We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of Hotel Okura Kobe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Kobe
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
250 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel is nicely located in the harbour area and within 5 minutes walk from Minatomotomachi station. Pedestrian access to the hotel is poor and not that obvious - certainly nowhere near as grand as the vehicle access! There is a shuttle bus service between the hotel and Sannomiya and also Shin-Kobe (weekends only).

Nevertheless once inside you will find the usual high standard you would expect from Okura, staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was a good size with all the essentials and plenty of space for clothes, cases etc - something a lot of Japanese hotels fail to provide. We also had good views over harbourland, Port Tower etc. We stayed room only but like a lot of reviewers have said the breakfast queue did appear long and slow.

Overall a good stay in a nice hotel run by helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastMinuteLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELOKURAKOBE, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Okura Kobe, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Per your comments, we are really glad that you are satisfied with our service during your stay.
However, I am deeply sorry to hear that you had to wait for breakfast.
We always try our best to serve each guest smoothly but sometimes we have to ask our guests to wait for a little while especially on weekends.
Nonetheless, we sincerely apologize for your wait in the morning.
If you ever have another opportunity to visit Kobe, we hope to see you there in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    566
    154
    37
    22
See reviews for
503
322
140
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The location is good. The staff are extremely helpful and polite as per most Japanese hotels.
The hotel is a bit dated but that is OK. Some things really annoyed me:
1. Having to wait for breakfast. I turned up at 730 and there were many guests waiting and I was asked to wait too. Since when does a modern hotel not have the capability to serve all its guests?
When I got in there half the tables were empty.The service was slow (I only then had time for coffee, having waited) I would grade the breakfast as average.
2. No Wifi :really? To their credit I was given a router for my room but in a technologically advanced country why not have wifi? Are they going to lend all guests a router?
3. Having to pay $40 to use the fitness centre as a hotel guest.The gym appeared empty.
How many modern hotels treat their guests in this way?
Would not stay there next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awl-16225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELOKURAKOBE, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Okura Kobe, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are really sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied with your stay. We always try to do our best to keep our guests happy.
We apologize any inconvenience you had in the morning for breakfast. We suppose that there are enough staff members to serve our guests at a restaurant, however there are needs for us to work on providing better service.
About Internet connection, we are actually on the process of setting the wifi rooters on the entire guest room floors. It should be done completely by the end of this summer.
Also, we have passed your valuable comments about our facility to the manager at health club.
We sincerely take your valuable concerns to our considerations.
Again, I am sorry to hear that this has been a difficult experience for you. Also, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel Okura and we had a wonderful time and the hotel has great views of Kobe harbour! The check in and bell person were wonderful! The check out was quick and efficient. If we were going to stay in Kobe we would think about staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haruo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Back again for a second visit and stayed a week in April this time. Everything is still as wonderful as we remembered. Great location, water view and friendly staff. Shuttle service was definitely a huge plus. Breakfast was good. Enjoyed every moment of it. Thank you for wonderful memories.

Room Tip: A room with the view of the port will add on the wow factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you want to feel like royalty a visit to this Japanese hotel is a must. Ultra polite staff that can't do enough to help you and the hotel was spotlessly clean.
Our room overlooked the city and had a good view especially at night with the mountains in the background. The breakfast although a little on the pricey side at $25 per head, was very good with lots of choices.
There is a pool available in the health club but I was not going to pay their prices.
The local City Tour bus stops outside the Hotel and a day pass was approx. $6.50.
There is a short walk to The Mosaic Centre with plenty of eating variations and a shopping mall across the street.
We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- Great view towards the harbour area
- Close to Merikan park
- Friendly staffs
- Music in bathroom woooot!

Cons: hotel is a bit far from the "downtown area" which is Sannomiya station. Even though there is free shuttle service,it's every 20 mins or so.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Okura chain is known as one of the top hotel brands in Japan and you can expect the top quality of service. This one in Kobe is no exeption.

Staff are well educated. Service is very attentive & quick. Restaurants are excellent.

We stayed in a deluxe double room that is very clean & spacious compared to Japanese standard.

Location can be a problem. It stands on a bay and the view is great, but it is far from stations & major tourist attractions.

Bathroom is clean but dated. No wifi in the room.

Room rates seem to be reasonable given the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 117 in Kobe
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 117 in Kobe
438 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Kobe

Property: Hotel Okura Kobe
Address: 2-1 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-8560, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okura Kobe 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Okura Kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing