We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Warm Onsen”
Review of Tocen Goshoboh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tocen Goshoboh
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was there prior to my business activities in Kobe to relax and experience Japanese Ryokan. I wasn't disappointed as I was treated to great Japanese hospitality!
Upon entering the establishment you are required to change into indoor slippers and the staff kept our shoes. We were surprised that they can remember what shoes we wore and immediately brought them out each when we wanted to leave the place. The staff were always smiling and friendly throughout, and one of them spoke simple English so that helped a lot.
The rooms were very clean and welcoming, but the toilet bowl and washing basin were located in separate part of the room so that's a small hassle. When we returned from dinner the staff had already set up our mattresses on the futon so it was ready to sleep on. The onsen was clean and not crowded, so that is a big plus. Now we know why they do charge a fairly high room rates there.
For dinner, we were served a elaborate Japanese set meal and was very well prepared and filling. However please be warned that the dinner came at a price of about USD100 per person! Breakfast was also a pleasing affair with delicate Japanese food and that cost about USD35 per person. One of the highlights of the meals was that after each meal, you will be brought to a nice separate tea room for tea/coffee. The books, old piano, antique displays just make that tea room an endearing place to be in, and relaxingly slip away my cuppa.
The hotel was even nice enough to arrange a small passenger van to send us down to our next destination in downtown Kobe at no charge at all!
Overall this place may be fairly pricey, but it does offer fantastic experience of Japanese hospitality in a Ryokan. You will almost immediately feel at home in it. I would certainly return if I had enough budget!
P.S. Do look out for a special vehicle "floor rotator" at it's porch to help vehicles get back out into the main road without having to make a multiple-point turn. Unique!

Room Tip: The place does not have elevator, so if you are not traveling light please request for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jais_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This onsen town is one of the oldest in Japan it is popular since the 12 century and saw important guest amongst who the warlord Yoshimitzu. Unfortunately this town didn't keep up with other onsen towns around Japan. To me is a bit out of date. This particular riokan is not renovated recently but nice, they have a nice western style tea room at the back. the rooms are traditional style and clean, the bathroom is ok. The gold onsen is nice and although one enters from different ways women and man can meet in the pool which is divided by a small stone wall so if one is going with his wife an still have a conversation while bathing. Downside was that the food wasn't excellent to me, but in most onsen isn't and the Kobe beef wasn't that spectacular either. They have a girl somellier and a great selection of wines doh! Problem is that after dinner we wanted to have a couple of drinks but they told us that the bar was closed! Heeee? At9 pm? Then we realised that the whole town was closed!!! Relaxing but hey.... It's 9 pm only. In any case the onsen stays open all night so if u can't drink at least go and have a bath! I recon over all this is a nice place but more suitable for elderly people or families with kids. In this occasion I was with friends not with my family therefore I was left a little disappointed that they didn't keep the bar open for paying guests until a more reasonable time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butchHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We = family with two small children 3 and 5, did a wonderful daytrip from Kobe to Arima onsen, one of the oldest onsen places in Japan. The trip to it was part of the experience, as it was via Mt Rokko.
From Kobe Sannomiya station, we took the Hankyu Kobe line to Rokko station (7 min), then continued with Kobe city bus number 16 (10 min) to the base station of Rokko cable car.
Cable car is an old fashioned style cable car, taking you up to Rokko mountain.
There a circular bus (the blue one, not the green one), takes you (10 min) to the starting point of the Rokko Arima ropeway. This is a nice ropeway in a cabin over the mountain to Arima village.
From there, somehow by coincidence, were taken by Arima taxi service (free) to the city center (2 min). The city is a nice old spa town, with a few narrow classic streets. Of course a lot of shops too.

The Tosen Goshobo ryokan is a beautiful classic style ryokan, (see other reviews), where non-staying guests can enjoy the onsen too between 11h and 18h. (1575 Y). The kin-sen bath is unisex bathing, meaning that dressing rooms and washing area are separated for men and women. The actual kin-sen baths are also separated, however, they are next to each other, with some rocks in between, so you men and women can talk/see each other. When we were there, we and our children were alone, so the children went from one bath to the other (stepping over the rocks).
After the bathing one can enjoy free tea by the tea dispenser in the tatami area just outside the dressing room. Very nice.
In the lobby, there are some nice relaxing area with two kotatsu tables.

Friendly staff, I guess Japanese speaking only, but surely they will do their best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JackoV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Arima claims to be the oldest onsen in Japan, and the early Showa, slightly western accented, Tosen Goshobo ryokan is certainly one of the most elegant of all ryokan. If you book directly the price is rather high, but sometimes it's possible to get a good deal through an agency.

The same company have a rather simpler (and cheaper) inn available in the next street, called Hana Koyado, as well as a luxurious (and more expensive) VIP villa and garden style establishment called the Gosho Bessho.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I visited Arima a few years ago but stayed in another onsen hotel. Before I left Arima back then I took a visit to Goshobo because of the classic building and was impressed by the facility and decoration inside. The hotel staff was nice enough to let us tour around the hotel escorted by their staff.

Last year I visited Arima again and decided to stay at Goshobo, and it was a smart choice, despite of its high price tag.

Upon check in, it was done in the restaurant where guests are served with Japanese snacks and tea. The room itself has not much to mention, but the hotel has a library where snakcs and drinks are served for free. It is a fantastic place to hang around, and a solarium with beautiful view of outside. We had a teppanyaki dinner served on the counter.

The onsen is a "gold" version of water. And male and demale onsen located just next to one another so the opposite sex can talk in the onsen. The fence, or wall bewteen the 2 sex in the onsen is just waist high.

The hotel has a rest area at the front lobby where guests can take a rest while waiting for the car. The hotel has an annex building next to the main building.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is a very, very classy hotel, and a steal at what we ended up paying (Y22,000) on a last minute impulse purchase. It really is beautiful, and the epitome of understated luxury - the sort of place that you'd expect to find in somewhere like Zermatt. Beautiful onsen, very stylish rooms, and perfect location. Our only problem was that we arrived at 7pm on Sunday without having booked supper and were told we should have reserved - no problem as lots of places nearby but it was a shame as I'm sure the food would have been lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ゆったりん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Arima Onsen
Kosenkaku
Kosenkaku
#34 of 117 in Kobe
128 reviews
Arima Onsen
Taketoritei Maruyama
Taketoritei Maruyama
#16 of 117 in Kobe
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arima Onsen
Hyoe Koyokaku
Hyoe Koyokaku
#19 of 117 in Kobe
266 reviews
Arima Onsen
Arima Grand Hotel
Arima Grand Hotel
#12 of 117 in Kobe
348 reviews
Arima Onsen
Arima Onsen Gekkoen Yugetsusanso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tocen Goshoboh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tocen Goshoboh

Address: 858 Arimacho, Kita-ku, Kobe 651-1401, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe > Arima Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kobe
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kobe
Price Range: $247 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tocen Goshoboh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goshobo was founded 800 years ago and is the oldest inn in the spa town of Arima, an exceptional spot with astonishing brick-coloured waters. «Gosho», which means «imperial palace», is an echo of the long, feudal era when the establishment was reserved for the nobility. It has maintained its renown and high quality. The region's excellent Kobe beef is also served here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ikyu Corporation, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tocen Goshoboh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosen Goshobo Hotel Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing