We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I had read good reviews at about this hotel, but it even further exceeded my expectations! I stayed in the Deluxe Room. It was excellent value for money. The room was extremely spacious, including a Japanese sitting room and an extra ensuite located off the entrance area. The jacuzzi was delightful and the TV huge. The staff were extremely kind and accommodating. The hotel is close to train and subway stations to take you to the bustling centre of Kobe. The restaurants are high-class and this is reflected in the prices. There are quite a lot of other dining options around though. This is an incredible hotel that I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    83
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
121
179
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

While the hotel itself is nice, we found it ridiculous that they would charge guests 1000 yen ($10) each as a cover charge to have a drink in the bar after 8:30pm. We tried to explain that if one pays $400 per night to stay at a hotel, one should be able to order drinks at the hotel bar without a cover charge, but it fell on deaf ears, including the manager's. Overall, an elegant if somewhat cheesy and claustrophobic space.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank traveler2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, great view, nice service! Best choice in Kobe!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sashalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in !!! Rooms are good size VERY comfortable and great view over Kobe harbor-land. Breakfast is not big, but very high quality. I suppose they should improve on the breakfast, put more options instead of the only one set menu they have. They were trying to satisfy us, so I can not complain too much... English and French working staff as well. Wish all hotels will be like this one. Service at it's best !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A wonderful surprise to find this beautiful hotel on the waterefront in Kobe. Not the ordinary room, a real suite with living area and patio overlooking the ocean. A huge private spa tub with views of the water including a flat screen TV. All upscale furnishings, plush linens and calming neutral decor with the added touch of crystal chandliers for an elegant touch. The staff was wonderful and could speak English. A real treat was our breakfast which was included, western style, delicious breads, fresh fruit and eggs all served to order. Linens and table service matched the beautiful view of a garden and water features outside.

We especially enjoyed 2 of the restaurant staff; both Ricardo and Pierre were gracious and very helpful in suggesting things to see and do in Kobe. Both had excellent English and helped make our stay even more special. Thank you Ricardo and Pierre for sharing your cultures with us; it helped add to the great experience staying at La Suite. If you are in Kobe, this is the place to stay and also enjoy a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night in La Suite Harborland (found it via SLH, booked through agoda, really good rate) and we were really really happy with it. The hotel is stunning in a nice location, directly at the harbor.

The Rooms a really super-spacious, the bathroom is stunning (hot tub included), the view is great (all rooms have a view to the harbor), the staff was incredibly attentive (and had the best english language skills in whole japan), check-in was perfect, we even received a welcome gift. Staff was also very helpful in explaining taxi drivers where to go. The bathroom featured nearly everything you can imagine, including hair ties, jewelery shelfs, etc. The room also had a spacious terrace with chairs and a table. It is truly a 5* suite hotel.

The only thing we didn't like too much was the breakfast. You can choose between western and english breakfast - but there is no buffet but they rather serve you courses, like a dinner. Western breakfast began with a pumpkin soup (strange), a salad (even stranger), etc ... Even though the service/waiter was really attentive, we'd rather have preferred a buffet or at least some choice. Breakfast was included in our rate, so nothing to complain.

Besides Park Hyatt Tokyo this was definitely the BEST hotel in our japan trip. We regretted that we only have stayed on night. If you have a Japan Rail Pass and want to explore Kyoto & Co, definitely consider to stay in Kobe and do day trips to the other cities around instead of booking an overprice hotel in Kobe!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the very opposite of a typical hotel room in Japan and part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World! The rooms are real suites, with a large bed, a comfortable sitting area, sufficient wardrobe space and a balcony offering fantastic views over the harbour and Osaka Bay. The bathroom alone is bigger than a standard Japanese hotel room and includes a huge jacuzzi (plus TV), a walk in shower and a separate toilet. Service is of the usual (high) Japanese standard, English capabilities of the staff are sufficient and the breakfast is the combination of (Japanese) Western and Japanese dishes you find at any top hotel. And the prices are not much different from what other good hotels charge in Kobe, especially if you book in advance via the Internet.
So where is the catch? None really, as long as you accept that it is a bit off the beaten tracks (less than a 10min walk to Kobe station, but this is not the main station which is Sannomiya and a bit further away) and are not bothered that the sightseeing boats honk their horns during daytime.
Net, great if you want to relax and feel like being on vacation, a bit inconvenient if your main focus is shopping, sightseeing and having business appointments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#2 of 117 in Kobe
1,691 reviews
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 117 in Kobe
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 117 in Kobe
445 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland

Property: Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland
Address: 7-2 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0042, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Rakuten, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing