We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great find close to tram and JR station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand
Ranked #35 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find close to tram and JR station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was a little concerned how far the walk from the station would be with luggage as there was a bridge to cross the river but by the time you exit the underground crossing from the station you are almost there and can see the hotel awning from the traffic lights over the bridge. All our internet bookings were smooth and this time our room included the buffet breakfast. A good selection of Japanese and some western items in a room on the top floor with lots of windows. As others have mentioned the decor seemed a bit old fashioned European and our room was a slightly odd design with the entry/fridge/desk/internet cable at one end, the bathroom in the middle and a double bed and TV on a small stand at the other. We only needed somewhere to sleep and shower so didn't worry us. We bought the 2 day tram pass with the ferry and ropeway (2 cable cars and a stunning view from Mt Misen) on Miyajima Island included, this is good value even though our JR pass covered the JR ferry/train to Miyajima. You can take the tram to Miyajima but it takes a lot longer. We found it convenient to stay near the station and catch the tram to the Peace Park both daytime and at night to see the A dome lit up. While I expect everyone knows the horrors of the bombing I was very impressed that Hiroshima has done such a wonderful job with the museum and seems to present a balanced view of the devastation. It is also remarkable that a small country like Japan has devoted what was a busy section of town to an entire peace park when I can imagine how valuable that land/space would be. It feels like a clean safe place.

Room Tip: seemed to be at the back corner of the hotel overlooking a construction site but we had no problem w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaybee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    64
    55
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
25
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kawa,Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It is near to Hiroshima railway station, but not too near. I found other nice hotels very close to the station but I was worried that it might be somewhat noisy sleeping too nearly to railways. Then I selected the Grand Intelligent.
I had to pass over a bridge to reach the Grand Intelligent Hotel but it was only a few minutes walk from the southern end exit of the underground pass connected to the station.
In spite of the low price, the room was nice with cleanly and well maintained but a little bit old furniture. It would be narrow to the traveler who expect to relax and enjoy a stay, but I think it is sufficient and convenient, or rather more than average to business traveler for overnight lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank komasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The Grand Intelligent is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the station (you can even go through underground passage and avoid traffic), and check in was smooth.
The lobby and overall style is kinda weird - all old world antiques and a wiennese vibe - and this is found in the rooms also, with the exception of the inevitable capsule bathrolm, complete with multifunctional toilet and everything.
Everything was clean, but the room felt a bit tired and the beds were smaller than usual.
The breakfast was reasonably priced at ¥800 for a western-japanese buffet on the top floor.
It is not perfectly located for the shopping arcades or the Peace Memorial Park, but the 20-25 miute walk there is not too bad.
All in all, pretty standard fare except for the antiques road show styling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is located nearby Hiroshima station by 3 minutes walking. The interior design incorporates features of European traditional art. I felt it is interesting. Neighbor building blocks the view from the my staying room window. Bed is wide and comfortable, bath room is small. Japanese and western buffet style breakfast is yummy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhirokodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The rooms are not large - let's get that out of the way to start. However I'm an Aussie who has lived in Japan for a while now, so I'm used to packing light and living in smaller spaces. What I liked more than anything was it was clean, tidy, presentable, and the staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. We used the front desk to get transit passes, dinner recommendations and site seeing tips. Nothing was too much to ask. Location is great as well, just a 5 minute walk (or less) from the train station. For the money as well it was good value - which is why we booked in the first place.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

A nice and decent hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The front office staff were so helpful as they tried their best to make us feel comfortable. It was great that they allowed us to check in shortly after we arrived from a 12 hour bus ride from Tokyo. It was a real happy moment to be able to freshen up and head out to the sights. They also provided very useful information about getting around Hiroshima. The room was average in size, but this is Japan, rooms are smaller than most other SE Asian countries. Overall, I would recommend travellers to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I was a little wary about this hotel that our JTB agent booked for us, but I should have listened. Apart from very cramped rooms and hideous decor, the walls have some very old and noisy plumbing that kept us up all night. To add to that, I found a hair in my bed! Get other lodgings!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyof4CDNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hiroshima hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Station
Hotel Century 21 Hiroshima
Hotel Century 21 Hiroshima
#24 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Viainn Hiroshima
Viainn Hiroshima
#26 of 125 in Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Station
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Main & New Building
Hiroshima Station
Hotel New Hiroden
Hotel New Hiroden
#15 of 125 in Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Hotel Flex
Hotel Flex
#29 of 125 in Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand

Property: Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand
Address: 1-4 Kyobashicho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0828, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best hotel with good location for business and sightseeing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing