We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise - highly recommend this hotel”
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oriental Hotel
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Needed to spend a few days in Kobe on business and booked at this hotel with little expectations. To say I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement.

Everything about this hotel screams high quality and great service. The staff are unobtrusive but extremely helpful; the rooms are luxuriously appointed with every luxury feature you would expect; and the dining and bar options are brilliant in both wide range of choices and excellent quality.

Next time, I may go back to Kobe just to be pampered at the hotel!

Room Tip: Based on the room I had and the rooms of my work colleagues, I doubt there are any bad rooms in this...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Peter K,

We are most flattered by your high praise of our establishment and are boasting with pride from your comment! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasing to hear that everything and everyone, met your needs and we would most definitely love to have you back with us again, just to be pampered.

Our 3 restaurants, bar and cafe constantly update their menus with each season's freshest ingredients so the next time you visit, there should be even more to choose from.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we sincerely ook forward to having the chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Oriental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed their for a business conference - great rooms, staff, food. The manager and his team deserve much Kudos for the attention to detail.

My first trip to Japan and a great experience I would gladly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Kobe

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Zillon,

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and goes a long way not only for helping other guests who are looking to stay in Kobe, but towards our staff and rewarding them for a job well done!

Your comments have humbled us and we hope we have the chance to serve you once again.

We await your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is my second review as my boyfriend and myself stayed there again this April and as usual it did not disappoint.
The staff remembered us from the previous year and I just cannot fault this establishment. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to anyone who are staying in Kobe.
Thank you to all Oriental staff for making once again our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MandarinYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear MandarinYB,

We are truly moved to hear that we made your experience in Kobe a memorable not only once, but twice! And also that you took the time to share your experiences with us and other guests looking for a similar experience in Kobe.

We will do our very best to make sure your 3rd visit and onwards will be just as great if not better!

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

it was one of the best hotels i ever stay in, we went there for the company conference everyone was happy from this trip, fantastic service very nice people nice location if i will visit JAPAN again sure i will be there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talaldamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Talaldamen,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your kind words and are glad that your stay with us was a memorable one.

We deeply pride ourselves on our service and knowing that your and your company enjoyed themselves puts a smile on our faces as well.

We hope that you will have another chance to visit Japan in the future and will be here waiting to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

After long time experience the hospitality at its best, and thumbs up to entire staff of Oriental Hotel to take care of their guest in day and night tireless. Would like to stay again and again given an opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side has good view on higher floors. One side Hill view and another side sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baskar-Posiflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Baskar-Posiflex,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
I was a pleasure to have the chance to meet you and your team while in Kobe.
We're so pleased to hear that your experience was one of the best in your life.

Our doors are always open to you and your wonderful team.
We very much look forward to greeting and serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed for conference in for 4 nights May14. The service in the hotel is superb from the reception, F&B and housekeeping. The room is beautiful, with good amenities and very well maintained. Though the wooden blinds didn't block out 100% of the 4 am morning light. The main dining room served the most wonderful breakfast with healthy choices such as Soy Pan Cakes which are made to order. The conference lunches and dinners were a bit repetitive in the dishes though they were very good. I love the desserts but 2 days of the same desserts is bit disappointing. The shopping centres are all within walking distance and there are many good cafes and restaurants around. As I had a late flight and went back to the hotel after a day out hoping to get a shower at the gym before heading to the airport but was told they don't have one. May be the hotel can do something about that. There is also no pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear VivianTai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, were much appreciative of the feedback.

We're glad to hear that your overall experience was a great and enjoyable one.
We love that you mentioned our breakfast, we are very careful to make sure that all guests have a great start to the day.

We will sincerely take your thoughts into consideration. If theres anything that we can do to better ourselves, we most certainly will take all necessary steps towards those visions.

We hope to welcome you back to Oriental Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

It was one of the rarest experience that i have ever had, the hospitality by the hotel was just amazing. And being an Vegetarian they really took good care of me.

i would strong recommend that this is the right place to stay.

Room Tip: Just feel free to ask the front desk for whatever help you need
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh Rao U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental_Hotel_Kobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Dinesh Rao U,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are so glad that we were able to give you one of the rarest experiences of your life!
It truly warms our hearts to hear that.

Were thrilled that we met your needs and expectations and are most appreciative of your recommendation!

Please give the rest of your team our sincerest thanks and I hope to see you all again in the future.

Best Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Okura Kobe
#3 of 118 in Kobe
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 118 in Kobe
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 25 Kyomachi Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0034, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range: $172 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oriental Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing