We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view from the hilltop !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great view from the hilltop !”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Location: It is located on the hilltop. There is bridge to access to the train station. It is also a short walking distance to the city.
Room: Spacious considering the standard at Japan.
Wireless: The internet is chargeable. However, there is a free wireless network at lobby.
Cleanliness: It is a clean.
Staff: They are very helpful and fluent in English.

Room Tip: Request a room that are facing the city and the sea. Great view especially in the morning and eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaiKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the great views of Kobe and surrounding areas, your large and clean room as well as the excellent service provided by our associates. Please be advised that we have shared your positive comments to encourage our employees to further improve their service skills.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    512
    177
    31
    13
See reviews for
239
217
147
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was in KOBE for a weekend and was worried about the place..ANA Crowne plaza is located on the corner of the city.. the main train station Shin Kobe is 5 minutes walkiing from the hotel. The metro stop is just below the hotel...
And meat lovers will love it.. KOBE BEEF.... ask for the best restaurants at the concierge...
Well trained staff and excellent rooms.... city is easily accessible...

Room Tip: ask for the room on the city side.. at night its an awesome view of the whole KOBE city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the convenient access to the Shinkobe- and the underground stations as well as the quality service extended by our concierge team. We hope that our daily breakfast and our popular Sleep Advantage program have made you refreshed and have given your more energy during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you want to relive a part of history when traveling in Japan, visit the old port city of Kobe and say in the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Not only it is located within walking distance of the bullet train station ( you save getting a taxi ) ,but you can also walk to the restored, historical foreign settlement in Kitano-cho. Visiting this part of Kobe sets you back into the last century and gives you a wonderful impression how the foreigners lived in one of the first port cities opened to foreigners over 100 years ago.
Afterwards relax and spend the night at the Crowne Plaza and enjoy their fine service and hospitality.You wil not regret this stop.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the business floors with access to the lounge on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minatoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the convenient access to the Shinkobe station as well as the sightseeing of the nostalgic Kitano area.

As you already mentioned our Club Floor stay is recommendable due to the free access to the Club Lounge where we offer complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea as well as hors d’oeuvres during the cocktail hours offering attentive staff service and great views of Kobe.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had 1 night in Kobe before boarding a cruise ship. In researching Kobe hotels, I found them to be terribly expensive perhaps more so than anywhere else we stayed while in Japan. This is hotel is conveniently located a short walk to Shin Kobe station which made things easy for us on arrival. Staff are very efficient and willing to help. We had a club room but it was oh, so tiny and as someone else said, tired. Perhaps it was meant to prepare us for a tiny cabin on a ship it was that small! We enjoyed cocktails in the club room and dinner in the main restaurant as well as breakfast next morning was very pleasant. Had fabulous view of Kobe from our high floor room. If I was to return to Kobe I’d look to find a hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the actual size of the room. We have discussed your feedback into detail with our front office team who may have identified your requirements more carefully in regards to which room would have been more suitable to you and could have shown you some alternative options during your check-in process. It is good to hear however that otherwise you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the excellent staff service, quality of F&B as well as the great views of Kobe and surrounding areas.

We hope that despite this unfortunate incident we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Actually located in Shin Kobe it is just steps away from train station and a short hop into the heart of the city. You might find yourself overwhelmed by the attentive staff - they literally run to greet you. The only problem I found was that when asked a question they seldom had the answer and had to go ask someone else - wasting time.
Check out the grocery store + in the basement - comes in quite handy.
Be prepared to pay extra for just about everything - ice, the spa, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the convenient access to the Shinkobe station as well as the proximity to the city center.

It’s encouraging to hear that the attentiveness of our staff has impressed you and please be advised that I have discussed your feedback in regards to the overall product knowledge of some of our team members into further detail with our Training Manager in order to find out on how we could further improve on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

There are two great attributes of this hotel: first, the proximity to Shin-Kobe station and its Shinkansen line; second, the view from upper floors. The hotel staff are helpful and speak English. The lobby is quite impressive but the rooms fall short. The common areas, restaurants, etc seem to be well maintained, but the rooms feel very worn and outdated. We took a break from Japanese food one night and ate at the Italian restaurant on the 35th floor; the food and service were great. Hotel lobby offers free wi-fi. Good, comfortable stay but don't expect luxury in the rooms.

Room Tip: Be mindful of room dimensions as you book. Some rooms are quite small and would be cramped for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0ldenState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the convenient access to the Shinkobe- and the underground stations as well as the great views of Kobe and surrounding areas. However please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the condition of your guest room and which feedback we will carefully review. We are pleased to inform you that the implementation of Wi-Fi at all of our guest rooms is scheduled to be completed by the end of September 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good location at Shin-Kobe station, not too far from central Kobe. Great views of the city. The room was large, but the bathroom quite small. The breakfast buffet was excellent with both Japanese and western food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANA_CrownePlaza_Kobe, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us especially due to the convenient access to the Shinkobe- and the underground stations as well as the great views of Kobe and surrounding areas. We hope that our breakfast and the Sleep Advantage program have made you refreshed and have given your more energy.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

George Koumendakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe
Address: 1-1 Kitanocho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0002, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kobe
#7 Business Hotel in Kobe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kobe
#7 Family Hotel in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe 4*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Mt. Rokko, the ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe is a well-known local landmark. With a commanding view of Kobe Port, the hotel is prefect for savoring the unique charms of one of Japan’s most international cities. Directly accessible from the nearby Shinkansen and subway line, the hotel is also a two-minute train ride from the heart of Kobe. With such excellent transportation access, the hotel is an ideal base for all of your business and leisure needs. To meet a variety of needs, along with 593 guest rooms, the hotel is equipped with 23 banquet rooms, 9 restaurants and bars, Angsana Spa, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Crowne Plaza Kobe Hotel Kobe
Kobe Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing