We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
409
430
113
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
430
113
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shipferris wheelshuttle busgreat viewhuge balconysannomiya stationnice hotelbuffet breakfast was excellentsoda machinelooked prettyjapan timesnice harboursea viewrooftop barstayed here for one nightwalk minutesbottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 985 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Feels like your inside a cruise, especially when your looking out the balcony. A little bit less accessible but they offer free shuttle to Sammoniya Station where most of the shopping and dining places are located. Hotel room is large but breakfast is expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon_avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotels in Kobe were fully booked during our stay in Kobe and this was pretty much the last room I managed to find. Even more, when I contacted the hotel directly, they managed to find a room for us regardless all the booking sites said the hotel had no more rooms left! So I didn't have any expectations but it was better than I thought. I had a room with ocean view, even with a balcony and chairs which was refreshing in the morning to open the window. The room itself was small but had all the amenities you can think of, and the bed was good to sleep. People were nice there, but I helped a lady with the concierge as there were some english problems.
Breakfast was good too, with various types of breakfasts offered (even curry, which were in fact popular).
The location was ok. 10 minutes walk to get to Daimaru / Chinatown. It would have been great if they had also shuttle buses dropping by at Motomachi, but there weren't, so we basically walked everyday. The Meriken park was a bit scary to walk at night, so we walked the opposite side of the street. Both sides were not quite buggy / wheelchair friendly with always steps located somewhere from the hotel to the first junction.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welikegoodhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a very spacious room (for Japanese standard) with nice harbour view on the 12th floor. Breakfast and dinner buffet are worth the money, employees are very friendly. I would recommend this hotel without any restraint.
A practical hint: If you arrive at Kobe airport, take the Portliner Train to Sannomyia station. Exit the east gate to the bus station. At platform 8 take the courtesy bus to the Oriental hotel, which runs every 20 minutes.
If you arrive at Osaka KIX airport, take the high speed ferry crossing the bay to Kobe airport. There take the Portliner and proceed as above mentioned.

Room Tip: 12th floor and above with harbour view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank atalantaBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed three nights each over two weeks (total of six nights). The first time, I got a room upgrade. The second time, a standard twin room. The upgrade wasn't a big deal except for the size of the bathroom. The noise factor that comes from the bay cruiser moored across the harbor is greater in the standard room. My suggestion is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper or annoyed by noise. The hotel could install better sound-proofing glass on the sliding doors.

The service from staff at all levels is great, food is good, the view of the harbor is wonderful. Kobe is just a great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT on the "Mosaic" side of the harbor. Book through internet travel service for better rates than through the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was here while ago and want to come back someday. The location giving you a great view of the harbor. I come from Bali island where leisure is our daily attitude, so bit uncomfortable when I'm not allowed to where casual attire into the restaurant. That was the only thing I complaint about. Shopping and dining area are at walking distance, or you might use the free shuttle bus which always on schedule.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TW121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews