We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in Hiroshima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #18 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Churchill, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable in Hiroshima”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a taxi from Hiroshima Station and also to return. Too far to walk but the taxis in Japan are very clean and reasonably priced. Room was clean & pleasant. We started out with the smallest room in the hotel and when we opened the door we realised 2 of us just wouldnt fit well plus our cases so rang & asked if we could pay to upsize. Good decision. And not so much more money either. Wi Fi only available though in the lobby. Close to shopping area downtown and a pleasant walk to reach there. Lots of shops & restaurants nearby. Went out at night and felt safe. Opposite was a large shopping mall and we enjoyed the convenience of that especially for the large supermarket in the basement. Walking distance to the Memorial Peace Park A must-see place for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    236
    77
    24
    9
See reviews for
83
145
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As every other hotel in Hiroshima, hotel Oriental is located between the station and the Peace Memorial. Hotel Oriental is in fact located directly on the Peace boulevard leading to the Memorial. The location is very central :
- from the station we took a taxi that cost around 750Y
- it is a 15min walk to the Peace Memorial
- it is a 10min walk to the Hondori shopping area
- lots of restaurants on walking distance
The hotel is stylish, the room not so expensive (we paid19.000Y for 2 nights) and very nice : big enough, comfortable, fast Internet connection in the room (with a cable).
The staff is friendly and helpful. Totally recommend it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandeBle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed last week in August for three nights which was just about enough for a small room with six coathangers, a bathroom with a square plinth round the basin which caught your elbows getting off the loo and your knees getting out the bath, and like others have said, a bed attached to the wall. Arrived to find a private party in the bar so no food was available and worse no drinks. We waited for over an hour when we were told only 15 minutes but we did get drinks (at half price). The peace park is only 15 minutes walk away which was good but the area behind the hotel was a little seedy with lots of girl clubs which was ok but the wife was with me! Hotel was cheap and good value for money and we got good views from the 15th floor.
Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer but the hotel was friendly and spotless and the staff in the bar and dining room very attentive. Ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wornoutbootsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

when you are travelling around Japan you expect to find small rooms, but rooms of the Oriental hotel are very small even if "full option", they also provide you with a pigiama. Unfortunally, in my room the bed was attached to the wall and quit small, so not exactly confortable to be shared, but the price was good and we only had 1 night in Hiroshima. Staying more and having a big luggage would probably be an issue: no place for luggages nor closet!
The hotel is not exactly close to the commercial area, nor to the pace museum but they could be joined trought a 20 minuts walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggiaxpiacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Located at walking distance from Peace park, hotel has a stylish lobby. Rooms are very small, Japanese standard, but with all amenities and, at upper floors, a fantastic view on the city. Not far, also, from main restaurant and shopping area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is in a nice location in central Hiroshima and offers a good selection of facilities for guests. Enjoyed the pyjamas that come with the room and actually ended up buying some. Oh yes. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is conviently located, most sights are within walking distance (train station, peace memorial park and A-dome, shopping arcades, restaurants).
As it is close to the train station it is also easy to take the train to Miyajimaguchi and from there the ferry to Miyajima (a good budget (free) option to the direct ferry if you have the JR Pass).
The hotel has a japansese and a french restaurant that I didn't try. There is also the New York Café which serves as a breakfast room in the morning and a bar/restaurant in the evening. The food in the Café was ok, but the language barrier was evidently there when trying to order.
I stayed in one of the cheapest rooms and can't say I was dissatisfied at all. The room was adequately sized (bathroom a bit small though), the bed was comfortable. There were no english-speaking TV channels as far as I found out, there were some cards to buy for "pre-paid TV", but I suspect those were for another kind of channels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falk223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
397 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,361 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0026, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Oriental Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Oriental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing