We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefines "going above and beyond" in terms of service.”
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oriental Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August and we had an extremely pleasant time. Our overall experience was excellent, with absolutely nothing to complain about. The service we received was unbelivably good. Like my title, they redefine going above and beyond in terms of service.

The hotel is located not too far from Sonnomiya station, the main hub of trains in Kobe. It's about a 5-10 minutes walk. There is also a Kobe city loop bus stop about 2 minutes away. The hotel is close to some shops and features a few restaurants in the establishment.

The hotel has a really long history. But I think it either underwent renovation or switched managemenr three years ago. The decor is very modern and sleek while retaining its Japanese spirit. Our room was just beautiful. It looked like a page out of an interior design magazine. Having come from a pretty outdated hotel in Kyoto, Oriental Hotel was a much appreciated change. The bed was comfortable and the shower was the overhead kind and it was amazing.

Now, onto the service. We got to the hotel early, our room wasn't ready yet. We checked in, left our bags. The whole
time the front desk lady was perfectly polite and genuinely nice. She asked if I wanted a map, she gave me 3 maps and pointed out where we were and what places we should check out and the way to get to them. We went back downstairs, asked the guy outside where the city loop bus stop was, that'
s when he started walking us to the bus stop, which was a few minutes away. He could have easily told us where to turn, but he led us all the way to the stop, wished us a good day and then walked all the way back to the hotel. I have stayed in pricier hotels before, many in Japan, I have never received that kind of service and attention before! We later returned to the hotel before our check-in time and they still let us check in 3 hours early.

I would give Oriental Hotel Kobe 6 stars if I could. I strongly recommened this hotel! I don't think I would even consider staying anywhere else if I am ever in Kobe again.

P.S. We opted for the check in at 6 pm, check out at 11 am plan, which I believe saved us about 40 - 50 dollars. But like I said, they let us check in at 3. It can be a very good deal if you don't plan to spend the day in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justinehsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing ORIENTAL HOTEL during your stay in Kobe. We are delighted to hear that our guest rooms as well as our staff were able to go above and beyond your expectations for service.

We are also delighted to hear that our hotel's interior design and lighting gave you a modern, yet oriental-feel. We hope you enjoyed Kobe both inside and outside of the hotel.

On behalf of the entire staff at ORIENTAL HOTEL, we would once again like to thank you for choosing ORIENTAL HOTEL and look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Kobe with an even higher level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my partner in April and we do not know why we have never stayed here before!
We come to Kobe yearly to visit family and have stayed in a lot of hotels and have never been satisfied, until we stayed at the Oriental!
The rooms are huge for Japanese standards, which is great for my tall partner. The decoration is modern yet japanese, very tastefully done. The rooms we stayed in were immaculate in their cleanliness!
The staff were all wonderfully friendly and went above and beyond! From the reception to the restaurant/bar staff and of course lovely Kenji who gave us so many recommendations!
We had drinks at the lovely bar every night and had dinner at the steakhouse teppanyaki style. We ate kobe steak (of course) which was delicious. Our chef was great and so knowledgeable of everything!
We will be coming back here for sure on our next trip and every year as long as we come to Kobe!
Thank you to all the staff for making our visit so special! We were really impressed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandarinYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing ORIENTAL HOTEL during your stay in Kobe. We are delighted to hear that our guest rooms as well as our staff were able to exceed your expectations in making your stay comfortable.

Here at ORIENTAL HOTEL, we always strive to provide our customers with the best in accommodation, cuisine and service and we take pride in our work as well as our hotel. However, we are always aiming for a higher level of customer satisfaction. If there was anything that we could have done to make your stay any more enjoyable, please let us know.

On behalf of the staff at ORIENTAL HOTEL, we would once again like to thank you for choosing ORIENTAL HOTEL and look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Kobe.

ORIENTAL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was beautifully designed, the room seemed pretty new and was very comfortable and stylish. The location of the hotel was great- very close to the "action" but not in the middle of it all (which made it more relaxing). The staff in general (and the concierge especially) was excellent and extremely helpful- though not all of them spoke perfect English, they really made efforts to help us plan (including organizing everything in folders!) and made our stay in Kobe even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11KR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at Oriental Hotel with us.
We are glad that you liked our rooms and how you had a wonderful time in Kobe.
We will continue to work harder on our english. We really do hope to see you
again soon.


ORIENTAL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The staffs in the hotel completed our trip. It's our first time in Kobe and none of us speak japanese. The concierge helped us whatever we need.(send luggages to kyoto, find restaurant and department store and ..etc) Most staffs speak english. Walk 12 mins to the south are Kobe port tower and Kawasaki world. 10 mins to Sannomiya and Motomachi station. Short cab ride (jpy 900) to Kitano Ijinkan and there is rokko take you to Nunibiki herb garden. 17 mins train ride from motomachi station to Mitsui Outlet in Tarumi. 23 mins train ride to kyoto and 39 mins to Himeji castle.

The gym and Wifi is free. We book the room directly through (http://www.orientalhotel.jp/)
With buffet breakfast come with menu( omelet, egg benedict, beef curry, pancake, japanese breakfast) for free. Yummy breakfast. We dine in the hotel at night also and there is four courses for only jpy 3200 during the week.

The room is very clean and huge with all toiletry kit. If you can't find thing you need just call house keeping.

sometimes the room rate is fluctuate. After booking, we did go back to the website, check the rate and change to a better price. You don't have to pay in advance or provide your credit card info. You pay at arrival.

We love the staffs here from the bottom to the top.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neuneu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Oriental Hotel. It looks like you were able
to go to various places in Kobe during your stay and we are pleased to hear
that.
We hope to see you again soon and we will try our very best to make your next
trip even better.


ORIENTAL HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night in Kobe; after staying in Osaka, this place is really great value for money - the room is huge, the price is reasonable. The view of the skyline of Kobe and the coastline is really enthralling! The staff is very polite and efficient, the fittings are fabulous and the location is near to nice eateries nearby. Highly recommended for business travelers putting up for a short duration in Kobe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kobe.
As you said, Kobe's views are absolutely splendid.
Every December, there is a big illumination event in Kobe called the "Luminarie." The light up is
very beautiful and you can see it from our hotel.
We are sure that you would love it!

Thank you once again and we are looking forward
to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of the best hotels I ever stayed.You will enjoy the scenic view of the KOBE port and the other side downtown of KOBE ,above that Rokou moutains.
Rooms are really big(above normal than Tokyo hotels),Break Fast is really nice and food quality is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omotenashihotels, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the view and ur brekfast.
We look froward toseeing you again.

Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I usually stayed this hotel for business trip. I have stayed a few hotels in Kobe and this is one that I am happy with. There aren't many hotel in Kobe that have people that could speak English and those hotels that could speak English are good distance from town.

All the good things, people has commented but I will like to comment on the windows in the bedroom. They are made of wood blinds and is not enough to block off sunshine. If you have a overnight flight and check-in to this hotel, you will not have a good sleep as the window blinds is not enough to support the light shining in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2015

Dear val652,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

Were glad that your stay with us was an overall pleasant one and would like to thank you for your helpful observation about our blinds.

We hope if you have another opportunity, you will once again join us here at Oriental Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 117 in Kobe
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 117 in Kobe
1,746 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 25 Kyomachi Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0034, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range: $154 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oriental Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing