are not of quality I expected from viewing the outside. It is a nice building, pretty location, but isolated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's famous for its building and its location because it's located on the port of Kobe. But it's really hilarious. Normally you pay a lot and you can enjoy all the facilities such as swimming pool, fitness centre etc. But here you have to pay extra money to access it! And the service of reception is really terrible. If you wanna find a really good five stars resort, this place is not your best choice. Next time I won't choose to stay here for sure! I'm in its room now 10
Aug 2013

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location on the waterfront right across from the ferris wheel. The cost of accommodation was competitive but eating in the hotel was very expensive. Staff friendly and polite but not too well geared-up to cater for anybody other than Japanese guests. Lacked amenities like vending machines etc. Rooms very clean and spacious. Big choice of buffet meals but food quite bland.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor overlooking the ferris wheel for marvellous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My son,8years,and I stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of a two week trip to Japan in April.We both enjoyed our stay and found that the staff were more than helpful and Friendly.
The swimming pool was wonderful clean, spacious and best of all my son was able to enter unlike many hotels in Japan which have age restrictions on entry to pools.The room was a good size, v.clean and comfy beds made for a good nights sleep.From the hotel it is possible to take a harbour cruise aboard a nice sized cruise ship.my son really enjoyed this and a special mention must go to the ever so helpful concierge who went out of her way to organise this trip at the last minute.Breakfast was more than adequate in fact the selection was just super and even my son ate a good wholesome meal.Access is not a problem as there is a courtesy bus and this is quite frequent.If you don't mind a walk then the subway or train stations are within reach as are many choices of restaurant.
All in all this hotel is really family friendly and I will certainly be calling again on my next visit to Kobe.Kobe itself has so much to see and do and is so peaceful that Next time I hope to spend a bit more time there as it is so relaxed

Room Tip: The hotel is so designed that all rooms have a good view and the balcony is an added Plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I love the location surrounded by sea. So excepted the same service though, At the restaurant on the 3rd floor, might be at the lunch crowded time so not high quality serve. Cos I'd like to be asked by staffs to pour another cup of coffee or something before I requested. But at restaurants and Bar on the top floor that treats and view were nice...specially night view was wonderful from there.Also their room's balcony didn't have enough space to enjoy the air outside.

Room Tip: The value of the hotel is the location, so it's up to your favorite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kei_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 117 in Kobe
1,436 reviews
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 117 in Kobe
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 117 in Kobe
438 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel

Property: Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Address: 5-6 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0042, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban resort hotel surrounded by the sea; on site restaurant featuring French & Asian cuisine; theatres & shopping within 1 mile. Parking: 11 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing