We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, but worth a splurge”
Review of Hotel Okura Kobe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Kobe
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Hiroshima
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but worth a splurge”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed there with my wife for 1 night as part of a weekend break. A stylish hotel that offered many diversions during our brief stay. Our room wasn't cheap and that is certainly the biggest disadvantage of any stay, we paid 16,000 yen for the 1 night. The room was comfortable with a pleasant view of the Merikin Park / harbour. It is a gentle 10 minute stroll into downtown Kobe from the hotel. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. I used the gym whilst I was there and that was resonably priced and perfectly adequate, although if you are a runner there is quite a nice loop to be run around the park. We will stay there again on our next visit to Kobe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    573
    159
    37
    23
See reviews for
510
328
143
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Okay, Okura is a major hotel brand in Japan, so I was looking forward to a nice experience... wrong!
We weren't impressed. Everything seemed to be outdated, the hotel was a bit far from the train stations (they do offer shuttle bus), and the worst part was, that there may have been some kind of bugs in the bed (the husband got some itches from sleeping in it).

There are good hotels in Kobe, so I don't think I will give Okura another try.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernigerode, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Hotel Okura Kobe is a luxury hotel, overlooking the water on Kobe harborfront, directly next to Port Tower, the symbol of Kobe. The hotel facilities at Hotel Okura Kobe include an extensive Health Club as well as a shopping arcade located on the Lobby level, a wedding chapel, photo studio, dressing room and beauty salon on the 3rd floor, and a children's day care center on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastmutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This had been billed as the top rated place in my Lonely Planet guidebook. I was well pleased with my stay - the biggest fault was that there was a significant accumulation of dust under the bed. ( This was one of the few times during my 6 weeks in Japan that I actually checked this. ) The lobby area is rather blah and conventional looking. I was up on the 27th floor and enjoyhed the view of Kobe, which is quite a nice city. A shuttle is provided from the hotel to the train stations for a good portion of the day. The highlight of my stay there was at the teppanyaki restaurant where I ordered Kobe beef. It was delicious, indeed, but by the time I was through with dinner, having ordered more wine than was necessary, it turned out to be my most expensive restaurant meal in history - I am embarrassed to say what it totalled. Serive in all respects was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We met our cruise at this mediocre hotel. The room was clean and sufficient. Reminded me of a chain motel. The restaurant was rather expensive for very run of the mill fare. We ordered swordfish which was not THE swordfish we would have expected, but, rather, a "mystery fish". Oh, well, one night, no big deal!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skyybluebunny
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

I was fortunately to have been upgraded to a suite room. Great view of harborland and meriken park.

At check in, the front desk had mentioned that they had upgraded me to a larger room. It was a very suttle jesture that really made my trip so much more better.

Bed was very comfortable. Towels very fluffy. Overall room was very clean.

Shower seemed a bit out dated in old. Overall I think it is a great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyybluebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we had chosen it because of the good reviews on tripadvisor.

Honestly I didn't check any other places in Kobe because it's the best rated hotel in Kobe and the price on the Internet was good.

The only negative things which made me rating this hotel with 4 points:

- the hotel is somehow plain and conventional, we didnt see any younger (<40) guests during our stay
- the location of the hotel is a little bit outside the center (Sannomiya station) and near the harbor, you have to take a taxi to get to the hotel (about 8 USD). The area is ok, although the coast is totally overbuild

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 118 in Kobe
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Kobe

Property: Hotel Okura Kobe
Address: 2-1 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-8560, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okura Kobe 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing