We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value”
Review of Hotel Piena Kobe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Piena Kobe
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located, about 7 minutes walk from Sannomiya Station, but away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre; yet within close proximity to Kitano tourist spots (within walking distance).

Friendly and helpful Reception staff. The Hotel Lobby was quiet and not crowded most of the time with a nicely decorated cosy cafe at the entrance.

Hotel room and toilet were spacious in comparison to the usual Japanese standard. However, carpet and furniture in room were old fashioned and dated. Bedding was comfortable and clean.

Only drawback was window was locked, thus no source of fresh air which was detrimental to people with allergy problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Piena_Kobe, 宿泊課 at Hotel Piena Kobe, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your stay and review. We are very glad that you had a nice time at our hotel and glad to have your great praises. We are so grateful to your praises about room and our service. We are trying to make our hotel comfortable and memorable to have the guests feel satisfaction. Especially, the Simmons bed is in all the rooms for good sleep.
But we are sorry for the inconvenient about locking the window. We usually lock the window for security and safe. When the guest wants to unlock the window, we can do it immediately. We want to beg your understanding.
When you have the opportunity to visit Kobe next time, we are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Hotel Piena Kobe front desk Tanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    590
    101
    28
    16
See reviews for
715
334
186
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our family of five stayed here over Christmas. It was a truly wonderful experience. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was spacious and very-well decorated (with free wi-fi) and the whole ambience was warm and cosy. I've never been anywhere that has paid so much attention to Christmas decorations - they were everywhere - even in the free room gifts we received. A perfect, festive touch for our stay. Breakfast was top class - lots of variety, including perhaps the best cakes you'll find in Kobe. Can't fault this place - It totally deserves more than 5 stars.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all of a similar, high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeansTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Piena_Kobe, 宿泊課 at Hotel Piena Kobe, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay and review. We are very glad that you had a nice time at our hotel and glad to have your great praises. We are so grateful to your praises about room, our service, and breakfast. We are trying to make our hotel comfortable and memorable to have the guests feel satisfaction. Every Christmas, we make an effort to make an elaborate plan for the guests.
About breakfast, we are trying to make it only the hotel in Hyogo being particular about the place of production and stuff.
When you have the opportunity to visit Kobe next time, we are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Hotel piena kobe front desk Tanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Access
The hotel is in a quiet corner mid way between Sannomiya and Shin-Kobe station. It is about 15 min walk from either way. I find the hotel instruction to get there not very helpful. Maybe because I went there when it was about eight at night. My Google map on iPhone saved the day.

Service
The check-in service was very good. The room was very clean and spacious. The amenities were new and sufficient for a travelling family. We came in with two kids, all wet after a day of snow sled. We could dry their stuff very conveniently in the rooms. The room was well ventilated with good heat. The beds were good size and comfortable. The bathrooms were good size too.

Breakfast
You could enjoy a variety of Western and Japanese food. I was lucky that I booked the breakfast. Food was great. Pastries are very nice. (People in Kobe seems to have a sweet tooth.) I did enjoy them very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconuttreeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Piena_Kobe, 宿泊課 at Hotel Piena Kobe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your stay and review. We are very glad that you had a nice time at our hotel and glad to have your great praises.
But we are sorry for bothering you about the access. We suppose that we had better try to improve our instruction.
We do appreciate your review about our service, room and breakfast. Our staff tries to make the room clean with careful check and selecting good amenities to have the guest feel comfortable. And we have the Simmons bed in all the rooms for nice sleep.
About breakfast, we are trying to make it only the hotel in Hyogo being particular about the place of production and stuff. The French toast baked in the morning, the pot-au-feu with fresh vegetables and delicious pork, and the pastry chef’s cheese cake are very popular. Your guess is right that Kobe city is famous for sweets.
When you have the opportunity to visit Kobe next time, we are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Hotel piena kobe front desk Tanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This review is overdue.
My mum & I stayed for 4 nights in sept.

We arrived in the morning at KIM and took the airport bus to Sannomiya. We couldn't find our way there and got help from a friendly Kobe
lady who advised us to take a cab. We reached there abt 6 min.

We couldn't check in earlier and they kept our luggage.
The rooms were OK in size.
I enjoyed the breakfast.

Though it was reputed to have nice jams, both my mum and myself felt the 12 jams offered at buffet breakfast were only OK. Hence we didn't accept the offer of 1 btw of jam in exchange of room cleaning. Personally I love the tofu which was freshly made.


The staff were very helpful though they have difficulty in speaking English.
They would print for me maps to ensure I find my way from kobe to Kyoto and also when I left kobe for osaka.

Especially the receptionist by the name Ms Obata. A very pleasant and helpful lady who offered me different train routes to osaka. She even called the taxi Co. to check the taxi fare.


The location is a bit far from the Sannomiya train stn, about 15 min walk..

There are little gems around if you love walking-- it's near the local market where we get sandals, seaweed, green tea etc. Surprise find.

Would be inconvenient if there are elderly. Otherwise it's a good hotel and the Non - smoking rooms are completely smoke free.


It was a rainy season in sept but our hearts were warm. ..by Piena Kobe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anytoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is a little way out of the main area of Kobe up the hill. Had to lug our suitcases, backpacks and laptop bags up the hill in the rain from the JR railway station.

Was allowed to check in early, which was appreciated as we and our bags were wet.

The room was quite adequate with all the usual necessities, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, internet access, refrigerator, trouser press, desk and chair, sitting chairs and coffee table. Old style English/French country feel in the room. Lovely fabric on the chairs under the window. The room was quite big for a mid price room. The only problem for us was the hardness of the bed despite a 3 inch foam mattress on top of the usual one.. The bathroom had a good size bath tub and was great for a good soak after sightseeing. Also a good shower over the bathtub. The room had too much clutter so we put all the excess into the wardrobe to clear some surface space for our own belongings. No where really to put the second suitcase. Had to keep putting it on and off the bed. That was a nuisance.

We were asked when checking in if we would like to forego cleaning of the room as we were only staying 2 nights, in exchange for a 7000 yen voucher towards a jar of their speciality jam from the cafe beside the lobby. We accepted the offer and the jam was very good quality.

The hotel offered free good quality coffee/tea from the breakfast nook from 6pm until 10 am. Take away cups were also available so you could take it up to your room.

The staff were attentive, but had limited English and were sometimes difficult to understand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Kobe!
Whose fault?
We decided to stop for one night in Kobe.. From tripadvisor reviews we chose this hotel and booked a semi-double room, which is slightly larger than a single but half the size if a double. Even the bed is like 1 1/2 twin beds put together. Not even a double! When we checked in, reception said that we booked a single room. We initially thought it was our mistake but when we double checked the email confirmation, we were confirmed for a semi-double! Trick or teeny tiny difference? For US$160 we expected much more. It was a 3-star hotel with a 4-star price.

The room was uncomfortably small for two people. we asked for an upgrade due to its size and they said it would cost an extra US$70. Plus, breakfast was not included. If we could get our money back for the pre-paid booking we would have left this place immediately. The non-refundable policy is the drawback to booking a hotel through Agoda or booking.com.

At this point I can't say that the hotel was bad, because maybe this is standard 3-star quality but in Japan it's possible find 4-star hotels at that same price... That s what happen to us. From Hiroshima kyoto Tokyo but apparently not in Kobe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MagicMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Piena_Kobe, マネージャー at Hotel Piena Kobe, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear sir and madam

Great thanks for your stay our hotel.

At first we have to apology to you. We are very sorry about our mistake.

We checked your reservation. Your reservation was semi-double room.

And you stayed our semi-double room.

But clerk said single room, it was our mistake and our fault.

We regret that we couldn’t have your expect.

We promise that all the customer will be happy and comfortable and enjoy

with our kindness and tenderness.

Sincerely yours hotel piena kobe front manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff are very nice and willing to offer help any time.
I have booked a twin room and it is upgraded to a royal twin room.
The room is big with seperated bathroom and toilet and even a small balcony.
But my mum feel that the hotel is a bit old but I am ok with it.
The breakfast is delicisous. And the staff response fast and clean the desk timely.
One of the concern is the hotel is quite far away from the JR station. It is a bit harsh to go there with those heavy luagge.
To conclude, I think it is a nice hotel that I would recommend my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kobe hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Okura Kobe
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 117 in Kobe
1,457 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Kobe
2.6 mi away
Kobe Portopia Hotel
0.8 mi away
Oriental Hotel
Oriental Hotel
#3 of 117 in Kobe
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piena Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piena Kobe

Property: Hotel Piena Kobe
Address: 4-20-5 Ninomiyacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 651-0093, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe > JR Sannomiya Station , Sannomiya Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piena Kobe 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 40 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Piena Kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing