We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central city base for your stay in Hiroshima.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex
Ranked #42 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We had a great stay in Hiroshima and enjoyed our 2 nights in the Intelligent Hotel Annex. This was our first exposure to the Japanese business-style hotels and we felt this was a reasonably good hotel for tourists visiting Hiroshima. We loved the name, by the way, and ended up here after trying the enticingly named Active Hotel and the Intelligent Hotel. Neither had non-smoking rooms available at the time (and the standard rooms just reeked!!) so they sent us to the Annex.

The location is great, pretty much in the heart of the city, about a 15min walk to the A-bomb park and museum, and about 10min walk from the train station. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around in the immediate area, and we found the many eateries in and around the train station to be of the best value for money (don’t miss the okonomi-muri !). It is located right on the edge of the river, and with trails and parks developed on both sides, it is a great place for a morning run or evening stroll.

The rooms are tiny, standard for this style of hotel, but very well laid out and comfortable. We had a few too many doors in our room which became a bit annoying. The place was very clean and appeared to be well-maintained. The micro-bathroom was cute, and what a great toilet seat! We had a fantastic view over the river and even though we were right above a busy intersection, the room was very impressively soundproofed. The fridge worked very well but the little boiling pot took forever to heat up the water. The small LCD TV occasionally had some English movies.

The hotel lobby wasn’t all that impressive – small, rather dated and usually smoky. However the reception staff were very attentive and friendly, always ready to assist as needed. A few of them had decent English skills. Unfortunately they had no parking area for our car so we had to park it in a parking garage a few blocks away which was somewhat inconvenient.

For about $110 for a double room, we felt it was reasonable value. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all travelers who want a good central city base.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 153 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2008

Booked this hotel through a travel agent related to work so got a really good shinkansen-hotel deal. The staff were awesome (as I found through-out Japan) and it didn't bother them that my little sister had left her ID back in Osaka at my apartment. The rooms were basic but very clean and the beds were perfect for collapsing into after a long day out. Great location - only a short walk from the main station, right outside was the tram service that took us all the way to Miyajima sea port and just a short walk from the down town area. Breakfast was a typical Japanese take on a western style meal but good nonetheless. There was info on places to visit downstairs and the deco was pretty cool. Stayed there twice during my stint in Japan and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex for one night. To our surprise, the hotel was comfortable and clean. The location is decent, as it's near the JR Shinkansen Station and close enough to walk to nearby shopping arcades. The tram is also situated just outside the hotel.

The breakfast was decent with reasonable Japanese and Western options.

The staff were very, very friendly and helpful. The cost of accommodations was also very reasonable. I would stay here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Our room was small and a little worn. For the same price of 10,000 yen for a double room, we stayed in a far nicer hotel in central Hiroshima the following night, with a lovely public bath for guests. The staff in the Intelligent Hotel Annex were very helpful, but considering that a basic business hotel such as Toyoko Inn can provide a cleaner and more comfortable room for 2000 yen less, I couldn't recommend this hotel. The coffee machine mentioned in a previous review is only available for use from 1pm, so unless you're a fan of a cup before bed in the evening, I can't see that it's of much use.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jossko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Completely agree with previous traveller. This is an aboslute gem to stay in and the staff are very friendly. Very nicely decorated rooms, very clean and extremely good value for the price. we stayed in many cities and places during our trip (about 16 cities) and this was one of the value for money places. This is a 4 star hotel at a 3 star price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelTheWorld091214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We stayed at Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex on April 30th,2007. It's about a 7 minute walk from the shinkansen/Jr Hiroshima station, diagonally across from the Regalo. Although it labelled itself a business hotel, it was far nicer than the 4 other business hotels I've stayed at throughout Japan. For example, the entrance, lobby, and hallways were all sumptuously decorated. Also, the room was quite new and it had a gorgeous river view. Finally, the staff spoke English (thank goodness). However, unlike one of the other business hotels I've stayed at, there was no free breakfast. On the other hand, there was a free beverage machine and internet access in the lobby. For a very pleasant stay in Hiroshima, if your budget is midrange I highly recommend Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rachaelinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Station
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand
Kanayamacho Station
Court Hotel Hiroshima
Court Hotel Hiroshima
#31 of 123 in Hiroshima
214 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Vessel Inn Hiroshima-Ekimae
Vessel Inn Hiroshima-Ekimae
#24 of 123 in Hiroshima
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Kanayamacho Station
Viainn Hiroshima Kanayamacho
Viainn Hiroshima Kanayamacho
#33 of 123 in Hiroshima
84 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hiroshima Tokyu REI Hotel
Hiroshima Tokyu REI Hotel
#19 of 123 in Hiroshima
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex

Address: 3-27 Inarimachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0827, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range: $52 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Annex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing