We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice private onsen”
Review of Arima Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arima Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really nice private onsen”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have visited this hotel twice. It's easy to find. You simply take a bus from Osaka and you will get there in an hour. I stayed in a room with private open onsen in my recent visit. The view was excellent but there is a chance that you may be seen through the trees when you are enjoying your bath in the onsen. The scene must be very beautiful in snowing weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    133
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
182
40
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
309 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for one night in early April and paid around 51,000 Yen for a Western + Japanese room, including Kaiseki dinner and Japanese breakfast in the room. We were totally impressed in every way.

As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel sits on a hill overlooking the town and you can see the mountains in a distance. There are pools and landscaped garden within hotel property with quite a few blooming cherry trees. We took a stroll after dinner and breakfast and it was great. The room is of a good size by Japanese standard, with a tatami area, a sitting area with couches and two twin beds. As usual, there is an en-suite bathroom with separate toilet and wash hand basin, but you don't get to use it as the public bath is so nice.

There are two public baths in the property: the more traditional one on top floor with the same view I mentioned, and a smaller one on B2, with a slightly updated touch, but only with a view of a bamboo bush. There are massage chairs outside both onsen that you can use for free.

I'm particularly impressed by the service offered. Kaori was kind of like our butler -- she made tea for us and showed us the room when we checked in. She served us dinner and breakfast. She speaks some English and she made the effort to translate the menu into English for us (actually I do speak some Japanese and know Kanji, the Chinese characters). She made our futons on the tatami. She even left us her pager number so that we could call her within the hotel anytime. Thank you Kaori. (BTW, staff at front desk speak excellent English. So, non-Japanese speakers shouldn't be discouraged to come at all.)

The 15-course Kaiseki dinner is sort of less conventional in the appetizer department and we totally fell for it, esp the fig with Parma ham and mozarella cheese salad and scallop and white asparagus dressed in yellow vinegar miso. There are also Wagyu beef, chawanmushi, snow crab, sashimi (5 types), miso soup, sea bream rice, fruit, pudding, etc. We enjoyed every bite.

The only complaint was that one night isn't enough for us to wind down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view. There isn't much to look at on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is located at one of the highest points in Arima Onsen town area.
Therefore the views from the rooms are simply magnificent.
within 15 mins walking distance to main town area.
Free hotel shuttle availed to go town and other nearby areas.

The rooms were well furnished, luxurious and comfortable.
The service is simply excellent and some staff speak good english
The souvenir shop in the hotel is like a mini shopping area with amenities, food, fashion accessories.
There is a relatively large gaming area which makes the kids absolutely delighted!

The numerous and large hot spring selections left us breathless.
Many spa services availed.
Free use of massage chairs daily in public areas and free flow hot tea..
Numerous in-house restaurants to choose from with good food.
Free professional performances in lounge areas sometimes at night.

An awesome and beautiful large garden for walks..
Breakfast spread is amazing, with great food quality.

My only complaint? - i couldn't stay there forever.. haha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The booking was made thru direct email to the hotel after looking at their online discounted plans. They were very nice to accept the booking without credit card number.
The room was nicely decorated, and our attendant tried her best to make our stay at ease. She even wrote a birthday card for my mum, which was a pleasant surprise.
Will definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying in Japanese spa hotel is a very special & expensive experience. The Arima Grand Hotel is no exception.

It's a huge building consisting of different blocks. The architecture is typical of a large modern style Japanese hotel and not very special. The Japanese tatami rooms are also quite typical - reasonably large, clean and with the usual simple decor.

What makes this hotel special is first the location on a hill, commanding nice views over the Arima area, from all rooms and especially from the Spa which occupies much of the top floor of the hotel and is another asset of the place. It's a huge area with a choice of different in- and outdoor baths, one of the nicest I've been to. The 3rd asset of the hotel is the garden and pool area, which is perfectly manicured and creates a very special atmosphere particularly in the evening.

The routine in the hotel follows the usual Japanese style, taking a bath before dinner and a Kaiseki meal served in your room.

From July to early September, the hotel is very busy on weekends, as these are the months where they open the pool, also to outside guests. The pool is extremely nice for Japanese standards, and if you have kids, you will appreciate the relative freedom given to the kids to enjoy playing in the pool, also with their inflatable toys.

All in all, this is a great place for a weekend escape. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: For the full experience, try the Japanese rooms, where you sleep on Tatami mats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We only stayed one night which was a weekend night so lots of local people at the hotel. The big pool was packed with children which made it impossible to do some laps but this was ok. We enjoyed the onsen twice and it was a great experience. Not the first time but the view in the Arima Grand onsen was outstanding. In the evening we had a very nice Kaiseki dinner in our room and a lot of different types of sake were served. A great meal indeed !!! We also opted for the buffet breakfast which was another experience. It's difficult for a foreigner to judge service in Japan since this is a truly service minded society so even service at the cheapest place is great !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Arima Grand for one night only and it was a weekend. It's difficult for a foreigner to judge the service of a hotel in Japan since just everything is different in the land of the raising sun. Anyway, we had a great time in the hotel, truly enjoyed the onsen twice and also had a superb Kaiseki dinner in our room. The quality of the food and the presentation was as you would expect it from a good place in Japan. We opted to have our breakfast at the buffet instead of the room which was a nice experience too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc293917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Arima Onsen
Kosenkaku
Kosenkaku
#29 of 117 in Kobe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Arima Onsen
Hyoe Koyokaku
Hyoe Koyokaku
#19 of 117 in Kobe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arima Onsen
Tocen Goshoboh
Tocen Goshoboh
#18 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Arima Onsen
Nakanobo Zuien
Nakanobo Zuien
#16 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Arima Onsen
Taketoritei Maruyama
Taketoritei Maruyama
#25 of 117 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arima Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arima Grand Hotel

Property: Arima Grand Hotel
Address: 1304-1 Arimacho, Kita-ku, Kobe 651-1401, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe > Arima Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kobe
#7 Spa Hotel in Kobe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kobe
#10 Family Hotel in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arima Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arima Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arima Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing