We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average, but good enough for budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chisun Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Average, but good enough for budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Chisun Hotel Hiroshima was definitely one of the funniest hotels I've ever stayed. All experience was positive, I can assure you that.
Hotel itself is located in a small, tiny building between two other, much bigger buildings. It's actually quite easy to miss that place.
First, this is not a luxury hotel or resort. You have to remember, that this is budget hotel, so don't expect too much.
I have made reservation trough Ebookers website, as that was much better value than direct with hotel.
We arrived to hotel early in the morning, so staff provided secured space for our luggage, which we collected when checking-in. This was really funny, because we had semi-double room reserved. Guy at reception tried to explain us very politely that this was with "one bed, not too beds" (as we're gay couple we knew exactly, what does "1 bed in the room" mean). He even showed us these differences of room type sample photos. At the end we got room we actually booked and wanted. That was bit funny, but no offensive at all.
Room was on the 5th floor (there is small lift, max for 2 guests). It was really small space. For two European guys it was not enough free space. All right if you need to spend night there, that's it. If you want to stay longer, hm... Maybe think abour some alternatives.


I have to mention, that air-condition was a bit noisy and we couldn't control the temperature so much, so we opened window. And that was so noisy overnight. If you need quiet place, again Chisun Hotel Hiroshima may not be the best place for you.
I have to say, that room was clean and equipped with new furniture. There was small TV, phone, internet access (I don't remember, but there was some acceptable fee for that), coffee/tea maker, air condition, radio/alarm clock and ironing board (they should leave that space for baggage or something).
Bathroom was "capsule type", no surprise - quite small. Again, everything was fresh and clean. Selection of three "liquids" - hand/bath gel, shampoo and moisturizer. Basic, but good enough quality.
We didn't have breakfast included and decided that we'll do that "in town". Just nearby there are some these 'breakfast roll & coffee" shops, so it's easy to manage that. Nearby there is as well (turn left when leaving hotel, then on the 1st corner to the left) great Ramen noodle shop. For few yen you could have great, authentic dinner or lunch. I loved that. We've been there 3 times in two days, lol.
Chisun Hotel is as well quite convienient for Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, approx. 20-25 min. walking or short drive by tram, stop is just outside the hotel. It was again few stops from Main Railway Station or short, inexpensive taxi drive.
Overall, this was positive experience, mainly because of the cleanliness and quality of hotel/furniture. Staff helpful and really polite. If you're looking for budget hotel stay - that's absolutely fine. If luxury and high level of comfort - choose something different.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    209
    89
    17
    6
See reviews for
41
142
74
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is perfect for a short stay. If you intend to spend the day out sight seeing and only really use this hotel room for somewhere to crash after enjoying some of Hiroshima's night life then this hotel is perfect.

Our room was tiny, to the point where we walked in luggage first and didn't have enough space to turn and enter the room. We had to back track and come in again. But the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The toilet was spotless and there was good water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusoAusTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location. It's about a 10-minute walk (or less if you're quick) from the main station and also makes central Hiroshima very accessible. You're about five minutes from the Hondori shopping district and not much further to Peace Park and the A-Bomb Dome, plus all that surrounds it. There are bus and tram stops right out front, too, so getting around could not be easier.

The hotel itself is clean with reasonably sized single rooms - certainly larger than those you'll find in Tokyo or Osaka. Staff are super friendly and helpful and speak a little English. Highly recommend this as a base for Hiroshima and its surrounds if you can get a cheap rate, which should be easy. My deal was superb value and I'd certainly pick the Chisun again for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The hotel was the cheapest of any we stayed at in Japan but it also had one of the smallest rooms we have ever seen. Size was the only problem — location and other features were fine.

If saving money is your primary object and you are prepared for a bare minimum of space then this hotel is fine. In hindsight I wished I had considered spending a little more to get a place with more space to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacklisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is a nice hotel in good location. Just opposite to the tram stop which was 3-4 stops from the main station. The hotel staff speak English and very helpful when I asked them to disconnect adult TV in our rooms. The restaurent in the hotel was good too.
Next time I would stay there, but I would make sure the room is non-smoke as this time we couldn't change it.
Otherwise, it is value for money. An internet connection was available in the foyer. I didn't use the room internet though one was available. The rooms were small but that is the case all the hotels anyway. Just for night stays it was good

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yusufm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel is impeccably clean, though occasionally I can detect in our room a very faint smell of cigarette smoke. For the price, the room is a good size -- not as large as a room at the Reino Hostel, but larger than a similar room at the Comfort Inn. The room is very nicely appointed and attractive. For one person, it's fine. For two, it would be cramped, but that's I think it is comparable or very slightly larger than comparable, mid-range, business hotels in Hiroshima.

There are bicycles for rent in the lobby, hot towels for free, and newspapers for sale.

A breakfast buffet is available at 1000-1200 yen. The One Coin Bakery just out the back door has a variety of breads and sandwiches available for 100 yen. And there's several coffee shops and a Dunkin Donuts nearby.

No razor in the room, though they are on sale in the lobby, along with many other oft-forgotten items. There are a couple "drugstores" and a convenience store on the same block.

Working in the hotel but outside the room -- something that is more important if there is more than one of you in the room -- is difficult. There is no wireless anywhere in the hotel. There are no good areas to just sit outside the room. There are a few chairs in the fairly busy lobby and outside the meeting rooms upstairs.

There seems always to be a fair to excellent English speaking person on the desk. The desk staff is not as "professional" as at some other places. (That may or may not be to your liking.)

Booking for a 5-day stay on Travelocity got us a cheaper rate than at the desk. 40% off the posted rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

If you need a cheap good hotel to base yourself from whilst in Hiroshima then this is a good choice. Like most Chisun hotels or business hotels the rooms are small but this didn't bother us as we knew what to expect and weren't going to be in the room for the most part. We stayed 1 night. The hotel is conveniently on the tram line from the station, which also takes you to all the major points of attraction in the city such as the peace park. You can see Hiroshima in a day if you plan your day properly. We managed to see the peace park, museum, the castle and even get over to Miyajima before getting back to eat Okonomiyaki at okonomimura which a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#13 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Urbain Hiroshima Central
#7 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisun Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 14-7 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisun Hotel Hiroshima 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Chisun Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Chisun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing